We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient location”
Review of New College House

New College House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madurai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New College House
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Convenient location”
Reviewed 8 September 2010

New college house is a nice little hotel near the railway station which is an added advantage for any traveller/tourist who may be new to Madurai. I stayed there for 3 days and my stay was quite above average.
The staff were helpful and they arranged for a local sight seeing tour at a low cost. Also they give accurate information about the local place, good shops for shopping etc.
They have a nice restaurant and their rose milk is very famous and very tasty too :)
The only fault that I found was rooms were not very clean, toilets were not in good condition but that is something which is common in many places in India so could adjust for short stay.
This place is near Meenakshi temple so at the heart of the city.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tssurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    9
    8
    9
See reviews for
21
4
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Hotel is located very near to railway station,thats the only good thing about this hotel.
Rooms are very old & bathroom is something ,which i havent seen anything as bad as that in my life.They provide a small box in the name of TV which shows picture that too grained at times.for sure,give a miss to this hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingLife_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madurai hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

It was a surprise to find a lovely place like that in Madurai. It was quite close to station so no tension of finding it. It was a very old building and gave vintage feeling to the hotel. The rates were awesomely low compared to their facility and service. The hotel had a great restaurent which served great south indian food. The travel desk was good and co-operative. The room service was prompt and very caring. The room service attendant enquired very politely about what we need. The served very early morning coffee unlike expectation.
The hotel was also very close to Minaxi temple so we did not face problems roaming around. The travel desk helped us go to kodai kanal. The rates were good compared to out side travel agents. Overall package was good at affordable prices.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandeepKhewle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2009

nice suite room,food was great and the hotel was easily accessable to temple and railway station.Different types of rooms with different rates to suit the budget.could get a cheap room for my driver also in the same place

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank who_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2009

Never book this hotel for staying. Rooms are horrible. Mosquitoes & bugs are already staying there for years. Room size is very small. They will charge you some Rs. 350-400/- for NON-A/C double room but trust me at that price also you will get other good hotels. If you ask for something for room service ( I asked for mosquito coil & a jar of water ) it can cost you 3-4 phone calls & ultimately you might have to come down & complain at the reception. Thankfully when I was complaining at the reception, I got a new group waiting to enter the hotel. May be show them how customer oriented they are they called one guy & thrashed him right left & middle. Anyway, I reached there at midnight with my family (11:45PM) & also the place was new to me thats why I didn't take chances. But you please avoid the place.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank subhra84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Rani Mangammal Recidencies
0.1 km away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#23 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.9 km away
Simap Residency
Simap Residency
#9 of 55 in Madurai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#35 of 55 in Madurai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#41 of 55 in Madurai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New College House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New College House

Property: New College House
Address: | 2, Town Hall Road, Madurai, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Madurai
Price range (per night): ₹ 908 - ₹ 1,298
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
New College House Madurai, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing