We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CURRENT STATUS OF ENVIRONMENT”
Review of New College House

New College House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madurai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New College House
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Sorry, the hotel room environment and hospitality is very poor. No cleaning and very dirty cloths even there is no other basic cleaning is being done.

Management should focus on room quality and ensure the same by supervisor for improvement.

As per my view the present condition is no good for staying.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rani_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for New College House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2011

Have been to the restaurant many times (where were you tripadvisor all these days! Grr!) and it is the worst when it comes to food, cleanliness, staff or any other basic criteria you apply!

The staff look so untidy I lost my appetite immediately. And the south indian meals which other reviewers seemed to enjoy was IMHO subpar to most other places.

They served food in a make shift place adjacent since the original hall is undergoing renovation. The restaurant may look new later but I am sure nothing else will change. Because it hasn't happened all these years.

Do Not Enter!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venkat_balaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed one night as we just wanted to check out the temple and leave. The first room we were shown was tiny and VERY noisy, partially because of the diwali celebrations/sales and also because New College is right on three very busy roads. We were moved to a second room which was much larger.

The bathroom was very dirty with cockroaches and stains on the walls. The sink was in the room and leaked all over the floor meaning we couldn't leave our bags on the ground.

Beds were okay, soft pillows. 370 rupees for a double room for one night.

Room Tip: Check a few rooms first as some are tiny, some are HUGE! Most rooms are noisy so bring your ear plug...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here for a night, which was a horrifying one. We booked Deluxe rooms few days n advance by fone. when v checked n, we were shocked to see the deluxe ??? rooms. The bed cover was very old and torn at few places. The TV was of 90's model. The walls were all cracks and it looked like a spooky place, When we complained, we were given choices of two other rooms, which weren't pleasant either. Finally compromised with a room & stayed there because we were so tired to vacate the place. Thought we will adjust one night. The car parking is so cramped. U have to b dependent on drivers of other cars parked around yours, if u want to take out the car.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nsubbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We were told this was one of the best places to get a real Indian Thali lunch.

Not only that, but it was probably my favorite meal of the entire month spent in India. My girlfriend, who spent a year living in Madurai, made a nice that was not entirely unorgasmic upon arriving in the dining hall and seeing what was going on.

Bare in mind, you're eating with your hands and sitting next to Indian locals (part of the charm, in my mind). But the food here is outstanding, all-you-can-eat , clean, with excellent service and under $1.00 (U.S.).

Go here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissingCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Padmam
Hotel Padmam
#25 of 54 in Madurai
125 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Rani Mangammal Recidencies
0.1 km away
Hotel Boopathi
Hotel Boopathi
#49 of 54 in Madurai
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Kathir Palace
Hotel Kathir Palace
#36 of 54 in Madurai
126 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Saratha Rajans
Hotel Saratha Rajans
#40 of 54 in Madurai
87 reviews
0.9 km away
Treebo Simap Residency
Treebo Simap Residency
#9 of 54 in Madurai
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New College House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New College House

Address: | 2, Town Hall Road, Madurai, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Madurai
Price Range: ₹ 977 - ₹ 1,432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
New College House Madurai, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing