We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Madurai
Certificate of Excellence
Malmö, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We found GRT Regency an excellent place to stay for our three days visit in Madurai. The city in itself is full on so it's nice to be able to escape it all: the heat, the crowds and all the rest of it, and rest up at this airy, comfortable with a touch of luxurious-hotel.

We stayed in a deluxe room: it was spacious, the beds were very comfortable and the shower divine. And of course it was very clean.

The staff is very courteous and helpful.

And we loved the sumptuous breakfast and lunch buffe... so much so I think we gained a little weight during our stay :) Our kids (6 and 4) were particularly fond of the many desserts!

The main attraction in Madurai, the Sree Meenakshi temple, is just a short rikshaw ride away, about 10 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LetThemEatLotsOfCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    254
    77
    15
    10
See reviews for
179
135
41
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

For a 3/4 star I was impressed! The staff were lovely, both the breakfast and dinner buffet was nice! The rooms are a little old fashioned but clean. Free wifi throughout which is great! Had a nice stay there!

Room Tip: If you're not happy with the room, ask them and they will change the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vhurhangee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us. Happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and wifi connectivity

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Overall good for what it is! Staff very helpful. I requested a change in room this was done within minutes. Some of the rooms are a little dated, the new refurb rooms are excellent! Amazing shower!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natashahur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the positive feedback on the Trip Advisor. I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us. My sincere apologies for the mess up, sufficient training will be provided to do the best service to our customers.

We hope to see you soon when your travels bring you to Madurai again.

Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The staff was very friendly and efficient. The rooms were also very good and so was the food. But sometimes the staff messed up some things but managed to make up. But everyone was very helpful and friendly. This the right place to stay in Madurai.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrlgrt, General Manager at Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Sir,

On behalf of our entire team at GRT Regency, we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. will ensure that corrective action is taken .

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.



Best Regards


K.Muralidharan
Area General Manager
Mobile: 9994341122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Am very much impressed with the service level of the hotel staff at GRT Regency - prompt, courteous, everyone carrying a friendly smile. The rooms are apt for business travellers. Thou there were a couple of points which can be looked into - changeover and refilling of the necessary amenities by the housekeeping, & possibly an AC with much lower sound. Overall would rate the stay as 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaikSachin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madurai hotels
3.6 km away
Heritage Madurai
Heritage Madurai
#2 of 54 in Madurai
1,283 reviews
1.5 km away
The Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai
5.9 km away
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
Fortune Pandiyan Hotel
#3 of 54 in Madurai
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Astoria Hotels
Astoria Hotels
#5 of 54 in Madurai
196 reviews
8.8 km away
Poppys Hotel Madurai
Poppys Hotel Madurai
#7 of 54 in Madurai
253 reviews
2.2 km away
Madurai Residency
Madurai Residency
#8 of 54 in Madurai
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels

Property: Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels
Address: 38, Madakulam Road | NH7, Palanganatham Signal Junction,, Madurai 625003, India (Formerly GRT Regency)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Madurai District > Madurai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Madurai
#4 Business Hotel in Madurai
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,267 - ₹ 7,564
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels is an elegant three star business class hotel with all the facilities for the discerning business traveler as well as the tourists located just a short drive from the exquisitely detailed Madurai Meenakshi Temple, Thirumalai Naickar Mahal and 15 minutes drive away from the airport. Its food and beverage outlets rate amongst the best in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Regency Madurai by GRT Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grt Regency Hotel Madurai
Regency Madurai By GRT Hotels Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing