We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor maintenance”
Review of Velan Hotel Ritz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Velan Hotel Ritz
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Poor maintenance”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

This is a old hotel and needs an uplift. Felt it is priced high for the facilities provided. Poor maintenance and not good ambience. Restaurant is also average. Over it was not a comfortable stay for us. Location of hotel us good.

Stayed April 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Manjunath V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    14
    3
    10
See reviews for
17
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

i book a suit room in this hotel on March 23 of this year. around 12 pm i reached there. condition of the room was very poor. horrible location. hotel staffs , they don't know to mingle with guests. And The restaurant, all hotel staff's was in there restaurant while my breakfast. and they are taking and eating food in front of all guests, even security also. and i requested for room.make up. Some 1 came to my room and he cleaned my room without single fresh linen. i never prefer this hotel for anyone.

Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shyam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coonoor hotels

Coimbatore, India
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Visiting after 2007. Still the same. Mostly deteriorated. Good service. Nice location. That's about it. No charm. WiFi at lobby only. Staff are excellent..courteous. Great property. Revamping required.

Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DrValliappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Nice ambiance with old world charm. Sit-out beyond the dining room added to the pleasantness.Ample parking space. Friendly staff. Breakfast was nice too. But cleanliness could be better. Price was slightly high in terms of Value for money.

  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank ruggyrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We visited Coonor in Sep 2014. Please consider before you chech-in.
Good Bits
1) Location is good
2) Rooms are Spacious
3) Some rooms have views
4) has a Huge lawn
Now the bad/worst bits
1) Rooms are damp, maintenance is poor
2) Food Quality is below average, We had a complimentary breakfast
3) Staff is mostly ignorant
Now why iam rating this poor- I had a small accident in this hotel, While in the Washroom the commode gave away, the reason i suspect is the walls were super damp and bolts got uprooted. Could have been a major accident but averted. Staff reactions were mixed, We had to change the rooms.. We left the same day as did not want to stay there anymore felt unsafe.. Now for readers, this might be one of a case but since it happened with me i am downgrading this place to - Not Recommended.

Room Tip: Has ample parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aritrabahaduri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coonoor hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Vivek
Hotel Vivek
#9 of 12 in Coonoor
142 reviews
2.2 km away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
423 reviews
1.8 km away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
1.4 km away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velan Hotel Ritz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velan Hotel Ritz

Property: Velan Hotel Ritz
Address: Bedford, Coonoor 643102, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,987 - ₹ 5,897
Hotel Class:3 star — Velan Hotel Ritz 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Yatra, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Velan Hotel Ritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Coonoor
Coonoor Ritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing