We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at ALL COSTS”
Review of Velan Hotel Ritz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Velan Hotel Ritz
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Mangalore, India
1 review
“Avoid at ALL COSTS”
Reviewed 8 July 2015

This hotel is terrible.
As soon as you enter you will smell mold AND see critters. It triggered an allergy for my brother and we ended up leaving in about an hour of checking into the rooms. This was as recent as 2014. The staff is terrible and lazy! The location is great, but stay away from this place. I also have contacts that Velan group is trying to get rid of this property and they don't really care. I even contacted Velan but they dismissed my complaints!!!

Room Tip: Terrible hotel! Don't stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    14
    3
    10
See reviews for
17
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Good food, Good Customer service, Over priced, peaceful staying, comparing other hotels, thay are not push you to do anything like taking a cab , food etc. overall velan hotel not a bad place to stay..

  • Stayed April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank r_guna_sekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel, possibly on the planet. It used to be a very hotel when it was The Ritz. Once the Tirupur folks took it over it went from good to hell. Please please please do not even stay there. The staff are lazy and obnoxious, the rooms dirty, the linen filthy and the entire experience horrid.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
11 Thank shatrutv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coonoor hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

There is absolutely nothing good about the room. We chose 108 n 106 rooms. Both were equally bad. The impression of room went from bad to worse to worst in the first fifteen minutes after we stepped in. The wash room was stinking to an unbearable extent, the doors are dirty, there were soiled waste scattered all over. When asked to clean, we learn it could be cleaned only after three hours due to unavailability of staff. The flush doesn't do it's duty n there's a mess when you use the washroom, if u know what I mean. The room was smelling moist which was kind of acceptable. The bath towels provided were badly stained and were replaced after multiple calls. The bed linen and pillow covers had lizard excreta with some other bad stains. The blanket smelled unbearable. These were replaced only after a strong argument. The room floor had layers of dust, there are cobwebs n settled dust underneath sofa. god knows when it was last cleaned. The cushions on sofa are terrible like just purchased from rag pickers. The curtains spread flying dust when you touch them. the balcony is guarded well with mesh, but had excretal remains of all creatures that got in. There are butterflies in room. there are no charge points, not even one. The one for TV didn't work. You get hot water only for an hour in the morning and evening. freeze yourself to death in the chillness. Altogether, the room was awful and we checked out at the earliest. We refused paying 2000 for this when it's worth only a 500 bucks. The staff are extremely disgusting and started playing blame games when we showed disappointment. I heard other patrons arguing with the manager in the corridors and lawn.
The restaurant serves stale food, from what I heard from next room couple. The woman had food poisoning after consuming the complimentary breakfast. they had flies in milk.
The route to this hotel is beautiful, so we expected the hotel to be beautiful, but reaching here,I don't understand what makes the mgmt run this property still.

My final advice, consider this only when you are homeless and stranded in coonoor.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank SaranyaVamsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The entirely male staff thought nothing of staring at my wife for the entire stay. We were dressed conservatively so I cannot imagine what they would have been like had she been wearing summer clothes.

The two rooms we saw were both very dirty and dusty. The first stunk of mould. The one we actually stayed in seemed not to have been cleaned for months.

Food in the restaurant was revolting.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Genericrobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coonoor hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Vivek
Hotel Vivek
#9 of 12 in Coonoor
141 reviews
2.2 km away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
423 reviews
1.8 km away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
1.4 km away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velan Hotel Ritz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velan Hotel Ritz

Property: Velan Hotel Ritz
Address: Bedford, Coonoor 643102, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,992 - ₹ 5,847
Hotel Class:3 star — Velan Hotel Ritz 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Velan Hotel Ritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Coonoor
Coonoor Ritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing