We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool hotel in cool surroundings”
Review of Velan Hotel Ritz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Velan Hotel Ritz
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Coimbatore, India
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“cool hotel in cool surroundings”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Conoor is the Tea Hub of South India and is situated in the Ooty Hills. Unlike Ooty, the weather of Ooty is not very cool, but is pleasant. Velan Hotel is one of the best choice for a budget tourist to Conoor & Ooty, particulary for one who wants to be away from the crowded environment of ooty but wants to enjoy the calm and silent nature. Quality of food is OK, rooms are affordable by the budget tourist.

Room Tip: any room is ok, but better to avoid ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARLITHAYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    14
    3
    10
See reviews for
17
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I did not stay in the property but had come to lunch here.

Location

The property is located on Bedford road connecting Bedford circle to Orange Grove Road. In short it is perfect to accessing activities on both the sides of upper coonoor. It may be too cut off for some likings especially if you like to venture out in the nights, as the road does not have street lighting. Please carry a torch if you so desire.

General look and feel of the property

The property is immense one can almost compare the size with the Gateway hotel also on bedford. However, the new owners seem to have turned a blind eye to property maintenance. Peeling walls, smelly toilets, chipped and broken furniture / upholstery. Conversely, this property has the best maintained lawns and garden in Coonoor, apparently they have a green thumb or a extra sincere gardener. Anyways, one does not stay in a garden.

Restaurant

Soiled cutlery, table clothes and emptiness welcomed us when we arrived at 1 PM. There was a waiter on duty who had possibly only joined service earlier the day as he had no clue as to what items were on menu and how long it will take to prepare them. As we were famished, we called for some fried rice with some gravy and gobbled them up double fast. The pricing was a revelation, just 100 Rupees for a main course item. The restaurant did not have change to return me and they had to request another patron to chip in. This was all amazing for me.

Kids area

They have a decent kid play area that will keep tiny tots engaged.

In short, I hope the owners of Velan are reading this. Please look after your property, you will have an outstanding proposition with just a little bit of effort and money, do not turn this into a dump.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dethace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuticorin, India
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I had stayed here seven years back and it was good that time.

Now it is badly maintained.
The property is good though.
There is a large lawn behind the hotel.
But a large number of stray dogs with their poo on the lawns.
If you are not careful you will step on them!

The rooms are huge with a large balcony.
The rooms smell though.
The toilets are not good, small and smelly.

Car park is big.

Food was good earlier, but on the day I stayed the restaurant was closed since the cook was on leave.

Will never stay here again unless I hear that the management has made changes.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaiviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coonoor hotels

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We checked into Velan to see nice and clean rooms with in built heater which was obviously NOT WORKING. The Rooms are clean and neatly maintained with a TV. There is panoramic and picturesque view of the surrounding hills and area through balcony.

The food prepared is with stale vegetables and we had to cancel our order... I think because there are no too many customers.

In the city of cold 12 months a year, there is no 24 hour hot water facility. There is absence of water heater in the rooms. However hot water timings are 6-10am. Rest of the time the room service provides hot water in buckets.

We got locked inside the room because of poor maintenance of the door locks.

Room Tip: Take rooms with a balcony to the west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niranjan_M_Wagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Hi I had been recently to this place. The location is about 20 KMs from Ooty. Let me tell you some good part

Plusses +
1. Hotel location is good as it is typically facing the valley as most of the hotels are built.
2. There is ample parking space and good security
3. Food is OK OK although it could have been much less expensive. [ but i give them this point considering the location and sheer standard.


Minus (-)

1. Cleanliness : - The hotel is not clean as we expected to be. I could see cobwebs in my room. The Window glass could have been clean. Dogs shitting all over the lawn and you are fearing of treaddin gon the poopies. The Reception is OK but not really something that you can look forward to. No sweepind done in the mornings for prior days dinner leftovers.

2. Service - The Service is OK . We had to call for Phone repairs , Light bulbs changes etc etc each day.

3. Food - Foods quality was good but very expensive. Buffet for 1 per = RS.250/- . Compared to the quality and variety of items on the list it was Not great valud for money.+ no A La Carte

4. No taxi service - No guide / no taxi service for local sightseeing.

In short you can choose this hotel in case there are no other alternatives available in coonoor and ooty.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabodh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coonoor hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Vivek
Hotel Vivek
#9 of 12 in Coonoor
141 reviews
2.2 km away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 12 in Coonoor
423 reviews
1.8 km away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 12 in Coonoor
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
1.4 km away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velan Hotel Ritz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velan Hotel Ritz

Property: Velan Hotel Ritz
Address: Bedford, Coonoor 643102, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Coonoor
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,992 - ₹ 5,847
Hotel Class:3 star — Velan Hotel Ritz 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Velan Hotel Ritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Coonoor
Coonoor Ritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing