We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Team Sunvalley. We had a very good time there . Food was excellent.Too good an experience”
Review of Sunvalley Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunvalley Homestay
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coonoor
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Team Sunvalley. We had a very good time there . Food was excellent.Too good an experience”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Excellent Team Sunvalley. We had a very good time there . Food was excellent.Too good an experience. Strongly recommend your visit and stay there ..Hosts were very flexible to suite our convenience..The rooms were very well maintained.Taxi facility also available

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank abcd454545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    190
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
462
169
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

From the moment you arrive in Coonor, you are their guest. We arrived mid afternoon after bus journeys from Mysore and Ooty and Sarath the General Manager picked us up and took us back to the homestay. "Dont worry about the road" he said, as we wended our way through the town. We arrived at a stunningly simple and stylish residence, where the family live on the ground floor and the guests on the first floor---each room decorated with simple stylish tones, and featuring a sit-on balcony directly overlooking the tea plantations. Being high up you have a wonderful view of the nearby valley and the property is built south facing - I saw an amazing sunrise over the early morning mist.
The staff are friendly, welcoming and obliging - the owner actually made me herb tea and gave me pills for an upset stomach. We ordered simple dishes, which were served promptly and tasted good. Whilst welcoming and friendly, the service was never intrusive - and that was the best part of the homestay, feeling relaxed.... We were there for a short time, but managed to fit in a botanical park, a tea factory (glorious white tea), the toy train to Mettupalayam (dont worry if it is sold out, you can always buy a 4 rupee standing ticket), and some drinking in Mettupalayam.
Now back in London, the image of those days ambling through the planations begin to fade...I cant wait to visit India and this homestay again! My congratulations to the team for creating and maintaining a winning formula! Nandri!

Room Tip: We had an executive room that sleeps 4 with two good size twin beds. This was ample and spacious fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank contingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunvalleyhomestay, Owner at Sunvalley Homestay, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Many thanks for your valuable time to review in detail about our services and property.
we have been privileged to hae guest like you.
Also very sorry that some of the actvities and other facilities (Bar, free transport) you were looking for was not available. We are thinking free drop off / pickup of guests anytime from coonoor town. currently we are providing one pickup and drop off to town (2 kms away) during their stay.
Also we have forest/ estate trekking arrangements with very good guides, a nice experience you missed it. Hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

During Pongal Festival (Mid of January 2012), we 6 families consists of 20 people stayed in Sunvalley Homestay for 3 days.

We really enjoyed the stay at Sunvalley Homestay. The resort is new and kept very clean. The members of sunvalley are very kind and polite The restaurant service was excellent. We really enjoyed the hospitality of Sunvalley's staff.

The only drawback if at all I have to say is this resort is slightly away. The approach to resort is not that good. Baring that everything is excellent. My suggestion to Sunvalley is to improve some recreational activities to make the place more enjoyable.

-D.Ravi, Chennai

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ravicmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunvalleyhomestay, Owner at Sunvalley Homestay, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Mr. Ravi,
Thanks for your compliments about our homestay.
Like anyone else you too had a second thought for selecting the right place for your holiday. I had to personally call you and guarantee including the best prices ( lowest ever we offered) to make you convince about your selection.

very happy to see that after your holiday, you do not regret on the selection and decision you made to stay with us. Hope to see you sometime with your colleagues and employees for a company team building activity at sunvalley homestay.

You had been very good in giving the best friendly environment to other guests( foreign) by extending them participation with your team for celebration of pongal during the stay.
Thanks for your visit and hope to see you sometime in future....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We 4 trouble girls have been received a very well hospitality here.
Sunvalley sent a well vehicle to pick up us from Coimbatone by a good driver, it is really worth to pay for that 2 hrs driving on a rough road. Reception staff waited for us to check in till 11pm and also willing to send us to Ooty Station in next day morning at 6am, really sorry for our morning annoyance. Nice and full breakfast, delicious lunch, clean and comfortable room, wide and peaceful tea garden view! And deeply appreciated hosts and Staff friendly and kindly help(even remember to help us to get back a lost sock).

Really thanks to let us have 2 relaxing days. We really wish to come back next time:)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank loi_iol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunvalleyhomestay, Owner at Sunvalley Homestay, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Many thanks for your appreciation and valuable comments about our homestay.
Hope to see you and your friends soon to celebrate another holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

If you want a nice view from your room ... wake up to the reflection of sunrise across the tea gardens on your mirror, step out of your bed and take a stroll in the lush green tea gardens, have smiling and courteous staff to attend to your needs... this is the place to be in . The view from the room was just amazing and a perfect hangout for 4 close friends A balcony with glass panes, soft and comfortable beds , lcd tv screens and a view of the tea gardens below thats what summarizes this place of stay. The food has scope for improvement but definitely this place contributed in a big way to making our trip memorable.

Room Tip: We took the 4 people room facing the tea gardens. it was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Diya83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coonoor
4.0 km away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 11 in Coonoor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.4 km away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
9.6 km away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Orchid Square Boutique Hotel
3.0 km away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
5.8 km away
Kurumba Village Resort
Kurumba Village Resort
#2 of 11 in Coonoor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunvalley Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunvalley Homestay

Property: Sunvalley Homestay
Address: | Ottupattari, Near Stanley Park, Coonoor 643105, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Coonoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Coonoor
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,971 - ₹ 7,428
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunvalley Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunvalley Homestay in Coonoor, Ooty - The Nilgiris, Tamil Nadu, India is a clean and tranquil place, little away from the chaos of the town... A home away from home. Enjoy your vacation holiday at our resort hotel in Coonoor. New concept holiday home in Coonoor - Ooty, with spacious & fully furnished rooms and all rooms with views of lush green valleys and Nilgiri mountains & tea plantations. Unblocked views of tea estates from every room, mist filled valleys and far away mountains will clearly give everyone a pleasant feeling. Sunvalley Homestay is conveniently located in pollution/noise free atmosphere, 3 km away from Rly station/bus station at a hassle free area of coonoor and offers you luxury rooms with clean/hygienic bathrooms and other amenities with 24 hr front desk service. Ours is not a hotel, resort, cottage, homestay or B&B but something unique and a combination of all what a holiday maker in Nilgiris is looking for... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sunvalley Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing