We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
125
37
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
37
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pepper house hornbill house estate manager room service great indian bison sloth bear mosaic room home style food la la land species of birds beautiful waterfall delectable food satellite dish friendly team perfect place to get away fixed menu
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for two days. The facilities are not as mentioned in the brochure. The food quality, service etc. are very poor. Ambiance is also not attractive. Maintenance is very poor and needs lot of improvement. The price is too high for the facilities and service. The resort is very far from the main road.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eraihito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Everything you read here is true: O'land Plantation is extraordinary. I keep thinking about it, even though we stayed only one night. That night at O'land was as far from my home in the US as I have ever been. Maybe that's part of why I can't stop thinking about it. There are places in the States as remote as this, but nowhere will you find better hospitality, more fresh and beautiful food, or quieter, spectacular surroundings. We spent about two hours watching a woman herd goats, directly in front of our cottage. It was more fascinating than any movie. I brought home small bags of black pepper and cloves grown there, and I keep opening them to catch the scent once again of this memorable, lovely place.

Room tip: Hornbill House has a balcony that makes a perfect perch for watching goats and birds. Stairs would be tricky for someone with mobility issues.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having lovely views of valleys and mountains, this is one of the most tranquil of places one can visit.
The place consists of three separate cottages at walking distances from each other having excellent views of the surrounding hills and valleys.
Surrounded by tea, coffee and pepper plantations together with wildlife and birds it is truly an amazing place. The food is delicious and service is excellent
Our wonderful host, Mr Sajan, took us on a trek through the plantation and also to a lovely tree house in the estate.
This place is truly amazing and definitely worth visiting.

Room tip: All rooms are excellent. Choose Hornbill House if you like walking.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VPGurkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We despaired of finding O'Land, because the road kept getting smaller and less paved the farther we went. We finally stopped to ask, only to find that we were just around a bend from the entrance. After arriving, we had a cup of tea on the veranda of the Estate House while our bags were transferred to the Hornbill House, a spectacular, avant-garde, stone and glass cottage with a steeply angled metal roof.

Our host took us for a walk through the plantation, explaining about tea cultivation, and pointing out the pepper vines and wildlife.

The food was delicious and copious, the service impeccable, and the experience deeply relaxing.

This is a great place to get away and let your cares evaporate. I'm looking forward to going back someday.

Date of stay: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We fell in love with this place. We stayed in the jackfruit room which is gorgeous. You are surrounded by tea and wildlife, even the drive up is beautiful.
Our room was huge, impeccably clean and of course lovely. We had a balcony and the run of the downstairs which is massive, has another balcony, both witg breath taking views. There was also a kitchen which meant we could have coffee in bed.
The staff are amazing, the manager gave us great tips and Ishlam cooked amazing food, which there was plenty of!
Please stay here and if you do walk down to the gorgeous tree house which makes you feel like your standing on top of the world.
The plantation is a lovely break from the craziness that is India.
O'land will always hold a special place in our hearts as we got engaged here!!!!
L&J

Date of stay: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMABs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews