We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fine cheese, the Shola, Gaur in the garden and Peak Oil” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acres Wild

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coonoor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acres Wild
Certificate of Excellence
Krishnagiri, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine cheese, the Shola, Gaur in the garden and Peak Oil”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The accommodations are superb - spacious, very well constructed and elegant. From up in Haloumi House we enjoyed great views of the unperturbed shola across the valley and the road up to Nonesuch tea estate. Gandhipuram (a Coonoor extension) has (inevitably?) exploded over the ridge on the other side, and draped across the slopes below are Mansoor and Tina's Wild Acres with their gabled roofs and Cheddar House, located much further down.

They make terrific cheese - we sampled some and got a quick tour from Archana - and make their own soap (among other things). We got a soap making demo from Mansoor - with all the important practical detail thrown in and hope to experiment a bit ourselves.

There were gaur grazing in the vegetable garden that evening as we discuss peak oil. Mansoor has fashioned himself into an expert and evangelist on peak oil and believes most of the world's economic crises have to be understood and seen through this lens. He has worked on an hour-long impact presentation that he has been taking to as many audiences and opinion makers as possible and we offer to see how we can assist this mission.

You must go to Wild Acres for many reasons - not the least of which are Tina and Mansoor themselves.

Please be sensitive to how much non-bio-degradeable trash you generate while you are there (or of course anywhere you go). Thanks and enjoy !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer_at_heart_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    115
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
208
85
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a lovely stay at Acres Wild, and carry back an oasis in our minds. It was 3 days of sheer relaxation, right from the start. Although the approach was a bit rough and steep, we were instantly uplifted on viewing the layout and the picturesque cottages. It was at the break of dawn that we drove in; initially there was some confusion about the allocation of rooms, but the hosts, Mansoor and Tina were so gracious and genuine that these glitches didn’t matter. A cheese-rich yet wholesome breakfast put us on a rocking chair, and we eased into the comfort of a spanking clean room with cosy mattresses and homely cotton furnishings. All amenities were at our fingertips, including reliable solar-powered hot water, a fridge, hot plate and toaster.
The whole layout demanded that we walk, hike and do justice to the rough terrain that beckoned – 23 semi-wild acres! This we did, to be regularly rewarded with healthy home-made food; we didn’t have to deal with an overburdened conscience that is a constant companion while holidaying. All this, with no stinting on dessert! The gilt to the whole holiday was that it proved educational as well, with Mansoor offering us a fresh perspective of where we stand in the environmental quandary. We can’t discount his proposal for sustainability, after having lived it first-hand for as long as 3 days – it gets your thought engine working afresh.
On what could be possible improvements, well the timings of the meals could be slightly advanced, in deference to hyper appetites…after all, we are putting our muscles to honest labor on Wild Acres. And the approach from the more far flung out cottages to the eating place could be slightly more user-friendly and better lit.
All in all, if you are looking for a piece of peace, on a platter of gracious ambience but within arm’s reach of city lights, Acres Wild will top the charts.

Susan Cherian

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

A great place for people who enjoy engaging in some lively discussions on just about any topic. Not only are the hosts fascinating people with an interesting past, but other guests also tend to be interesting and fun to engage with (of course, by saying this, I automatically place myself in that category of interesting people! :-)).
The farm is in a beautiful location from where you can take walks, or drive to some tourist locations in Coonoor.
Add to that the amazing location and well-appointed rooms and the delicious food (veg and non-veg) cooked by the Maharashtrian couple imported from Bombay, and you've got a pretty perfect holiday setting.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

When I went through the web-site for the first-time, I was like, " Mr. Mansoor must be a control freak" going by the number of rules stated on their web-site. Then, I came to TA and was surprised to see everyone going gaga abt this place. So, one of the things on my mind were, are these strict owners(again as per website only) such warm ppl??

And boy! Were the TA reviews right! Tina and Mansoor do all they can to ensure that you have a fun-filled and educational stay there.
If you find the website interesting, the place will go beyond your expectations. I learnt a lot from the farmstay activities. I really wish I could stay longer.
The cottage actually has all that we could have asked for. The kitchen was quite exhaustive in what it housed, though we only boiled the farm-fresh milk there. I loved Tina's Jams and cheese with bread in breakfast.

We did have spiders in our rooms only at night, but they were quite harmless and stayed where they were. So, we were not worried and Mr. Mansoor did clarify that they don't move and are non-poisonous. Why am I telling you this? Just for info so that you are aware.

The only cons I would think is that the road to the farm is in a bad shape at places. It matters coz the terrain is quite steep. We were in a Wagon-R, so it was concerning for us. Better car owners need not bother as such.
I would highly recommend this place to all. The cottages are really beautiful, staff and owners are very warm, food is very good. + you get to learn stuff. What more can one ask from a holiday?

Room Tip: ALl rooms are great, I am assuming. Atleast, ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nehathegr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
178 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Acres Wild is much, much more than a 'Cheesemaking Farmstay'. The host is a former film director (very well-known to the Indian co-visitors), who is now very involved with sustainability and a lecturer on peak oil. The cottages are very comfortable - the best plumbing we encountered in India, although the electricity was a bit wonky while we were there. Delicious fresh cheese for breakfast and a nice family dinner. The view is sublime and I greatly enjoyed early morning birding around the property (hearing about the leopards and wild elephants only later). Yes, the road there is dreadful - a neighbor has torn it up while building a new house - but passable to auto-rickshaws and cars.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OutdoorsAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coonoor hotels
2.2 km away
Tea Nest
Tea Nest
#3 of 10 in Coonoor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.9 km away
Sunvalley Homestay
Sunvalley Homestay
#1 of 10 in Coonoor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Church Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden
3.0 km away
Kurumba Village Resort
Kurumba Village Resort
#2 of 10 in Coonoor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
11.9 km away
O'land Plantation Stay
O'land Plantation Stay
#4 of 27 in Coonoor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acres Wild? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acres Wild

Property: Acres Wild
Address: Kannimariamman Kovil Street | 571 Upper Meanjee Estate, Coonoor 643101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Coonoor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Coonoor
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,625 - ₹ 5,296
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a unique farmstay as it is the only gourmet cheesemaking farmstay in India. It is also an organic sustainable farm with wild life like bisons and elephants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing