We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
40
50
30
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
50
30
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grandeur room mr ravi tamil nadu tourism hotel is located tea coffee maker hotel stay carry your own pleasant stay south india biryani lakshman ooty mani bala ambience cleanliness km
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Rooms were clean, and the staff very helpful and tend to every need of yours. The staff are really great and make you very comfortable.

The view from the 3rd room floor is very good, overlooking the railway tracks and the valley. The place is quiet most of the time(see more below) and you get a lot of space for yourself most of the time.

The food is nothing to write home about though, it was well prepared, and served hot. after 1st dinner, we stuck to eating out, and just had breakfast @ mgm.

The reason for the average rating is because the day I landed there, the hotel was booked for a marriage, and the whole place was jam packed till the evening. Though my room was reserved, I would have appreciated if the hotel had informed before hand of this chaos, as I could either have planned to reach late, or looked at other accommodations.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shishirgowda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

We went last week to Coonoor and booked our stay at this resort through clear trip. The place is around 4 km from the town. Excellent room very well maintained, great ambience, good food and very courteous staff particularly Mr.Lakshman. The grandeur rooms are very big and has an excellent view to the tea estates particularly room no. 301. Couple of improvement points
1. Little more variety in the food would have been good. We expected a buffet for breakfast and dinner but they said due to limited guests they were not able to arrange for that.
2. Not much of an entertainment is available. May be they should have more indoor games available for guests to have some fun & play.
But overall a good place to stay and we enjoyed every moment there.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank vaithi2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Had organised a small party for 30 persons. A decent place with small lawn and a pit for bon fire...but that's limited if it does not rain... else the bar is small but can be used along with the common dining hall/restaurant.....service was satisfactory. parking is available .....however the road leading to the hotel from main road is difficult to spot.....

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank latheshrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Visited MGM Hillworth during the Independence Day weekend. All resorts in ooty were booked out. Same was the case with Masinagudi, the next best thing. So was looking for some resorts in Coonoor the next next best thing after ooty ;)
Came across this resort via tripadvisor and I've never been let down till date. The resort manager Mr.Ravi was such a nice and caring person. He was kind enough to pick us from the railway station, which was less than 2km from the property.

Rooms: they have only 2 types of rooms, suite and grandeur room. We had opted for a grandeur with AP meal plan. Opt for the one in 2nd floor, 301 if possible. The view was really great through the glass walls with window. The room starts with a small foyer which leads onto the bedroom/living room. Bathroom and toilet are two separate rooms, which is good if you are staying as a family. The room is equipped with a TV, Heater, couple of chairs, an antique table and no mini bar. Rooms have a concrete flooring with a wooden finish. Bed was cozy, can't complain. Ooty-mettupalayam toy train can be viewed through the windows of the rooms facing the valley.

Hotel Grounds: The property had a small lawn/garden with space for a couple of tables for dining and a fireplace for the night. Garden was well maintained and neat. The staff can arrange for a campfire, on request. Located off the main road, the property is built on an elevated plane giving it a locational advantage.

Restaurant: They do have an an in house restaurant which serves continental, tandoori and South Indian, veg and non-veg. Since we were on AP plan we had all 3 meals in the restaurant. All the food items were reasonably good. Unfortunately we did not get continental during our stay. Room service is available throughout the day. Plan your order 1 hour in advance and place it accordingly since they're swamped with orders for most part of the day, especially dinner.

Recreation: they have limited recreational activities. Only badminton, carom and chess board.

Restaurants in Coonoor:

The Hyderabadi House- an epitome of don't judge a book by its cover. This restaurant is a haven for Hyderabadi biriyani lovers.

Must visit places in coonoor:
Sims park- A 12 Hectare colorful garden decorated with beautiful flowers at nook and cranny of the entire park. Apt for a romantic walk with your loved one(s).

Dolphin Nose- This spectacular viewpoint is just 10km from coonoor making it more accessible from coonoor than ooty. Breathtaking views and splendid climate are to say the least.

Ooty- the queen of hill stations is roughly a 20km bike ride from coonoor. If you plan to visit ooty you start early in the morning to avoid traffic.

The famous Toy Train operating between Ooty and Mettupalayam station passes through Coonoor. I'd highly recommend this joy ride for everyone right from born infants to grown infants. Passing through caves, lush greenery and breathtaking view of the mountains this is a highly recommended mode of travel between ooty and Coimbatore.

The shortcomings of the property are very well overcome by the hospitality of the staff especially the manager Mr.Ravi. Do ask for him if you're planning on booking your stay.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank adithyaanuroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Had been to Mgm hill worth for our wedding anniversary . Had booked granduer room . Room is very spacious.Unique is the cot and the wood furniture. Too good. Provided electric kettle, can make coffee in the room itself. Very neat , very spacious . As it's quite far from the main coonoor bus stand, once you are in the room u will enjoy the tranquility . Transport is a problem unless you have your own vehicle. It's on the ooty coonor highway. So if u have plans of going to coonoor from ooty by bus u can get down at brindavan school stop at request.I wished I stayed longer in the resort. Nice to go with family in groups with kids too.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank swetha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews