We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
57
77
14
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
77
14
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sim's park neemrana property silver oak eucalyptus room old world charm blair atholl experience life potato curry old worldly colonial furniture flowering shrubs extra person four poster main building food order tall trees mutton
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

While I walked into this hotel with a lot of expectations however after staying for a night I returned a tad disappointed.

Wallwood Garden, is a heritage bungalow, located in a quaint corner in Coonoor. It's very near to the main place of visit to Coonoor - Sim's park, which gives it a locational advantage.

We had booked the Eucalyptus room, which has the best view of the hotel, with one wall completely of glass, which overlooks the mountains, however the problem is anyone can come at the backside of that room, and can intrude on your privacy. So probably most of the times, you have to put the curtains down.

What's good

Complementary Room heater
Very clean linens
Wall to Wall carpet (almost)
Nice toiletaries
Cordial staffs in Geetha & Ajith

What's not so nice

1. Hotel backside really shabby

2. The dining hall is centrally located and adjacent to most of the rooms, so in the evening even if you are at your room, you will listen people eating/chatting on the dining hall, which is annoying. A place of such stature need to provide more privacy to the guests. They need to separate the dining hall from the main building

3. Our room's bathroom lock was broken (yes, you read it right).. the door doesn't lock. This is just NOT ACCEPTABLE

4. The geyser took ages to heat water (probably a heritage model!!) - definitely needs a replacement

5. Food is homely but tastes average & lacks the finesse in the way they are presented - definitely need to improve on this. Even if Neemrana says it's a non-hotel that doesn't mean you shouldn't provide food in a more refined and presentable way.

6. They charge 18% GST on food, as they have rooms over rupees 7500 . but that X-factor of claiming them a star property is somewhat missing.

7. The room doesn't have a menu card inside, and most of the menu cards which are available in the dining hall are torn.

I also had the chance to stay at other heritage property in other locations. Such as the Naggar castle in Naggar maintained by HPTDC or the Rock End Manor in Pachmarhi, maintained by MPSTDC. which are truly top notch. In comparison to them Walwood will definitely have a run for its money. If the government unit like MPSTDC/HPTDC can maintain a heritage hotel, then why can't Neemrana...

So in short a good hotel, however doesn't give a premium feeling. And considering the price there's definite room for improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kakaanirban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are sorry to know that although you enjoyed some aspects, your visit did not measure up to your expectation.

We are writing to apologize and offer and explanation for the same.

We are glad to know that you liked the location of the property.

It is great to learn that you were able to explore the nearby vicinity too.

We are pleased to receive your kind appreciation about the views from the Eucalyptus room. As you may be aware, each room at the Scottish bungalow is different in style, decor, architecture and ambience. There is also a dedicated page with a description of every room on the website along with a picture so that the guests can choose their room depending on their requirements. Therefore, we request our guests to read the details on the website or connect with our sales/reservations team to know about further details.

Our staff members Ajith and Geetha Suresh are delighted to receive your kind appreciation about the hospitality.

We are disappointed to read your feedback about the room amenities. We have pulled up the service team. They have been given the necessary training and instructions to ensure that the same does not recur in the future. This should never have been the case and we extend our deepest apologies for the same.

We have also shared your observations regarding the food and the menu with the Manager and the Chef who shall enhance the dining experience to ensure greater guest delight.

We appreciate your observations about the star rating. Please be aware that the heritage hotels are not judged according to 5 star standards.

It is our endeavour to improve our services and feedback such as yours helps us to do so. We are hopeful that you will not hold this against us and will give us a chance to overlay your past experience with a fresh and memorable one.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
feedback@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

My third visit to Coonoor and each time I return to this charming Century old Scottish dwelling.

I do keep go back again and again for Wallwood’s old worldly charm with a welcoming fireplace, colonial furniture, fey paintings and a flowery garden of all hues( with monkeys prancing on the tall trees !)

But in reality I go back for the ubiquitous manageress Gita!

She’s eager, responsive and on her toes from dawn to dusk. And under her leadership, a happy team services the guest as a welcoming family! Go back for the people. Ajit, Praveen, Kali and the other smiling charming women folk servicing the rooms.
With just 10 rooms book ahead.

Walking distance from Sims park Bedford market and Highfield tea gardens it’s a great location.

Yes I do advise the management to urgently update the washrooms curtains, bedcovers and upholstery in the sitting room.

With a little effort it will be a mini Taj !

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank samitaaiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and appreciative review about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

It is rewarding to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed exploring the charming old Scottish property.

We at Neemrana are delighted when a guest can genuinely get into our time machine and be transported back to relish some of the simpler joys of hospitality. We have also shared your kind words with our Chairman Mr Aman Nath as he heads the restoration work.

We are glad to receive your kind appreciation about the decor, the ambience, and the garden.

We are happy to know that you were satisfied with the services provided as our team goes the extra mile to make each guest’s stay memorable.

We have conveyed your kind words to the Manager Geetha Suresh and other team members.

We have noted your observations and shared the same with the hotel Manager who shall do the needful to enhance the guest experience.

We hope that as you continue to discover real India with Neemrana, you'll find more to tell us about !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
feedback@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

The rooms are large .. provided with effective room heaters and hot water geysers which are so essential in Coonoor. The service is very friendly and homely. The overall upkeep could be better - the room had a musty smell and the sheets bore the signs of wear and tear.
The rooms do not have TV but then you do not go to Coonoor to stay put in your room!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShyamS172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

We are delighted to receive your kind appreciation about the rooms.

It is rewarding to know that you had an enjoyable stay at the property and were satisfied with the services offered.

As you may be aware, Neemrana does not have televisions as part of our heritage USP. We encourage guests to connect with nature and themselves and are glad that you enjoyed the concept.

As you may be aware, the Wallwood Garden is a 19th century Scottish-style, stately home that has been revitalised by Neemrana. We have shared your observation with the hotel Manager who shall do the needful to enhance the guest experience and take care of the maintenance work.

We thank you for your visit and hope that as you continue to discover real India with Neemrana, you'll certainly find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
feedback@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

It is a quaint charming property with just a handful of rooms, so you can expect a quiet stay. No hustle-bustle, no trappings of a five-star place..just simple, good old-fashioned homely hospitality amidst a colonial-era bungalow..we were in Eucalyptus room which is probably less spacious than other rooms but has a view to kill for and it opens into a dining place that only has glass windows along one side, so that clinched it for us.
Staff is polite, friendly and caring..we had a year-old baby with us, so had to make frequent demands on the kitchen for boiled water, khichdi etc..they were very accommodating and patient with these requests.
There is a lovely botanical garden near by -- Sim's Park -- and a tea estate that provides tour+tasting. The location's good, very approachable.
Just a few tips to the visitors: 1) Don't leave your clothes, eatables in the garden. Monkeys abound. 2) The staff tends to get overwhelmed by food requests if too many rooms happen to be occupied, so place your entire food order in one go and no dish will be forgotten
A few suggestions to the hotel management: 1) I saw a few books randomly placed in a shelf but think of setting up a library in the premises!? Quiet places tend to draw book lovers. A library can also double up as an indoor board-games room. 2) Housekeeping can do better. I saw some dusty, unkempt corners. I know it's an old, colonial, wooden-floored property, so dusting everything must be a pain but pls go the extra mile. After all Neemrana has a lot of brand equity.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the hotel garden or the pomological garden are best
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_bugs8200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and kind feedback about the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor !

We are pleased to receive your kind appreciation about the 19th century property, the location, the hospitality, the decor.

Your appreciation about the hospitality extended has been duly conveyed to all the service team members. You will be happy to know that these are all local persons who also share the pride of the restored property.

We have noted your observation and shared the same with the hotel Manager and the housekeeping team to enhance the guest experience.

We are grateful for your encouragement and look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable getaways !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
feedback@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

One thing that strikes me the most of this place is the service. The property is good no doubt but its their service that makes is extra special. Its very close to sims park and also with 2 kms from the main market which has all the restaurants. Food is average due to which we had just once during our stay of 2 days. The suites/ rooms which are not part of the main mansion have an extra room with bed and study so can easily accommodate an extra person say if one has a driver along.

Room Tip: yes rooms(suites) which are not part of the main mansion are secluded
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank viv_macho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Wallwood Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read about your experience at the Wallwood Garden heritage hotel in Coonoor.

We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay at the 19th century property.

We are happy to know that you were satisfied with the services provided as our team goes the extra mile to make each guest's stay memorable.

Our staff – most of whom got into hospitality without any formal hotel education are greatly pleased with your positive comments.

It is great to know that you were able to explore the nearby vicinity using the Wallwood Garden as your base.

We have shared your observation with the Chef who shall do the needful to enhance the dining experience.

We thank you for your visit and hope that as you continue to discover real India with Neemrana, you'll certainly find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
feedback@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews