We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch Buffet - not 5 star (no stay)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Coimbatore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We as a family visited this hotel in coimbatore, race course road last weekend - saturday for Lunch buffet. The response at the lobby was quick and efficient - the valet service. We walked into the buffet lunch restaurant, the ambience was good, and spacious. The buffet spread was quite limited, which consisted 1 chicken fry, 1 mutton gravy, 1 fish curry, rice+sambar+rasam+appalam+vathal+pickle+curd rice+jeera pulav+noodle vegetarian. 1 vegetarian side dish+paneer gravy+dal gravy. One cheese cake, normal pastry, 1 rasogolla 1 gulab jamun. There was pasta section and live roti counter. the salad section had cut vegetables and fruits, and coleshaw salad.
Most importantly, the food taste was below par, most of them were bit too spicy (and I am a south indian used to spicy food). The sambar was below par, dal gravy though good, was not filled fast enough. The soup was again very spicy. Curd rice didnot haver the richness or the fresh cream feel to it, unfortunately.
The dish which was good and tasty was phulka (live counter) with dhall gravy, which we all had a couple of times. Coleshaw salad was good too. Gulab jamun was fresh and good too.
No ice cream, no juice, no biriyani, choice of Non-veg was very limite - so all of us left with a sense of not having a full meal.
And finally, on paying the bill, Ms. Deepa - waitress, gave us a bill for dinner Buffet - which was about 1150rs/head, on enquiry she apologised and changed to lunch buffet which was about 850rs/head. One hopes it was not a intentional mistake (so patrons keep your eyes open please during bill presentation)
So the verdict would be
1. Taste was bit too spicy
2. Dont go on week days when the spread is limited (may be Sunday when it is costlier could be better)
3. If just want to eat out and willing to spend, may be visiting one of the numerous restaurants outside, could offer you more variety and be more fulfilling.
3. Bill time - be alert.

Room Tip: didnot stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelbugged21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Surya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We have noted your feedback and please be assured that I have taken each point very seriously with the team to implement corrective measures. Please be assured that the billing was a case of inadvertent human error and not otherwise. I humbly thank you for highlighting the points that we need to look into to enhance the quality of our service.

We wish to assure you of our constant efforts to improve on all aspects of our products and services. We look forward for your continued patronage and support

Best Regards,
B C Kumar
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2017

I got a room on second floor which had a terrace facing swimming pool. Great view. Rooms are spacious, nice. Room service: Needs bit improvement, found bit slow. Internet: HORRIBLE. Something was wrong, speed was quite slow. Food: Repeat, no one understands Indian food better than Taj. they have exhaustive spread of multiple grains options during breakfast, which is their USP. Food great. Front desk willing to help. Location: Centrally located

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rajesh_Sachdeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Surya, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

While we are glad to note your compliments on the rooms, cuisine, view from the room and location, we also thank you for your constructive feedback on In-room dining and Wi-Fi service which will enable is to improve our service standards. It has been shared with the Executive Chef and IT Manager respectively to implement necessary corrective measures.

Thanks again you for your valuable feedback. Looking forward to your valuable patronage and assure you of our best attention and services on all future visits.

Best Regards,
B C Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Taj maintains its reputation through its nice people managing the Vivanta, Coimbatore. Great views from the rooms facing the pool& race course road.

Do go for a walk early in the morning in the walking tracks just outside the hotel. And there is a great book store 100 mtrs away, selling imported books at very low prices.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool and the race course road are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murali_msc1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Surya, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to note that you were pleased with the hotel overall. Your kind and generous comments are much appreciated and are a great source of motivation for us. The team will be thrilled to hear your compliments and your experience of staying with us.

We are delighted to note your mention of the scenic view of The Nilgiris from ours rooms which indeed is a delight to the eyes. The 2.5 km Race Course walkers track located just opposite the hotel is a favorite hotspot for regular walkers and joggers.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again!

Best Regards,
B C Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Had a wonderful stay at Taj Surya for a single night this month with my family. The hotel is located in a quiet and prime locality. The room was very spacious with all amenities. Buffet breakfast was very good with wide spread. Staff's are very friendly. Much recommended for Coimbatore city. Really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mohamedriji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Surya, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to note that you and your family were pleased with the hotel overall. Your kind and generous comments are much appreciated and are a great source of motivation for us. Your compliments have been shared with the team; they are grateful to you for recognizing their efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continuing to meet your expectations. Thank you for choosing Vivanta by Taj - Surya, Coimbatore!

Kind Regards,
B C Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Writing this review specifically to highlight the excellent food prepared by Chef Ajit that was a special dish catering to my requirements. It was a Tex-Mex dish that normally does not appear in any menu in India, but Chef Ajit ensured a great dish that surpassed my expectations. Keep up the GREAT WORK Chef!
Recommendation to anybody who wants to have great food - please ask for Chef Ajit and he will for sure make your taste buds tingle with his creations.

Room Tip: As my visit was for Food, as mentioned in my review please ask for Chef Ajit or Chef Vasu - they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naveenk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Surya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We truly believe that people make all the difference and that resonates in your feedback. Chef Ajit Debnath will be thrilled to hear your compliments and review of his cuisine. . They feel motivated by such recognition to perform better.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again!

Best Regards,
B C Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbatore hotels
1.2 km away
The Residency Towers, Coimbatore
12.7 km away
Le Meridien Coimbatore
Le Meridien Coimbatore
#10 of 104 in Coimbatore
667 reviews
2.9 km away
Radisson Blu Coimbatore
Radisson Blu Coimbatore
#4 of 104 in Coimbatore
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Kiscol Grands
Hotel Kiscol Grands
#2 of 104 in Coimbatore
238 reviews
0.7 km away
WelcomHotel Coimbatore
WelcomHotel Coimbatore
#1 of 104 in Coimbatore
95 reviews
12.3 km away
Gokulam Park Coimbatore
Gokulam Park Coimbatore
#8 of 104 in Coimbatore
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Surya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Surya

Address: 105, Race Course Road, Coimbatore 641018, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore District > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coimbatore
#6 Luxury Hotel in Coimbatore
Price Range: ₹ 5,159 - ₹ 10,637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Surya 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Yatra, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, ClearTrip, TripOnline SA and TravelGuru so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Surya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Surya Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing