We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,118)
Filter reviews
1,118 results
Traveller rating
616
393
70
30
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
393
70
30
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrace coursered pearlchinese restaurantbusiness tripcoffee shopswimming poolbusiness hotelbuffet spreadidliexcellent stayvalue for moneyan excellent hotelcourteous staffin room diningthe heart of the citycomfortable stayrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 1,118 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Writing this review specifically to highlight the excellent food prepared by Chef Ajit that was a special dish catering to my requirements. It was a Tex-Mex dish that normally does not appear in any menu in India, but Chef Ajit ensured a great dish that surpassed my expectations. Keep up the GREAT WORK Chef!
Recommendation to anybody who wants to have great food - please ask for Chef Ajit and he will for sure make your taste buds tingle with his creations.

Room Tip: As my visit was for Food, as mentioned in my review please ask for Chef Ajit or Chef Vasu - they are a sure bet!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naveenk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Surya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We truly believe that people make all the difference and that resonates in your feedback. Chef Ajit Debnath will be thrilled to hear your compliments and review of his cuisine. . They feel motivated by such recognition to perform better.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again!

Best Regards,
B C Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Disappointed that a hotel advertised by Hotel.Com as 5 star was so disappointing. As you can see the bathroom was dirty and the bedside cabinet had marks-and we were consistently bitten in the bedroom by bugs. There was not an attitude of excellence and this was illustrated by the fact that the male staff had uniforms that were usually too small. Western prices charged but leaves you underwhelmed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jbmcv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Surya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Guest,

At the outset let me express my gratitude for choosing our hotel for your recent stay while in Coimbatore.

We have noted your feedback and please be assured that I have taken each point very seriously with the team to implement corrective measures. Please feel free to contact me directly at my email id boriah.kumar@tajhotels.com, and elaborate your experience so that we may work on improving in all the areas on concern.

We wish to assure you of our constant efforts to improve on all aspects of our products and services. Looking forward to hearing form you.

Best Regards,
B C Kumar
General Manager
boriah.kumar@tajhotels.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

stayed for 1 night at Taj Coimbatore .Located in a quiet locality the hotel offers great facilities for dining as well as recreation .At the buffet dinner of a conference the menu highlight was the live station churning out Dosas .Soft inside with crispy outer later it was a treat .The breakfast spread was good too .

Room Tip: Choose the pool facing room large with a good vista
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank matin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Surya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to note that you were pleased with the hotel overall. Your kind and generous comments are much appreciated and are a great source of motivation for us. Your compliments have been shared with the team; they are grateful to you for recognizing their efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continuing to meet your expectations. Thank you for choosing Vivanta by Taj - Surya, Coimbatore!

Kind Regards,
B C Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Had barbecue at the open air restaurant at Taj Vivanta 'Smoke on the Water' The ambience was great... The food was tasty but the Indian bread was not up to the mark. The restaurant overlooks the Race Course. Valet parking was a respite but they were not very professional...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Soumya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Surya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Guest,

We are glad to note your compliments on our Smoke On the Water Restaurant's ambiance and food. It indeed is a great source of motivation for us to perform better.With reference to your feedback on Indian breads and valet parking services, I have taken it up very seriously with the team and they are working on it. Please be assured that necessary corrective measures will be implemented soon to set it right.

We look forward to your valuable patronage and assure you of our best attention and services on all future visits.

Best Regards,
B C Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

I was on a business trip to Coimbatore and stayed in this hotel for one week. This seems to be little old property but no major issues as such. Rooms are quite spacious and clean. Bathroom is average to small in size. Staff there is quite helpful in nature.

Food is ok but not great! Buffet Breakfast has good options but not many North Indian dishes. I tried their Dal Khichdi and it was really awesome. Rest all is ok.

Overall it's a good place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hunk_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCKumar, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Surya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017


Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey. Your feedback is essential in our effort to improve our service standards.

With reference to your feedback , I have taken it up very seriously with the kitchen team. Please be assured that necessary corrective measures will be implemented soon to set it right.


We wish to assure you of our constant efforts to improve on all aspects of our products and services. We look forward for your continued patronage and support

Best Regards,
B C Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews