We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoke on the water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Surya
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Coimbatore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great food especially the western grills well marinated and well and cooked to perfection. Awesome atmosphere and the weather was excellent too. The concept of a five course meal is a new one to this town, sure it will do well as the food speaks for itself

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank skg1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

939 - 943 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our way to and from Ooty. We were traveling on the old steam train from Mettupalyam so broke the journey in each direction here. The guide book told us that there is no reason to go to Coimbatore if not for business, I disagree, there is this hotel. You could go there for a long weekend, never leave the hotel and have had a fine time. Or, if your partner/ spouse has business in Coimbatore go along too and enjoy the hotel whilst they work!
Reception, the check in and out (twice) etc was excellent professional, efficient and friendly. In fact I was traveling with an idli steamer, long story, and they kept it for me whilst I was in Ooty.
The room was excellent, spotless, comfortable, with everything you would expect and require. Bathroom was very nice too.
The restaurants are good, we ate in both, and breakfast is good too. However of the two the Red Pearl restaurant was exceptional. It is mainly Chinese food, but beautiful food, very like the Chinese restaurant in the Oberoi in New Delhi for quality. The service was also excellent with the restaurant manager suggesting we took half portions of certain dishes to be able to try more dishes, he was a true professional.
The pool is fabulous, big so that you can get a proper swim, with good pool service, hence we did not go out. There is also an excellent spa.
What more could one want?

Room Tip: Rooms on same level as pool have a nice sitting out area in view of the pool. It is not private but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BridgetIna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I went to Coimbatore in August this year on official purpose and stayed at Vivanta by Taj Surya which was an approved hotel by our organization. This hotel is centrally located and is on the way from the airport to the city. The hotel is located at just about 3 kms from Gandhipuram, Cross-cut road etc., where one can go for shopping. Walkable from the hotel is Hotel Annapurna where one can get good food. The hotel offered me complimentary breakfast as part of the package which was quite good. The breakfast spread was decent and they even offered to pack things for lunch at no cost. As my colleague and I shared the same room, they charged Rs.1000 extra which was nominal. The room that was given to us was spacious. However, the design of the bathroom was not appealing to us. Though we had booked the room with the information that two people would stay, the towels and other toiletries were kept only for one person. We had to repeatedly call the house-keeping to get additional ones which was a bit annoying. The lift had a strange way of operating. One had to first put in the key and then press the floor that one wants to go. This could be for additional security purpose, but was not customer friendly. Other than these, the room was kept clean on all the three days that we stayed there. We could get good sleep also. The cost was lesser than the other famous hotels around. This could be because of the negotiated price. However, one can consider staying in this hotel while taking the family also.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janaki_thiagarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Excellent hotel with very hospitable staff. Comfortable rooms and great service. Pool is very clean and spa are worth trying . Had a perfect stay at the hotel while I was in Coimbatore on a business trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapooranu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We drove into the Vivanta by Taj - Surya from Bangalore and were immediately welcomed by a lovely drink and taken to our lovely room which had a great view of the city and the tree lined 'race course' road. Lunch was at the Latitude, a buffet made up of an eclectic mix of continental, chinese and indian cuisine. The Laal Maas was exquiste...the vegetarian sushi not to be missed and the desert spread absolute sin... I settled for the sugar free fare.
The missus and I made reservations at The Spa for great relaxations massages. The therapists are very well trained and knew which buttons to press to get the machines cranked up and tuned to go.
We had a wonderful stay and left the next day fully refreshed.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the city and Trichy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajarpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbatore hotels
1.2 km away
The Residency Towers, Coimbatore
12.7 km away
Le Meridien Coimbatore
Le Meridien Coimbatore
#8 of 100 in Coimbatore
658 reviews
2.9 km away
Radisson Blu Coimbatore
Radisson Blu Coimbatore
#5 of 100 in Coimbatore
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Kiscol Grands
Hotel Kiscol Grands
#1 of 100 in Coimbatore
210 reviews
1.6 km away
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
Zone By The Park Coimbatore
#3 of 100 in Coimbatore
447 reviews
12.3 km away
Gokulam Park Coimbatore
Gokulam Park Coimbatore
#7 of 100 in Coimbatore
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Surya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Surya

Address: 105, Race Course Road, Coimbatore 641018, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore District > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coimbatore
#1 Business Hotel in Coimbatore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coimbatore
Price Range: ₹ 5,161 - ₹ 10,581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Surya 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, DerbySoftTaj, ClearTrip, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Surya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Surya Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing