We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property - Disappointingly managed”
Review of Mesabel Hotel

Mesabel Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mesabel Hotel
Ranked #68 of 99 Hotels in Coimbatore
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Got booked into this hotel three times through my company service desk (I am a manager at one of the leading FMCG companies in India). Though the property is good, it is the staff that makes staying here a painful experience.
Firstly about the hotel:
THE GOOD:
- Spacious rooms
- Clean
- Comfortably furnished
THE BAD:
- Very few eating joints in the vicinity
- A restaurant that serves minimum items for breakfast and lunch and remains closed post lunch. Bottomline: No dinner here!
- Room service
- Just two people in the staff understand rudimentary English/ Hindi. None of the house-keeping folks understand English/ Hindi! Be prepared to learn Tamil if you are staying for long!
- No hot bathing water for a couple of days

THE UGLY:
- Cost cutting measures like not turning on the generator during power cuts. Excuses like "There is no diesel" for 4-5 instances
- Rude management that won't hear complains and acts as if this is the only hotel in town
- Unreliable laundry service - can take 2-3 days (Excuse: Laundry guy has taken a day off). I would suggest against laundry here if on a short 1-2 days trip
- Staff that leaves your clothes on the ground (yes!) after cleaning the room!

Overall, the stay was not at all worth the money spent. I would recommend you to check out other hotels that offer better service at a lower price in a better location.

PS: A premier hotel booking intermediary service is considering blacklisting this hotel in their service. Just an FYI for future travellers.

Room Tip: Road facing rooms are more spacious! (If you still decide to stay here!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KinnarShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed there for a night. Checked in at 11:00 PM and checked out at 5:30 AM.
Ok for a night's stay. Room and bathroom were clean inspite of beign old. Room is old fashioned with mosaic floor and Window AC.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pramodpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Poor Untranied Staff.
Do not know english or hindi language, Big problem.
Very old room & dirty toilets.
Hotel do not provide cold water to drink, you have to spend money to get the cold water. This was really a funny thing I found first time in my touring life.
Room Cooling system is very very poor.
Beware staff can steal your valuables.
We suggest never to book this hotel.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kapil_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mesabelhotel, Owner at Mesabel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

It was very disturbing and pathetic to read this review with this defamatory caption as most of the points stated are imaginary. We provide clean, filtered water and charge only if it is mineral water. Our rooms maybe old but are clean, spacious with all modern features. It is an utterly false and fictitious statement that the Staff's steal because no such incident has been reported till date. However the House Rules clearly states that guests are solely responsible for their valuables and it is displayed prominently in the Reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

the the on things these guys write on their hotel website is a bit too much...calling that underground dungeon as ''an asset''.the boys hostel in the opposite are notorious.always prying on tourists with their perverted minds.the ajantha hotel sucks.food is terrible.yesterday night's leftover will be today morning breakfast.the staff need to be a bit more polished.the reception guy who handles the booking,etc should be thought about etiquette and polite behaviour.he looks at guests like they r all hookers and the kind of questions he asks is totally unnecessary.rooms r okay.first time we stayed flush didnt work.second time was k.when the rooms r full they answer the phone and act rudely.when there is no booking and when the hotel is empty(which is the case most of the time)they try to be a bit polite when u call for reservations.this sort of behaviour should change.its a bit over rated for 2 star hotel.rate should also be lowered

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Stayed here as a part of a large Swedish group. Hotel was pretty good, but the location is somewhat boring. Tucked in an alley, close to the stadium, the amount of restaurants nearby are not that many (considering how picky Westerners are). You grow bored with the breakfast deals every hotel in India seem to have (bread, butter, jam). The rooms are clean and the hotel has a (pricey and slow) internet connection.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Umebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbatore hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Raamus
Hotel Raamus
#51 of 99 in Coimbatore
80 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#45 of 99 in Coimbatore
16 reviews
1.4 km away
Metro Park Inn
Metro Park Inn
#61 of 99 in Coimbatore
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Vijai Lodge
Vijai Lodge
#48 of 99 in Coimbatore
15 reviews
5.8 km away
Hotel City Centre Coimbatore
Hotel City Centre Coimbatore
#66 of 99 in Coimbatore
5 reviews
3.3 km away
Treebo Corner Stay
Treebo Corner Stay
#27 of 99 in Coimbatore
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mesabel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mesabel Hotel

Address: 24, Grey Town | Near Nehru Stadium, Coimbatore 641018, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Coimbatore District > Coimbatore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 99 Hotels in Coimbatore
Price Range: ₹ 912 - ₹ 1,889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Mesabel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mesabel Hotel Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing