We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mid priced hotel in area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Ranked #42 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is a convenient mid priced hotel in a town where there are very expensive and very cheap hostels. The rooms do vary so if not satisfied at check-in ask to be moved. The double room we had faced the road in front of hotel and also the lake. Noise was only a problem if the door to the bathroom was open. Bed was comfortable. The bathroom also had a bathtub which is not common in many hotels in India. The restaurant served a decent breakfast and also served lunch and dinner. This seems to be a hotel used by many European tour services so there were many tourists and ex-pat Indian families.
Our room was prettily decorated, but the bathroom could use a make-over. Service staff was good but English is not everyone's first language.

Room Tip: The top terrace bar serves nice munchies and we like the toasted cheese sandwiches as a change from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 384 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

A nice entrance and facade, let down by rooms which are dirty and shabby. basic and functional.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We arrived at Swroop Vilas on the evening of 19th Dec. '11 and my first impression was like "WOW"...their entrance area, lobby & reception area though not too large, but nevertheless totally floored us with their beautiful inlay work on the walls, the pretty floral displays and perfect lighting to enhance the charm of the place. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated and had a fourposter giving it an old world charm. same was the bathroom and we had no derth of hot water. The staff was polite and helpful. The Manager Mr. Hemant was extremely helpful. He helped us with all our further hotel bookings since we were on a 14 day Road Trip to Rajasthan.

Overall a very pleasant stay..will surely repeat the next time we are in Udaipur!

Capt. Mukesh & Anjul Gupta
Greater Kailash,
New Delhi.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anjulmukesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This hotel is in a quiet part of Udaipur..but not far from anything;betwixt old and new city.It is family owned and run,modern but classical style,beautifully appointed throughout and immaculate.All the staff were fantastic.It's a great place to stay and you will regret it if you only arrange to stay one night.

Room Tip: Basement room is nice and and peaceful with immediate access and adjoining to tranquil garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonyvanoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I should have read the Trip reviews before booking here but got seduced by the nice photos on their website.
The reception staff didn't seem to speak much English so communication was limited and our welcome not very warm. Throughout the stay no one seemed interested in providing decent service nor did they care about our comfort. We had only really stayed in small family-run hotels up til then, where they realise how important customer service is, as their livelihood depends upon it.
The room we stayed in was lovely, though almost more International than Indian in style. It had a big, comfy bed. Be warned that 'Lake Facing' may not have a view of the Lake and even if it does there is a road in front of the hotel so no rooms directly overlook the Lake. The design and interior of the hotel is very nice with lots of white marble.

The dining room is really depressing and in need of modernizing especially the ancient tablecloths.
Breakfast was a rather desultory affair with limited choice. That said we had a very tasty lunch on arrival. They are missing a trick and should set up tables outside by the pool - it would make eating there a far more pleasant experience.

There are only 4 sun loungers by the pool which seems a bit mean but as the pool was rather murky, we didn't bother with it anyway.

It costs 50 - 100 Rs to get a rickshaw into town. The rickshaw drivers parked outside the hotel may try to overcharge. The hotel seems to cater for coach parties so perhaps the distance from town is less of a problem for them.

We left one night early and went to stay at Jagat Niwas Palace.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLondonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#37 of 175 in Udaipur
239 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Hilltop Palace
Hotel Hilltop Palace
#69 of 175 in Udaipur
353 reviews
1.1 km away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#36 of 175 in Udaipur
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Rampratap Palace
Rampratap Palace
#40 of 175 in Udaipur
488 reviews
1.1 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 175 in Udaipur
2,394 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#68 of 175 in Udaipur
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Swaroop Vilas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swaroop Vilas

Address: 6, Ambavgarh, Opp. Lake Swaroop Sagar, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#17 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: ₹ 3,631 - ₹ 7,771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Swaroop Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, Agoda, Yatra, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, OYO Rooms and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Swaroop Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swaroop Vilas Hotel
Hotel Swaroop Vilas Udaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing