We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hide-away with excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Ridge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Ridge
Ranked #28 of 247 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hide-away with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in August. (2 nights in town, two nights Mountain Ridge)
Pick up from town with Tuk-tuk was well arranged.
The Mountain Ridge is in a beautiful spot with amazing views. The dinner, which was prepared by the host family was amazing so we decided to eat here again the 2nd night.

If this is the end, middle or start of your india trip - just take a book and relax or take the tuk-tuk into town.

The rooms could be a bit cleaner (dust, spider webs), but everything was hygienic (bed, towels, bath....) and I would return (we do stay in homestays and 5*).

We stayed in the Garden Room, but if we were to return we would take the Tribal Room (slightly bigger and nicer view).

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room, but if we were to return we would take the Tribal Room (slightly bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    40
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
107
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

After visiting Mountain Ridge in 2009 I always hoped I would return after such a great experience. This year I was fortunate enough to have the opportunity again.

Everything from the beautiful location, welcoming staff, great food and relaxing atmosphere makes for an unforgettable experience.

We traveled around India for 2 weeks, staying in some great hotels but this felt special.

Tip: Ask for directions for the short walk up the hill, overlooking Lake Pichola. Time it just before sunset. Unforgettable!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonySergeant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

It is a pain finding this place but once you go through this pain it is worth the effort. It like a typical home hotel. Only 5 rooms. None of them having an air-conditioner, which actually is not required considering the location of the rooms which are very airy and cool. We were 12 friends who went there and all of of us loved every minute of the stay here. The Nepali family who is there are great at taking care of the guests. The food home cooked but awesome in taste. The morning breakfast consisted of an omelet which is uniquely made and something to die for. They also serve some great home made jam. We used to stuff ourselves on breakfast and hence the lunch was not required. Each of the rooms have a great view. I would love to go back to the hotel again with my family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KFDOCTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentishguy, Owner at Mountain Ridge, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you everyone for your positive reviews. I know Mountain Ridge is a bit tucked away, but therein lies part of it's charm. Anyone arriving under their own steam can ask for and will be given explicit directions. For anyone requiring a pick-up, we are happy to arrange it. We may be one of the very few places in the region who do not enter into the commission game, so it costs US to arrange a pick-up (the price of a phone-call), but it ensures our guests reach here safe and sound without being delayed, pestered or overcharged. Once you are at Mountain Ridge, we will do all we can to ensure you have the kind of stay you really want. We do not SELL tours, we do not suggest you visit certain shops in order that we collect commission. It's all about your wishes, your preferences and your relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Mountain Ridge is located in a secluded spot in the hills near Udaipur. Reaching here at night was a pain, but once we got in - the experience changed completely. We had a great time here.
The service from Amrit, Padam and co. was fabulous with great food every morning and evening. Overall, recommend this for someone looking for a place out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: Choose the Monsoon Palace Suite or Sajjan Suite for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Promethius98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

My husband and i stayed here for 3 nights in January 2012. We ended up with a flight cancellation so our travel agent booked us here. We couldn't have been happier. Piers was a true gem. We had massages on the balcony and went for a walk in the countryside. The food was delicious. The Nepalese family of Piers was delightful. They took care of all your needs and couldn't have been nicer. Piers took us shopping were the locals shop. I had several scarves made, that were gorgeous. We had a really fun dance party one night. We stayed in town one night and called Piers to see if he had a room available because we missed the fabulously huge room and company. Lucky for us they had room. Can't say enough about how great it was. We hope to get to nepal to see piers and the new spot.

Room Tip: We had a huge room on the top floor with a balcony. There was no fitness center but I couldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Titusmom-15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.1 km away
Devra Udaipur
Devra Udaipur
#19 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.0 km away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#26 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#25 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#41 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
3.1 km away
Bujera Fort
Bujera Fort
#20 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.6 km away
Sun Heritage Home
Sun Heritage Home
#15 of 247 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Ridge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Ridge

Property: Mountain Ridge
Address: Sisarma Village, Udaipur 313031, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 36,589 - ₹ 36,719
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your first impressions of Mountain Ridge will probably be the space, peace, quiet and the breathtaking panoramic views. After a short acquaintance, you will feel that Mountain Ridge is just like home. There is nowhere quite like it for perfect relaxation, and though the city is merely a few minutes' away, Mountain Ridge is in another world...Mountain Ridge occupies the top of a high rocky bluff, just outside the ancient village of Sisarma. On the eastern side is a mountain that separates Sisarma from Lake Pichola and to the south our land is bordered by protected forestry land. To the west are the beautiful hills and valleys of the majestic Arawalli Range; with remote, scattered tribal settlements that are there waiting to be explored. To the north, rises Bansdara Mountain, topped by the formidable Monsoon Palace. The City of Udaipur is only a few minutes' away, so you are not far from the shops and landmarks, but the short distance from the city to Mountain Ridge makes all the difference in the world as far as the tranquility is concerned. The sounds of horns, brakes, loudspeakers and other noise pollution seem a million miles away. Mountain Ridge enjoys balmy days of fresh air and peace, and delightful velvety nights of gentle breezes and only the sound of crickets. There is so much you can do - swimming, trekking, going on a village safari, bird watching, mountain walking, having a massage or just sitting & relaxing with your favorite book with a soothing sounds of nature. Our cook takes a pride in preparing and serving mouth-watering Indian and International cuisine, and the rest of the staff are ever ready to ensure you have a pleasant and comfortable stay. Altogether your stay at Mountain Ridge will recharge you and provide you with happy memories of a rarely seen facet of India. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Ridge Hotel Udaipur
Mountain Ridge Udaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing