We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strategic location…Not so great experience”
Review of Hotel Hill Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hill Lake
Ranked #66 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Thane (W)
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Strategic location…Not so great experience”
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Firstly we booked in Hill Lake because I planned this trip just a week before and all other “rated” hotels were running full. We checked in at around 5 AM and we were greeted with locked door after difficult attempt to locate this hotel. After much banding on the door, someone came and opened the door and allowed us check-in!!

This hotel is managed by family and they are not professional hoteliers. We saw that this hotel was preferred only by foreigners with hardly any Indian family preferring it due the strategic location that it is situated at.

This hotel is located on hill-top but surrounding locality is not good. Most of the AC rooms have windows overlooking lake and the roof-top restaurant has good lake view.

We were shocked to know that complimentary breakfast had hardly any options and we had to be content with 1-2 options that we were provided. The kitchen looked anything but hygienic.

All in all, I don’t recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Strategic view
  • Disliked — Nothing that I liked!!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jignesh_thar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    59
    26
    8
    11
See reviews for
33
60
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Hill Lake for 1 week with our two young children (aged 1 and 4yrs). This family run hotel is situated in a peaceful setting just inside the old part of the city and has a good view of Udaipur's 3 main lakes and the palaces. The room was spaceous, nicely decorated and had great views from the large windows. The rooms have the option of a/c and there is excellent bathroom facilites including 24hr hot showers. The hotel staff were very kind and helpful to us with our children and selected the best drivers for us on our many day trips. The owner and his family made us very welcome and feel more like friends than guests.

  • Liked — Location view rooms staff food
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lee_and_sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2007

Nice position just outside of the main town. Although it's noton the main lake, the view from the restaurant is quite good or the whole area.

Rooms are clean if a little basic. decent enough place to stay but bit overpriced for what it is

  • Liked — view from restaurant
  • Disliked — view from room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slondonmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Hill Lake for 4 nights in February 2007. It is a new hotel which only opened in January 2007 and is set on a small hill just 5 minutes walk from the old centre of Udaipur. It has four storeys and is spotlessly clean. The rooftop restaurant has really amazing views of 3 lakes and the food is excellent - try the aloo puris for breakfast, they're the best ever! The hotel has a congenial owner with a good sense of humour. Rooms range in price from 700 to 2000 rupees; the more expensive ones are very large with stunning views from the picture windows. All the rooms have some stained glass, bright bed covers and curtains which give them character, and good bathrooms.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank lizsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Natural Lake View
Hotel Natural Lake View
#132 of 153 in Udaipur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Jagat Villa
Hotel Jagat Villa
#47 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Gaj Vilas
Hotel Gaj Vilas
#52 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk
OYO Rooms Jagdish Chowk
#91 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#48 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Royal Pratap Niwas
Hotel Royal Pratap Niwas
#56 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hill Lake? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hill Lake

Property: Hotel Hill Lake
Address: Purohit Ji Ka Khurra, Inside Chandpole, | Inside Chandpol, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,133 - ₹ 4,913
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hill Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Hill Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Lake Hotel
Hotel Hill Lake Udaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing