We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in an excellent city”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel The Tiger

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel The Tiger
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in an excellent city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Booked this hotel at late notice via expedia as part of our 8 weeks travelling around India.

The Tiger Hotel was a bit of a treat for us but didnt actually work out that expensive for our 3 nights.

The building is ideally located with fantastic room layout and decor. The roof top bar and restaraunt has perfect views of the lake and the city.

Our room was however very noisy and the rather open plan design of the hotel meant that we could hear all of the staff early (0600hrs) and late (2200hrs) as they went about their business. Top tip here would be get a room at the top of the hotel away from staff areas!

Didnt eat any food but the beer was cold and the service was good!

We were even allowedto use the spa's ahower before we got the night bus onto Bundi.

Room Tip: Away from staff areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa_the_van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    138
    45
    10
    11
See reviews for
66
162
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Excellent terrace views, great staff, clean and esthetic rooms. Located right on the lake's edge at Gangaur Ghat. Also, very LGBT-queer friendly hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjdoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Great rooftop for watching the sunset with excellent view of the Lake Palace. Very clean and friendly service. Great location near Cafe Edelweiss (excellent coffee and pastries), the lake, and city center.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgersh270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

The sheer location of this hotel makes its an excellent place to stay in Udaipur. This place is more frequented by foreign tourists than Indians but that doesnot take away the joy of staying here.
Its centrally located in the old city adjoining the famous Ghangaur Ghat and is a walking distance from the city palace, market , haveli museum , the famous jagdish temple etc.
The rooms are well kept and have an rustic yet modern appeal to it . The room that I was staying in had a beautiful courtyard accessible only to my room .
At night a visit to the roof top restaurant on the 4th floor is a must or I may say a compulsion . It provides one of the best and un-restricted Panaromic views of the lake Pichola, city palace etc.
The breakfast is complimentary and is also a good starter for the day . The ground floor lobby is a good place to unwind , It has coffee tables, a net enabled computer , sofas etc.
The staff of Tiger managed by Pritam see to it that your stay at Tiger is relaxing and memorable . I had a severe back pain on my first day of stay at night and Pritam along with his team saw to it that I was provided proper medication even at midnight before I could see a doctor the next day .
I would definetly visit Tiger during my next visit to Udaipur .

Room Tip: The rooms start from 1st floor and go all the way up to the third floor and the restaurant is locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hibernatingcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

This hotel is walking distance from the City Palace (or a 20 Rupee Rickshaw ride). The rooms were very clean - some of them had much better views than others. We visited in December when it was cool – so the air-conditioning was not used. The restaurant area (4th Floor) and Roof Top provide fantastic views of Lake Pichola, and the menu offers good value. The staff is amazingly helpful. Pritam the boss-man is very knowledgeable and can help you plan your itinerary. The stairs may pose a problem for some people as there is no lift.

Room Tip: Ask for room 20 on the 3rd floor if it is available. It has good views (and a bath).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAJMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#63 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#95 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 km away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#59 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Hotel Krishna Niwas
#60 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 km away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#28 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Tiger? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Tiger

Property: Hotel The Tiger
Address: 33 Gangaur Ghat | Near Bagore Ki Haveli, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#19 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 899 - ₹ 2,441
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Tiger 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tiger Hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Udaipur's main attractions - City Palace, Jagdish Temple, Gangaur Ghat and the lively Bazaars are only a stone's ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Yatra, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel The Tiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tiger Hotel Udaipur
Tiger Hotel Udaipur
Hotel The Tiger Udaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing