We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is to die for !!”
Review of Mewar Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mewar Haveli
Ranked #36 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2017

When you enter Mewar haveli you will feel that your choice of hotel might have been wrong but as soon as you notice the small details of the hotel like the entrance or the ceiling is made beautifully.

We took a lake view room which was the best room we could get there . You can easily see Lake Pichola , Taj & Leela Palace from the room. The windows are huge which make the rooms look too bright . at night all these places are beautifully lit up and the view becomes all the more romantic .

You can easily walk to the Udaipur Palace and find good restaurants to eat . Ideal for a couple or family .

Room Tip: Choose the lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank parisheth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHAVELI, Owner at Mewar Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear guest
Thanks for a kind and glowing review. We are delighted to know of your pleasant stay and happy and Romatic memories you have of our small hotel. It was a pleasure to be of service to you, we are glad you felt welcomed and comfortable with us.we think your Delight ful review help to our future guest for us. Thank you for sharing your experience as back in date the restaurant is average prices based on the service and view it provides ( we are the one of the few restaurant covering the magnificent view from our rooftop restaurant covering Lake palace, Pichola Lake and City Palace & Arawalis
We would love to welcome you again and assure you of our best attention always.
Assuring you of our best attention at all times.
Warm Regards from all of us at Mewar Haveli,Udaipur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2017

We stayed at the Mewar Haveli for a couple of nights. The hotel is ideally located within a few minutes walk to Lake Pichola and in the heart of the tourist area. Staff (in particular, Hemant at the Reception Desk and Laxman in the restaurant) were very helpful and friendly.
Our room was clean and had a fabulous view of Lake Pichola - we had asked for the "De Luxe" room and were told that the room had the best view of the Lake.
The restaurant (including the Roof Top area) also has good views of the lake but we found its menu somewhat limited and a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Request a "De Luxe" double room for an amazing view of Lake Pichola
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rookie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHAVELI, Owner at Mewar Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear Guests,
Thanks for your very generous review. We are a small hotel with standard rooms, to be thought of as a palace is very rewarding and humbling. Your overwhelming comments are extremely encouraging. It was a pleasure to be of service to you, we are glad you felt welcomed and comfortable with us.We would love to welcome you back. Wish you happy times ahead!restaurant is average prices with vegetarian food based on the service and view it provides ( we are the one of the few restaurant covering the magnificent view from our rooftop restaurant covering Lake palace, Pichola Lake and City Palace & Aravalis
Warm Regards from all of us at Mewar Haveli,Udaipur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

My lake view room was as beautiful as the pictures and the bed was totally comfortable, and the food was very nice actually and I think this place was a brilliant choice. The TV worked well with English choices and this is important to me, cos I love Indian shows like The Voice, India! The view was stunning from my room and from the roof and from the lower inside restaurant area. It was a very good location, quiet.
When you book (though booking.com), you will be sent an email asking you to pay through a special webpage the advance of one night's fee. This website is legit and it is a setup that complies with Indian banking regulations which protect consumers. This can be avoided by booking through agoda.
I have been to friendlier hotels, but I don't need people to love me, I just need accomodation and service that meets my needs, and this was a brilliant room. it wasn't rude or anything, they just see a plethera of people in and out.
Er, before you buy anything in the adjacent shop, I tell you, you will get it half price at the street stall on the Jagdish junction.

Room Tip: Absolutely get any room with a lake view. The non-lake view rooms would still access the view from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Arati-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHAVELI, Owner at Mewar Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear Guests,
Thanks for your very generous review. We are a small hotel with standard Lake view room, to be thought of as a palace is very rewarding and humbling. Your overwhelming comments are extremely encouraging. It was a pleasure to be of service to you, we are glad you felt welcomed and comfortable with us.We would love to welcome you back. Wish you happy times ahead!
Warm Regards from all of us at Mewar Haveli,Udaipur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

This was a fabulous place to stay in Udaipur, perfectly located for sightseeing in this city.
The rooms were small but more than adequate & clean. Both the hotel & rooms charmingly decorated.
Staff very helpful. Rooftop restaurant had a wonderful view over the lake. This guesthouse walking distance to the city palace, lots of restaurants & shopping close by.
Highly recommended

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHAVELI, Owner at Mewar Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear Guest
Thanks for a kind and glowing review. We are delighted to know of your pleasant stay and happy memories you have of our small hotel and cozy Room. It was a pleasure to be of service to you, we are glad you felt welcomed and comfortable with us.we think your Delight ful review help to our future guest for us. We would love to welcome you again and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Warm Regards from all of us at Mewar Haveli,Udaipur
We look forward to reading your review and we hope that you choose to stay with us again if you return to Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

This was not my first choice of hotel in Udaipur. Unfortunately Jagat Niwas Palace or Jaiwana Haveli which is across the street has no availability as we were over there over a weekend.

On arriving to the hotel, the overnight front desk wanted to hold onto our passports but said we won't be able to check in until 10 as we arrived there early. It is uncomfortable to be asked for your passport for it just to be lying around until the next front desk manager came in.

We waited in the restaurant area which over looked the lake which was nice but we did not eat there during our stay.

The room did offer a partial view of the lake which was nice to see and the location of the hotel is in a good place and the price is average.

Our room was not cleaned by staff during our stay.

We had concerns when it came to check out as we were leaving for a flight early next morning and wanted to pay for our stay as they did not charge on check in. The hotel manager (who is typically on his phone most of the time) stated that the card machine is not working and we should pay cash. I had said to him to use the internet for the line in the shop next door which he said he couldn't but when we went back downstairs again to resolve the payment then suddenly he suggested that he can use the line from next door and thought the whole situation was funny which was unprofessional even by Indian standards.

I would not recommend staying here unless you had no choice and want to stay in a Haveli. I would suggest for a little more to stay elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mitz_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHAVELI, Owner at Mewar Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Mewar Haveli, Udaipur !!! Thank you for sharing your experience.We shall look for the room Clean issue and promise you for better services.as mention keep your passport due to we need to fill up information as per your govt.security.and card payment we dont charge on check in time we charge on check time only and unfortunately hotel telephone line was disturbed so you got some trouble Kindly give us an opportunity to "make amends" and re-establish credibility with you.Assuring you of our best attention at all times. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0 km away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#77 of 175 in Udaipur
392 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#45 of 175 in Udaipur
400 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#19 of 175 in Udaipur
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#81 of 175 in Udaipur
271 reviews
0 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 175 in Udaipur
2,394 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#46 of 175 in Udaipur
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewar Haveli

Address: 34-35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: ₹ 1,913 - ₹ 3,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mewar Haveli 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Mewar haveli "A Traditional Hotel" welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Mewar Haveli is a 12 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by Elivator (lift) and by stair.All rooms in the hotel are aircondition rooms and offer basic amenities.The hotel is not selling the rooms as a lake view or lake faceing.The hotel have more less all rooms have a standerd size (110 sq.Ft).Our suggestion higher floor rooms need to reserve 2 to 3 months in advance Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel near city palace and jagdish temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Yatra, TripOnline SA, ClearTrip, Booking.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Mewar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mewar Haveli Udaipur, Rajasthan
Mewar Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing