We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel just off the Lake Pichola”
Review of Mewar Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mewar Haveli
Ranked #26 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel just off the Lake Pichola”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I must say I was rather wary of staying in a hotel which although was higly praised on TA, said they did not have a dedicated parking for my car. However, after a crazy negotiation of the gullis of udaipur old town, I was there, just below a dated but well refurbished building. If you are the luxury traveller looking for resplendant properties with lavish rooms and swimming pools, this isnt the place for you. But if you are looking for a budget hotel, which is clean, dont mind the cramped space and like to spend your time gazing over a heritage building, the lake and the aravali hills beyond, this is the place. The food is nice, its quite continental actually, but the location of the restaurant is simply awsome. Our room was the best that the hotel could offer, corner room on the top floor, open on both sides, over looking the lake Pichola, brilliant sunset view. Rooms are small and basic, nothing extravagant but then who wants to stay in a room when we had all but one and a half day to explore the Lake City.
All in all, very decent and absolutly recommended. The staff is decent enough and yes they cleaned my car for a small tip.

Room Tip: Look for rooms on the top floor, and especially the corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranaditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    325
    82
    34
    13
See reviews for
205
335
52
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We had a comfortable stay at the hotel, the staff was courteous. The rooms were clean but were small and did not have a view of the lake. The best feature of the hotel was its location and the roof top resturants with a beautiful view of lake Pichola. Overall not a bad deal.

Room Tip: For a good view choose the rooms on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anju s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2012

After a long checks over internet I have finalised this hotel, Station pick up was fine and even after asking the lake view rooms I was given a different room. I had no other option to stay there, the restraunt was excellent and room was nice. I had an emergency plan change and I was asked to pay the one day extra charge when i had to leave one day earlier than i planned. what ever they have asked is fine but the way the staff behaved when some one is in emergency is not so good. if you pay you will get a good service and if you dont you wont.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhans4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Sorry for the bad review guys, we liked our room though. It would have been nice to hace a desk to write at, but wasnt a big deal. Great view from room, and plenty of hot water. We didnt get a doona though, just 2 crappy blankets made for single beds. We didnt get a proper sheet either, just some.... I dont know what they were, narrow cloth things? It was a bit cold. Our room was near the stairs so we didnt get to sleep past like 7:30am since people were going up and down and talking right out side our room. We could also hear furniture being mover around on the next floor where breakfast was. I have to say, the restaraunt is nice. Not too steep, nice view of the lake. There is a roof roof top and an open balcony type one below it. Pretty. The wait staff stuffed up our breakfast every single morning (3 mornings ina row) we were there. And thing was, there was never more than 3 tables occupied, and always at least 3 wait staff. They always forgot to bring us coffee, even though they wrote it down with our other orders and they walked around pointing at our table and arguing with each other for the whole of breakfast. They also took like a hundred years to bring out the bill and i saw that one girl waited like twenty minutes to get her change back, like 500rs worth as well. At least the food was good. We ate dinner here once though and it was fine. We also made use of the laundry service. At first, it would be ready at 8pm. Then 8am the next morning. Then 10am. We got it at 11:30am the next morning. The clothes were beautifully pressed but unfortunately they were still wet. We then attempted to check out, but to no avail as their card machine was not working. We told them to call the bank, or someone to come and tell them how to use it /fix it, as most other places do when the machine doesnt work. They refused to try and fix the problem and after trying one other card machine of the same bank and brand, told us to go get 8000rs cash from an atm. We basically told them to go ..... Them selves and they told us to come back later and they would get it working. In the end we had to go bloody miles on a scooter to get a stupid amount of cash out of the atm as the closer ones were shut or out of order. The person doing our check out seemed to think it was a huge joke the whole time. Makes me think they just wanted the cash. Thanks to this, we were late to get to our flight. Overall, pretty hotel, but staff need retraining.

Room Tip: Get the room furthest away from the stairs unless you are an early riser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHAVELI, Owner at Mewar Haveli, responded to this review, 22 June 2016
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Mewar Haveli, Udaipur !!!

Thank you for sharing your experience as back in date the hotel was run by other staff and authority we agree you must have faced the issues. Now things are under different supervision and i personally take care of things as an owner
Kindly give us an opportunity to "make amends" and re-establish credibility with you as it was the 3rd party mistake.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times.


Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Although our room was small and didn't have a view it was really nice with a four poster bed and a window seat which over looked a road. The bathroom was also small but the shower was very powerful and hot. The roof restaurant was split over two floors both of which had amazing views of lake pickola, the city palace and Udaipur.

Friendly and helpful staff and really good food in the restaurant.

TV with star world so Aussy masterchef could be viewed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.8 km away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#44 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#42 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 km away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewar Haveli

Property: Mewar Haveli
Address: 34-35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,752 - ₹ 2,336
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mewar Haveli 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Mewar haveli "A Traditional Hotel" welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Mewar Haveli is a 12 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by Elivator (lift) and by stair.All rooms in the hotel are aircondition rooms and offer basic amenities.The hotel is not selling the rooms as a lake view or lake faceing.The hotel have more less all rooms have a standerd size (110 sq.Ft).Our suggestion higher floor rooms need to reserve 2 to 3 months in advance Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel near city palace and jagdish temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Mewar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mewar Haveli Udaipur, Rajasthan
Mewar Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing