We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with an excellent location”
Review of Kankarwa Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kankarwa Haveli
Ranked #51 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The location of the Kankarwa Haveli is just perfect: on the water front, at the end of a side-street with many shops. This means that from the hotel you can enjoy a magnificient view on Lake Pichola and on the city, that you do not have the noise and chaos of traffic and are right in the middle of the shops the moment you walk out of the front door. Also the City Palace is at just a couple of minutes walking distance.
The manager and his wife (at least I presume that the lady in charge of the kitchen is the manager's wife) are extremely charming and speak excellent English.
Also the rest of the staff is very nice and helpful.
The rooms are rather spartan, but clean and quite spacious and have a nice personal touch.
The roof top terrace is a wonderful place to start your day with breakfast and end it watching the sun set over the lake and surrounding hills.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stedejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 214 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

We spent 3 days around New Year 2012 here and are much less anthusiastic than other posters. Yes it is nicely situated at the lakeside although in a ground floor room you are thus very near the filth floating on top of the water. The rooms are tiny although nicely decorated but then again the cupboard seemd to be authentically medieval with a few wire hangers only. The bathroom was a white-tiled cubicle, with little space to deposit things and no partition to the shower which accoringly floods the room. But there was always hot water. This was the only hotel of our tour not providing bottled water or kleenex on its own initiative but they gave us two bottles of water when we asked (although not bringing in any new ones the following days). There was just soap and toilet paper. When we asked for a heater for the room (which the boss on check-in said he would provide if the need be) the staff said they will ask the boss but no heater materialised.

The common areas are basically nice but in winter it gets very cold after sunset and since all the areas are open they were uncomfortable after 6 pm (as also was our room, we slept in our pullovers). The whole haveli (including the roof-top restaurant) is only dimly lit, but not in a romantic way (NOT like on the website photos). The restaurant is strictly vegetarian.

The nice thing was to sit on the rooftop terrace during daytime and enjoy the view over the lake. Good food provided the rooftop restaurant next door (advertising "espresso", although the espresso was "finished" when we were there).

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kattinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

As a relatively seasoned traveller, it is rare that I arrive at a hotel and am rendered speechless.

After pulling up in an auto-rickshaw to the fairly underwhelming entrance to Kankarwa Haveli, I was ushered through the lobby as if I was a regular and honoured guest, and led up to my room. The staircases can be a little steep and long, but the top-floor restaurant and rooms are very much worth the climb. Since my room voucher specified a single room with breakfast, I was pleasantly surprised to be shown into a large suite, with the bedroom having floor to ceiling windows overlooking Lake Pichola. The Haveli is on the water's edge so to have such a view to wake up to was amazing. The room itself was very comfortable, with A/C and fans, a large bathroom with plenty of hot water, and a sitting area with comfortable couch.

The restaurant is one of the most stunning I have seen - panoramic views over the lake (and for you James Bond fans, the Lake Palace hotel) - perfect for sunsets over the water. Oh, and the food was good too and very reasonably priced in comparison with some of the close-by eating places. Great thalis and a good selection of drinks. Breakfast was enormous (though western-style) and all in all was very good value. You could sit there for hours - never mind the other sights in Udaipur.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating, but special mention must be given to the owners who were always ready to help, with a smile on their face, even when faced with a demanding group of 20 requiring breakfast simultaneously... nothing was too much trouble.

I'm just waiting for my next visit to the Kankarwa Haveli - happy to work sweeping the floors, just to see that view again...

Room Tip: Top floor with lake view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geronimo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Poor breakfast. Reception staff was rude and totally unhelpful. Room keys lay around unattended on a table by the front door of the hotel, which did not seem secure. Housekeeping service unreliable and poor. The restaurant was always empty in the evenings. If you have a room on the floor below the restaurant, you hear the chairs sliding around in the morning loudly. But the loudest thing (which starts at the break of dawn and continues until noon) is the clamor created by people washing and beating their clothes at the lakeside, directly under your window. The only positives were the the nice view of the lake and the cozy room itself.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaiwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Wonderful haveli! After returning from over 2 1/2 weeks in India, we have decided that Kankarwa Haveli was one of our favorite places to stay during our trip. The haveli was beautiful, charming, and a great value. The staff was friendly, responsive, and eager to please.

Room Tip: One thing to note is there are a LOT of steps. Steep steps. Even in our room there were steps to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 167 in Udaipur
2,362 reviews
0.1 km away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#36 of 167 in Udaipur
803 reviews
0 km away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#16 of 167 in Udaipur
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Karohi Haveli
Karohi Haveli
#50 of 167 in Udaipur
395 reviews
0.2 km away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 167 in Udaipur
733 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#18 of 167 in Udaipur
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kankarwa Haveli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kankarwa Haveli

Address: 26 Lal Ghat | Eastern Shores of Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: ₹ 4,242 - ₹ 10,348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kankarwa Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage hotel in 180 years old haveli renovated in 1993 by Kankarwa family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra, TripOnline SA and TravelGuru so you can book your Kankarwa Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kankarwa Haveli Udaipur, Rajasthan
Kankarwa Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing