We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marble palace on the lake”
Review of Amet Haveli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amet Haveli
Ranked #19 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Marble palace on the lake”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at the Amet Haveli for 2 nights, including New Year's eve. We loved the old marble building, and romantic cushions and curtains along the lake shore. Our son and his girlfriend stayed in a balcony room overlooking the restaurant and lake, and its furnishings and view were amazing. We were in a more interior room that was larger, but not as charismatic - go for the balcony room if you can. Dinner at the hotel restaurant on New Years Eve was magical - super view of the City Palace and the lake palace, with fireworks over the lake. Amazing. Highly recommended, and only moderately expensive - by western standards, that is. Easy to walk to the main section of the city across a small pedestrian bridge.

Room Tip: Take a balcony room if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Urban-cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    110
    29
    8
    25
See reviews for
72
248
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is a very attractive looking little haveli right on the Pichhola lake. Have absolutely Amazing views of City Palace on the left and the lake Palace at the front. Please ask for suits, they have one of the best views i Udaipur. Please also book the Restorant for at least one meal in the evening. The ambience is simply superb as the reastorant is situated right on the bank of Pichhola lake. Rooms are okay, decorated in Haveli style, Bathrooms are great too. The guy at the reception can be a challange sometimes. Make sure you have a documentation of your booking with you.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and have unmatched views of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chatsuparna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We arrived one morning after a long over-night train journey. One of our party was quite ill with the heat and had an upset stomach. Even so we were left sitting outside in the growing heat for some time before being shown to what were were later told by the manager were the "worst and cheapest rooms at the hotel" He then informed our Tour Guide we were "fussy English Tourists" and held on to our passports until our Guide interviened when he arrived and demanded they were returned to us.

The bedding, shower curtain and carpets were stained. There was even a broken power socket in the shower??? No windows seats for us, no working air-con, no room mini-bar for cold drinks, and a smelly pond outside the door which was supposed to be the pool. Aparently this is a Restaurant business which is trying to expand into a Hotel. Well they certainly need some Customer Service training.

Be warned, the master power switch for each of the rooms is outside the room door. If you think you can leave your air-con (if it works) on all day and come back to a cool rom, you are mistaken. Someone walks around hourly and if you are not in the room (they can tell if the room is empty as a large padlock is used to secure it outside) they turn the switch off.

We decided not to stay (despite being charged for the night and having the local driver stopped from leaving with us to ensure we paid before we left) and took our extra business and bags and moved to the Tridant. Much better customer experiance, no rude staff, and decent food, still with lovely views of the lake.

Room Tip: Dont stay there - go anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EagerTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. Very good behaviour, service. food good Excellent view of the lake.
access is bad through narrow lanes.However transport is made available promptly. There is hardly any reception

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rajivag58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Amet haveli enjoys a fantastic location - privately tucked away at the end of a small peninsula with incredible views of the old city and palace. Its hard to imagine that the super-luxury lake palace next door can beat the vista.

The restaurant is excellent with pleasant, albeit pushy, waitstaff (we were offered private tours of the city before we'd ordered our first drink).

It has a lot of character and charm that is lacking in some more "upmarket" hotels we've stayed at in India. Don't expect upmarket service though. The reception staff are completely dis-interested and there is a distinctly transactional feel to staying here. This is a shame as it really spoils a lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234748483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 km away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.3 km away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.4 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#22 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.2 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amet Haveli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amet Haveli

Property: Amet Haveli
Address: | Outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,045 - ₹ 11,094
Hotel Class:2 star — Amet Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 250 year old haveli refelecting the legendary golden era of Mewar . A royal residence site of erstwhile Thikana Amet . Rate-7500INR-Dbl for Dlx and 8700 INR FOR Suite Dbl occupancy.Non lake view room 4000INR Dbl 0ccupancy Tax -19% Room only basis.Double occupancy.Now boat ride in lake Pichola is also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amet Haveli Hotel Udaipur
Amet Haveli Udaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing