We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
397
139
33
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
139
33
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantbig suiteold cityboutique hotelcoloured glass windowshot watercity palacelounge areadeluxe roomgreat showerbeautiful hotelwe loved our staynon acwalking distanceentire citygreat rooftopnarrow lanes
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Ok so getting to this hotel is not the easiest. It is in the old part of the city and cars can’t get that close to it, but we asked our driver to call ahead and the hotel sent a couple of porters to come and meet us and guide us to the hotel (and carry our bags) which got around the issue (they did the same when we left). Once we got there it was excellent. It has been beautifully restored and the room are really lovely, a good size and very comfortable. The wifi in the room was pretty good (though not the quickest). The staff were excellent, very friendly, spoke good English and were able to provide good directions (and a map) to the various attractions around Udaipur. The roof top restaurant was also very good, the menu was simple but the food very good. The only slight down side was that they were waiting for the alcohol licence, so we couldn’t have a drink and watch the sun go down. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CesarChuffart, Owner at Madri Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Alun,

Thank you for your review and staying with us.
Best regards,
César Chuffart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Everything about the Madri Haveli is perfection. Our suite was exquisite, impeccably restored and stylishly furnished with antiques and unique pieces. The bathroom was beautiful and simple and the bed was super comfy. There was a small temple in the room next to our suite and quiet prayer was a beautiful sound to hear when we opened our door in the morning. One of the owners has a small art gallery in the haveli and has some of his incredible photos displayed . We went with him for a visit to his studio in the area to see some of his work and and also got to learn a bit about the 7 year restoration process they undertook with the Madri Haveli. The rooftop restaurant has unbelievable views of the city and lake and surrounding mountains as well as lovely food. The staff here were also perfect, super friendly and helpful and also really down to earth. Every detail in this property is thoughtful and tasteful from the beautiful marble lotus bowls filled with flower blossoms scattered around the hotel to the soothing palette of greys, white and warm natural woods. This is the only place to stay in Udaipur.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Drew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CesarChuffart, Owner at Madri Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you in one of our suite, a 300 years room with original painting which was a sample from architect for the king to make room in city palace.

Best regards,
César Chuffart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

First, Udaipur was one of our favourite stops in India. When planning your trip give at least 2 nights here, maybe 3.

This hotel you can't drive directly to so you'll have to walk or take a rickshaw from the car dropoff area. It's about 2/3 blocks from the City Palace and you can see it from the rooftop, and you can walk down to the lake as well. Great location.

It is a really old building and they've done an awesome job in making the rooms a mix of updated but also looking very historical. One of the best rooms we had in our 3 week trip, there was a sitting area under a window that was a highlight. The room was clean, bed comfortable, bathroom really nice and with nice toiletries. Hot water, and the free wifi was good in the room. A+.

The service was great and we ate on the rooftop, phenomenal view and the food was good. I'd say this was like a 4 star hotel, I really would recommend staying here to anyone looking from 2-5 stars. It was great.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grrraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CesarChuffart, Owner at Madri Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank for you review and staying with us.
Best regards,
César Chuffart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Though our stay was very pleasant for the most part, I think its worth mentioning three issues with the property:
1. Getting to the property itself. The hotel is located on a steep hill with VERY narrow roads. The roads are so narrow that taxis cannot drive through them. So, upon arriving from the airport, we literally had to unload all of our luggage on the side of the road and haul them this steep hill to get to the hotel. The same occurred when leaving the hotel in order to reach the taxi to return to the airport.
2. Internet connection. The poor Wifi connection here was really the only reoccurring issue. You had to literally stand in front of the door of the room to get a good connection. Being anywhere else in the room resulted in either a poor connection or no connection at all.
3. The restaurant staff. Though the manager and the front desk staff were extremely caring and friendly, we could not say the same for the last restaurant staff. They were often rude, would give food items ordered to the wrong person, and once one of the waiters completely ignored my mother and didn't even bother to attempt to take her order. He literally turned his back to her and walked away. When we called him back to our table and told him that he ignored my mother and didn't take her order, he disrespectfully shrugged as if he didn't care and then rushed my mother to place her order. We told the manager and received a sincere apology for the incident. We appreciated that.

눇The suite that we booked was extremely beautiful. You really felt the charm of an old, traditional Rajasthani palace while still having modern accommodations, such as AC and television. The front desk staff was AWESOME and super helpful. Jitendra, Prince, and Yomesh were the best and made our stay so comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located next several historic landmarks and sites, which made it easy for us to make sure sure we saw everything we came to see as well as find our way around the town. Also, the food served at the hotel is amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor for better wifi connection
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Iman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CesarChuffart, Owner at Madri Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Iman,

Thank you for your review and you just have put wifi spot in each room, so wifi is strong now.
Best regards,
César

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at this boutique hotel and we had a very nice surprise
we've been traveling for over 15 days and when we arrived to Udaipur we didn't now what to expect because in India you can book a 5 star hotel and get anything. It's a Pandora's box.
When we arrived to this hotel in the middle of a street that had nothing to offer, we where gladly surprise to see a lovely, well decorated, clean hotel. The people there was very nice and speak English so it was very easy to communicate.
The bathroom was clean and the towels white and clean, very difficult to find in India.
So far, one of the best hotels we've visit

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CesarChuffart, Owner at Madri Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Carola,

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to welcome you in our boutique hotel.
Best regards,
César

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews