We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday ”
Review of Madri Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madri Haveli
Ranked #8 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

I‘m very happy with the choice we did, very nice room good atmosphere.
The hotel Design very good, friendly staff special (Yomesh Shukla) him has always a smile on the face ,helpful, sympathetic. I do really think him should work on the reception. Him can better English as the other guys on the reception, can better organize e solve the problems.
We had some problems to paying the bill.
The only reason that I can’t give excellent is because the reception guys isn’t good prepared.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Freitasj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CesarChuffart, Owner at Madri Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and i ll check the person at the reception and improve that.
Best regards,
César Chuffart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Ok so getting to this hotel is not the easiest. It is in the old part of the city and cars can’t get that close to it, but we asked our driver to call ahead and the hotel sent a couple of porters to come and meet us and guide us to the hotel (and carry our bags) which got around the issue (they did the same when we left). Once we got there it was excellent. It has been beautifully restored and the room are really lovely, a good size and very comfortable. The wifi in the room was pretty good (though not the quickest). The staff were excellent, very friendly, spoke good English and were able to provide good directions (and a map) to the various attractions around Udaipur. The roof top restaurant was also very good, the menu was simple but the food very good. The only slight down side was that they were waiting for the alcohol licence, so we couldn’t have a drink and watch the sun go down. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CesarChuffart, Owner at Madri Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Alun,

Thank you for your review and staying with us.
Best regards,
César Chuffart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Everything about the Madri Haveli is perfection. Our suite was exquisite, impeccably restored and stylishly furnished with antiques and unique pieces. The bathroom was beautiful and simple and the bed was super comfy. There was a small temple in the room next to our suite and quiet prayer was a beautiful sound to hear when we opened our door in the morning. One of the owners has a small art gallery in the haveli and has some of his incredible photos displayed . We went with him for a visit to his studio in the area to see some of his work and and also got to learn a bit about the 7 year restoration process they undertook with the Madri Haveli. The rooftop restaurant has unbelievable views of the city and lake and surrounding mountains as well as lovely food. The staff here were also perfect, super friendly and helpful and also really down to earth. Every detail in this property is thoughtful and tasteful from the beautiful marble lotus bowls filled with flower blossoms scattered around the hotel to the soothing palette of greys, white and warm natural woods. This is the only place to stay in Udaipur.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Drew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CesarChuffart, Owner at Madri Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you in one of our suite, a 300 years room with original painting which was a sample from architect for the king to make room in city palace.

Best regards,
César Chuffart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

First, Udaipur was one of our favourite stops in India. When planning your trip give at least 2 nights here, maybe 3.

This hotel you can't drive directly to so you'll have to walk or take a rickshaw from the car dropoff area. It's about 2/3 blocks from the City Palace and you can see it from the rooftop, and you can walk down to the lake as well. Great location.

It is a really old building and they've done an awesome job in making the rooms a mix of updated but also looking very historical. One of the best rooms we had in our 3 week trip, there was a sitting area under a window that was a highlight. The room was clean, bed comfortable, bathroom really nice and with nice toiletries. Hot water, and the free wifi was good in the room. A+.

The service was great and we ate on the rooftop, phenomenal view and the food was good. I'd say this was like a 4 star hotel, I really would recommend staying here to anyone looking from 2-5 stars. It was great.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grrraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CesarChuffart, Owner at Madri Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank for you review and staying with us.
Best regards,
César Chuffart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Though our stay was very pleasant for the most part, I think its worth mentioning three issues with the property:
1. Getting to the property itself. The hotel is located on a steep hill with VERY narrow roads. The roads are so narrow that taxis cannot drive through them. So, upon arriving from the airport, we literally had to unload all of our luggage on the side of the road and haul them this steep hill to get to the hotel. The same occurred when leaving the hotel in order to reach the taxi to return to the airport.
2. Internet connection. The poor Wifi connection here was really the only reoccurring issue. You had to literally stand in front of the door of the room to get a good connection. Being anywhere else in the room resulted in either a poor connection or no connection at all.
3. The restaurant staff. Though the manager and the front desk staff were extremely caring and friendly, we could not say the same for the last restaurant staff. They were often rude, would give food items ordered to the wrong person, and once one of the waiters completely ignored my mother and didn't even bother to attempt to take her order. He literally turned his back to her and walked away. When we called him back to our table and told him that he ignored my mother and didn't take her order, he disrespectfully shrugged as if he didn't care and then rushed my mother to place her order. We told the manager and received a sincere apology for the incident. We appreciated that.

눇The suite that we booked was extremely beautiful. You really felt the charm of an old, traditional Rajasthani palace while still having modern accommodations, such as AC and television. The front desk staff was AWESOME and super helpful. Jitendra, Prince, and Yomesh were the best and made our stay so comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located next several historic landmarks and sites, which made it easy for us to make sure sure we saw everything we came to see as well as find our way around the town. Also, the food served at the hotel is amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor for better wifi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Iman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CesarChuffart, Owner at Madri Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Iman,

Thank you for your review and you just have put wifi spot in each room, so wifi is strong now.
Best regards,
César

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#9 of 177 in Udaipur
2,418 reviews
0.9 km away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#11 of 177 in Udaipur
521 reviews
0.4 km away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#21 of 177 in Udaipur
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#6 of 177 in Udaipur
1,000 reviews
3.8 km away
Amantra Shilpi Resort
Amantra Shilpi Resort
#4 of 177 in Udaipur
423 reviews
1.3 km away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madri Haveli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madri Haveli

Address: 70, Ganesh Ghati | Near Gadiya Devra, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: ₹ 3,951 - ₹ 8,873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madri Haveli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Haveli Hotel in the center of Udaipur ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, Yatra, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Madri Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madri Haveli Udaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing