We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #22 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Bolton le Sands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was the fourth hotel on our first trip to India.A lovely young lady greeted us with garlands and took us to a very pretty suite.She also provided a lovely birthday cake(on my birthday a couple of days later).Small sunny turret sitting room,very small bathroom but lovely bedroom.Beautifully decorated. Gold draped four poster.Small view of lake.
However initially disappointed as building works in progress but obviously on hold for tourist season.Pool in gorgeous position on roof overlooking the lake.
There was also a very loud buzzing at night which kept me awake.Couldnt work out where it came from Staff not really interested.Had to turn off a/c as that just made sound even worse.
Apart from the young lady and young porter, the rest of the staff we felt needed a bit of customer service training.They all seemed a bit jaded (perhaps end of season boredom?) and this came through in the service.A lot of hovering for tips even though there is a box in the foyer to place tips at the end of a stay.Good idea as all staff can then have a share. Had urgent reason to call my 90 year old father in the UK but really stuggled with reception to help me.(No signal on my mobile)Was getting quite distressed but to no avail Eventually had to wait for our guide who gladly lent me his mobile.
I wouldnt let any of the above problems stop me from staying here again as hotel,pool location all good

Room Tip: Ask for room on front of hotel as view over towards the lake,not the main one,but very interesting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieJSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager Reservation at Hotel Udai Kothi, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments.

It is heartening to get such reviews and, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at “UDAI KOTHI”.

My team and I are inspired by your comments and look forward to your continued visits.
It was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

We take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Regards
Mahendra Singh Panwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    373
    133
    61
    71
See reviews for
236
450
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

When we arrived we were in a room in the old building. This was very old an not up to standard at all. It also had a view of a construction site.

When I complained they put us in a room for the second night in the new part which was much nicer but under the construction. Nice big bathroom.

Breakfast was substandard, hardly any variety, tasteless and often not stocked well.

Located in little windy streets but pretty easy to walk to the palace.

Restaurant produces average food. They are clever and have the mains at ok prices but charge the same as a curry for rice!

There is really good food just Down the road if your willing to walk and eat at a local rooftop restaurant.

I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnafurst18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Nice hotel, well located in Udaipur. Rooms are confortable and very clean.The decoration is a bit old looking. The swimming pool on the roof is very pleasant with a nice view of the city. Staff is welcoming. The chef was away during our stay... the food was less than average and the service very slow...
Overall, we had a nice time at Udai Kothi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

If you choose to go to Udaipur, then this is the place to be. We had a lake view suite and we nore disapoointed. Great rooms, marbel bathroom and romantic details made our stay pleasant and comfortable. The roof terrace gives stunning views over the lake. What made this hotel outstanding was the owner and his family. All of them were super friendly, attentive & professional. It is quite obvious that the staff enjoyes working for them. All in all a superb stay! Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasolisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Was trying to book this hotel and had a few few email exchanges, to negotiate the rates since was trying to booking in an offseason. When i called them up to finalize the stay and introduced myself, a reply, "we are not selling vegetables and you cannot negotiate in this manner". Completely shocked and taken aback, i requested to speak to someone senior. The lady replied, "I am the owner of this property, and there is no one senior to me", and the phone was banged on my face.
Extremely disappointed with the rude behaviour, considering this appears to be a better hotel in Udaipur. The least you would expect someone in the hotel industry is to be polite, and respect potential customers.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sgij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 km away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.4 km away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 157 in Udaipur
467 reviews
1.6 km away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 157 in Udaipur
2,274 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 157 in Udaipur
324 reviews
1.1 km away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 157 in Udaipur
2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Property: Hotel Udai Kothi
Address: O/S Chand Pole | Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,996 - ₹ 11,928
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel
Hotel Udai Kothi Udaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing