We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fateh Prakash Palace
Ranked #30 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dream Holiday”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

December, 28th-31st 2010
Fateh Prakash Palace hotel
A dream palace yet within our budget. Excellent suite, well maintained... excellent furniture ornate yet comfortable. The hotel is situated within the City Palace complex, yet it is not in the way of the visiting tourists. We were welcomed with traditional Rajasthani hospitality- garland, tilak and cool drinks. The hotel lounge was tastefully done up , we spent some time there as our room was being readied.
We were accompanied to our room in a true royal style and welcomed there with yummy chocolates and fruits.
The room was awesome--- facing the Pichhola lake and over looking the Taj Palace hotel. Infact, so breathtaking was the view that we did not feel lke stirring out. The comfort in the rooms was also of the highest degree- large soft beds, comfortable settes, hot water in a large well equipped bathroom and of course breath taking view. The writing table also had personalised stationery, maps and tourist guide to the city.What more can one want?
The buffet breakfast served on an open air deck over looking the lake was enormous and delicious..... both Indian and western delicasies were on the menu. The dinner served a-la-carte was also very good.
The staff were the epitome of hospitality, warm and caring and very courteous!! They would come in twice- once to clean, and at night to ready the room for the night, They brought along their hallmark chocolates and kept fresh fruit in the room every morning ina ddition to the complimentary water.
All in all a very memorable holiday...one I wish to repeat some time soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MumbaiVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear MumbaiVisitor,

Greetings from the Fateh Prakash Palace.

Thank you so much for the wonderful words about our palace hotel, staff and the hospitality. We are honored and very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and do look forward to welcoming you back to the HRH Group of Hotels soon again.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    121
    45
    24
    17
See reviews for
124
156
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Rajasthan abounds with royal hotels. What sets apart fateh Prakash, Udaipur is that it was indeed the King's home 200 years ago. The room in which i stayed was one where the princesses stayed at one point. The alcove, window seating, beds were reminiscent of it.

The food at the palace hotel was fabulous. In fact long after the lunch hour had passed, i was given the meals. It was a lovely gesture of the royal staff. I also got my own stationary for the one week I stayed there.

The light and sound show was fabulous too. The crystal palace which houses the lovely crystal pieces, furniture and bed was breathtaking.

The staff's hospitality goes beyond professional duties. With personal care, it made me feel like a queen. The Mewar history is rich with lovely stories. Lsten to them from the local staff.

Room Tip: ask if the room has any historical relevance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nivedita29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear Nivedita29,

Greetings from the Fateh Prakash Palace.

Thank you so much for the wonderful words about our palace hotel, staff and the regal visits. We are honored and very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and do look forward to welcoming you back to the HRH Group of Hotels soon again.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The Culture ,colour and Royal legacy of Rajasthan has always been attracted to me. my dream come true to experience the same when I stayed at Hotel Fateh prakash Palace. We have stayed at many hotels over the years, often luxury ones but This was unique experience right from entering the hotel. I felt like a Maharaja.. Its a Royal treat right from the hotel lobby, rooms decor, food, service, musiums, light show swimming pool etc.

We have wonderfull experience which we going to cherish for ever. If you want to feel like a king go and stay at Ftaeh Prakash palace, Udaipur.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCMSANJEEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear RCMSANJEEV,

Greetings from the Fateh Prakash Palace.

In our endeavor to provide the best of hospitality as in the royal era, we are very pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us at our palace hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

The Fateh Prakash is part of the maharana's palace, and is furnished accordingly in very spacious rooms with superb views. Breakfast involved a long but enjoyable walk through the palace grounds. The food is absolutely excellent though not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear The_Old_Birds,

Greetings from the Fateh Prakash Palace.

We thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our palace Hotel. Its words like these from our Honorable guests like you that ensure us we are doing the right things in bringing to you the best in royal hospitality. We look forward to host you soon again at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Hotel is run down undergoing noisy but vital repairs, kitchen very average, rooms not clean and staff probably very underpaid! ...and expensive!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lariflette7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, General Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Fateh Prakash Palace, Udaipur.

Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate you taking out the time to write about your recent stay at our palace hotel and bringing up your concerns.

Kindly be informed that in order to meet the needs of our esteemed guests like you and to maintain the ambience and heritage aspect of the centuries old Palace complex, we are undergoing massive up gradation of the property.

Our kitchens and menu have been done keeping in mind requirements of our guests, offering a wide selection of cuisines which is managed by well trained staff is trained in their specific specialization and regularly updated.

We regret your experience at the Fateh Prakash Palace wasn't up to the mark. However, we do look forward to welcome you back again and meet up and exceed your service level expectations this time when you stay with us, ensuring you a memorable trip.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 km away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#35 of 157 in Udaipur
480 reviews
2.0 km away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.5 km away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#20 of 157 in Udaipur
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
1.4 km away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 157 in Udaipur
2,673 reviews
0.3 km away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 157 in Udaipur
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fateh Prakash Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fateh Prakash Palace

Property: Fateh Prakash Palace
Address: The City Palace, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#12 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,216 - ₹ 51,862
Hotel Class:4 star — Fateh Prakash Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where once the Maharanas of Mewar held court, today you can hold forthLocated on the eastern shores of the picturesque Lake Pichola, the palace seems to have floated straight out of a fairytale.The history-soaked interiors, dotted with miniature paintings, portraits, royal artefacts and the armoury of the Mewar dynasty transport you to legendary times.The suites and rooms decorated with original paintings and period furniture from the toshakhanas or royal storerooms, cocoon you in velvety luxury as you soak in the ever-changing hues of the lake from large arched windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelGuru, Yatra, Fastbooking and Agoda so you can book your Fateh Prakash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fateh Prakash Palace Udaipur, Rajasthan
Fateh Prakash Palace Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing