We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance Renewed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Romance Renewed”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My career started from this White City of Pure Love in 1994, when I was employed with P&G as a member of the Sales team. So during the two years stay in this city, I fell in love with not just the city but also the people and their respect oozing language and friendly behavior.

So this love remained ingrained and i could renew this in Oct 2010, albeit this time with my wife and my two heartbeats in tow. Although I know the city as my back of my hand, still somehow i missed this fantastic boutique palace or should i say treasure trove back then. In fact we landed on early Oct morning from a Jet flight from Delhi. The drive itself reminded me of my youthful days. Once in to the hotel, the pure white walls strikes your eyes. We had booked the Maharaja Suite, which itself was a fantastic option with two big jharoka hanging on to the Lake Pichola and Lake Palace in full view. Implacable service, breakfast options include Indian, continental served on lake facing jharokas. Even the dinner on roof top is excellent. Services & the location is 5Star, so do opt for a lake facing room while booking. Also if you are on romantic renewal, then Maharaja Suite is the one. ( tip: open the windows(jharokas) in twilight /dusk time and go ahead to rekindle your erotic side with your mate.. it is large enough for a session of love…do remember i gave you the advice... well also kids must be asleep on the King size bed by then...) If anyone of you wish to know more, do feel free to drop a line to me..

Room Tip: Maharaja Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vagabondtales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    504
    109
    32
    23
See reviews for
251
670
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at Jagat Niwas 24 years ago, always wondered what had happened to that simple and beloved place. Well, contrary to what often happens to such simple spots, Jagat Niwas grew up to be a bigger and more beautiful version of its original self. And it stayed modest in price. So this is by far the best place at the best price to stay in Udaipur. Many rooms are on the lake. The rooftop view is an unequalled view of Lake Palace and City Palace. Breeze blow off the lake as you dine. There are two floors, besides the restaurant, where you can take a window seat, stretch out, and enjoy one of the most gorgeous vistas on the planet. At a shade under $40 a night, would you trade this for a $600+ room at the Lake Palace? Why? You can't see the Lake Palace from there... Duh. Jagat Niwas' staff is attentive, the food is fine, the location unequalled. Do the math, and enjoy!

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Wonderful location with perfect views of the lake.
Friendly and efficient staff. Beautiful roof-top terrace.
We didn’t eat there much, so can’t really comment on the restaurant, but breafast was fine.
As with any lakeside property, take plenty of insect repellant.

We had two-lake facing, Pichola suite rooms with fabulous views from the windows

Room Tip: Go for the Pichola suites; wonderful lake view. Courtyard facing rooms may disappoint you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here with my wife for 3 nights as part of an Enchanting India tour. We used small/medium heritage-style hotels and weren't disappointed here. By good fortune we had Room 114 which is right at the top - actually above the roof-top restaurant - and hence had stunning & memorable views.
The staff were helpful and obliging in arranging all sorts of little things (eg tickets to the excellent folk dance & puppet show, avoiding the queue).
Eat at least once at the hotel's restaurant, for the view and the feel. The food is average to good, but we had rather better across the lake at the Ambrai.
You'll find the hotel v central for old city, palace, temples and shopping. If Udaipur is one of your last stops, leave room!

Room Tip: You might be wise to ask about access if you have restricted mobility - older hotel without lifts an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exeter_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at Jagat Niwas Palace and were delighted with our choice.

The pictures don't really do it justice. It's a stunning Hotel in stunning location and the views are even better.

We visited the other Havelis nearby and I just can't understand how they rank better on TripAdvisor. Nove of them have the character of this one, and their rooftop restaurants aren't a patch on this.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were spotless. The views are second to none in Udaipur and the bar and restaurant on the roof was the best we visited in Udaipur. It's a really central location too, but very quiet and peaceful in the evening.

If I returned to Udaipur, I wouldn't bother even considering elsewhere to stay (unless I become uber-rich and can stay at the lake palace - that said, their view can't be as good!)

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more for a lake view. Get a suite if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMike1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 156 in Udaipur
2,249 reviews
0.4 km away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 156 in Udaipur
457 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 156 in Udaipur
1,040 reviews
0.4 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 156 in Udaipur
2,933 reviews
0.8 km away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,615 - ₹ 7,818
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel Udaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing