We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Snaptravel
Trip.com
US$ 94
View Deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/21
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
96
89
31
18
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
96
89
31
18
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews narrow lanes lake view the cottages tuk tuk property lawn arrangements
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2020 via mobile

I booked this through hotels.com and I sincerely hope they remove this hotel from their list of booking.
I can start from the entrance to the hotel. There is no direct access to the hotel by vehicle. You need to go to a nearby village and then take a tuk tuk to reach the hotel. The route the tuk tuk takes will give you an idea how the hotel experience is going to be. It is dirty and dusty narrow path. Gives you a glimpse of the poor neighborhood in Udaipur.
The hotel is located overlooking the lake but very poorly maintained. The units are tent style which I didn't know and was a surprise to me. It appears the owner is not spending any money on the property but trying to make the most of it by using the location. There were squirrels running on the roof tent inside the room! I have a video of it. The washroom is no where near usable. Rooms need a thorough
renovation. The food offered at the restaurant is very basic. The person serving the food hardly speaks English. The toaster in the dining area has seen its days and very rusty. You don't feel like putting the bread there!
I wanted to leave the hotel after one night stay. Though they refused first, later they agreed to refund but I couldn't get a better place at a short notice. So ended up staying the second night also.
Overall I had the worst stay ever at this hotel and in my opinion this hotel needs to be torn down and rebuilt. Still the approach to the hotel is not desirable.
Udaipur is an overhyped city ripping off tourists from their hard earned money.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ravichelvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kalrajeev1214, Manager at Shree Vilas Orchid-By Lake Pichhola, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2020

Greetings.

Birds, squirrels are part of a property with hundred of trees in vicinity.
Tuktuk drive from 500 meter away parking area is because of local administration's decision to ban four wheelers in old city and all hotels are dependent on tuktuk to ferry guests
Considering your discomfort with tented property, hotel offered you full refund but you decided to stay for two nights. Even on second day, we asked if you would like to like to check out but you opted to stay with us as you had adjusted well with room of your choice.

We once again request that guests looking for a structured hotel, averse to exposure to nature, trees, green patches should look for city hotels. We cater to needs of nature lovers, looking for picturesque location to enjoy sunset from their sit out enjoy magnificent Lake Pichhola and looking for leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

The hotel’s location is really nice it’s on lake pichhola.there garden seating arrangement in front of the lake pichhola really nice property to stay.only one problem is there we have not able to reach at the property directly because of the property is at the middle in the city so we followed for the location by hotel’s person.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank mehul244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2019 via mobile

This place is simple and basic B&B. Staff is helpful although restaurant staff could do better by noting down the order for each table. Rooms are small and have tent roof, bed are comfortable. Their lawn is really good and lake view is not bad ( it is not the best view though). A big downer for me was access street that is goes through quite stinky and dark neighbourhood. Choose this place only if you are on a budget otherwise you can go for other hotels facing the main lake area.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RV70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj B, Manager at Shree Vilas Orchid-By Lake Pichhola, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the feedback. We really appreciate feedback and work towards them. But would like to inform you that all the hotels including 5 stars have this problem of access to the hotel. And hotel is not at the fault. Please note that:

1. In order to promote heritage walk, city administration has banned all four wheeler, enabling tourist to walk through lanes and by lanes to enjoy Rajasthani murals, paintings, culture.

2. This has led to initial inconvenience to the guests as now they'll to park their vehicle 500 mtr away at the designated parking, provided by hotel and transfer through tuk tuk.

3. Parking and transfers are free of cost, complimentary for hotel guests.

This is applicable to all the hotels who are on the banks of Lake Pichhola. But once you reach the hotel it is another world. Would love to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2019 via mobile

We well planned our holidays with family about 3 months in advance and booked hotel on line through Make my Trip. MMT has published this hotel to be a four star hotel. Originally priced at about Rs 10000 per night per room but after discount booked at about Rs. 46000 for six nights. A day before departing for Udaipur, I called up hotel requesting early check-in and got first shock when hotel informed that the hotel is not reachable by Car. So we have to go only and only by auto. I do not want to cut short my experience for benefit of fellow travellers. I was informed by hotel that auto would charge Rs. 80 to Rs 90. When I asked the auto wala fare, he said Rs. 150/-. When I informed him that the hotel informed us the fare would by Rs. 80 to Rs. 90, what he replied was shocking, he said the hotel must have booked room not worth even Rs 2000/- charging you Rs. 4000 or more and he is advising you to pay auto fare @ 50%? I had booked room @ Rs 8000 per night approx. and was wondering what is in store at hotel.
Finally, passing through dirty, filthy narrow lanes, with sewers overflowing, we reached hotel. Our booking was for deluxe rooms but we were initially offered ordinary rooms on the pretext that we are seeking early check in. The rooms were in horrible shape, nowhere near a four star hotel. The tents were dirty and having some foul smell. We refused to get in those dirty tents with fungus visible.
We were then asked to wait till the deluxe rooms get ready. Then we were taken to so called deluxe rooms. Story was no different. Horrible rooms, unhygienic toilets, no maintenance of furniture and furnishings. We refused to stay.
We contacted MMT customer care. But MMT team was apparently in connivance with the hotel manager. After hours of wait on the road, after MMT team and hotel discussion, we were offered complimentary food vouchers for Rs 3000. The amount was later increased to Rs. 7000. We refused to stay even at free of cost. The Hotel Manager confirmed that they are not 4 star hotel. The room interior, size, maintenance, upkeep was far from what MMT has shown on their website. No where it is mentioned that the hotel is not approachable by car. Wi fi is available only in lobby area. Hot water supply is for limited hours in the morning and evening 2 hours each. We were informed that tents would be changed next month by an agency visiting from Jodhpur. MMT team was only listening to Hotel Manager. We insisted an on site inspection by MMT team.
Finally we were informed that we can at best be refunded 4 night charges immediately and for the balance two nights MMT customer delight team would arrange refund in next 48 hours. Plus Rs 7500 as future value vouchers for inconvenience for hours together, almost spoiling our day.
We booked another hotel Justa Sajjangarh. ( separately reviewed as excellent) after making some additional enquires.
I find that MMT has raised an invoice for the remaining 2 nights at about Rs. 3500 after effective discount of Rs. 17,500. But the amount is not being passed on to me even after repeated mails and calls.
Harassed by the events, I write a review of Hotel plus sharing attitude of MMT in connivance with this Hotel Manager. I have many photos of the rooms and toilets, but sharing only a few. Rest have been emailed to MMT team, as asked by them.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank 91ravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj B, Manager at Shree Vilas Orchid-By Lake Pichhola, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Hi,

Thanks for revert. We really appreciate genuine feedback from guests, but they should be genuine strictly. Having said that whole story is 100% fake. You have processed booking through MMT, then please go and check hotel policy. Where we have mentioned that:

1. In order to promote heritage walk, city administration has banned all four wheeler, enabling tourist to walk through lanes and by lanes to enjoy Rajasthani murals, paintings, culture.
2. This has led to initial inconvenience to the guests as now they'll to park their vehicle 500 mtr away at the designated parking, provided by hotel and transfer through tuk tuk.
3. Parking and transfers are free of cost, complimentary for hotel guests.

Now coming back to next point. Auto fare is 100 percent FREE/COMPLIMENTARY till 10 in the evening. You came at noon and left hotel in the evening, so question of paying for same doesn`t even exist. Tripadvisor is a platform for reviews that does not mean you can write anything out of nowhere.

Next point is refund. You said that you have some problem in back and are not comfortable with auto ride, we never want any of the guest to be uncomfortable so we allowed refund which is against our cancellation policy (You can check that too in MMT). If you are yet to receive the refund that is totally between YOU and MMT. They did not paid us for your booking so we are clean on this. Ask for any proof we are more then happy to show you the same.

We hope that you will check all the policies and everything before processing booking next time. This commuting issue is applicable for all the hotels who are located near Lake Pichhola area. If you are not comfortable then please book hotel in some crowded city or something like that next time.

Thanks for booking with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2019 via mobile

Me n my wife visited during October for a night stay and we felt so relaxed and great to visit. Rooms were also gud and overall view from room and garden area restaurant everything had a great view. Must visit place.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 777deepak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews