We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place-with a few caveats”
Review of Kurabar Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kurabar Kothi
Ranked #126 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed at Kurabar Kothi for two nights in January 2012. We very much enjoyed our stay and recommend it to other travelers, but there are a few points worth noting. First, on the positive side, Kurabar Kothi is a high on a hill overlooking Udaipur and has a great views from the rooftop restaurant and from the rooms with views. Also, the staff was delightful and the one co-owner I met was also very personable. The room I stayed in was spacious and well decorated.

Here are a few points to keep in mind to make your stay at Kurabar Kothi a good one:

1) There are three downstairs rooms that are very spacious and have great views. I recommend requesting one of those rooms (101, 102, 103).

2) Three other downstairs rooms are also spacious but have no views at all (rooms 104, 105, 106). If that’s ok with you, go ahead and take one of those rooms, but you should pay a lower price.

3) There also rooms upstairs. They are much smaller and I believe all but one have no window at all. Again, that may be fine for you, but don’t pay the same price you would for the large rooms with views.

4) The lights in our room were harsh white fluorescent lights which gave the room an unpleasant institutional look at night. That disappeared, of course, during the day when the sun was streaming in. I suggested to the co-owner that he invest in lamp coverings to make the lighting more attractive and he said he would do so – so hopefully this issue will go away soon.

5) Each bathroom as its own small hot water tank. The hot water was certainly hot enough, but don’t count on a long shower (or consecutive showers) unless you’re ok with the water getting cold at the end.

6) Hot and cold knobs for the sink in our bathroom were underneath the sink -- only the volume of water is controlled at the faucet. A bit odd, but not really a problem.

7) Noise proofing between downstairs rooms is less than perfect, which is something to think about if you’re a light sleeper.

8) Kurabar Kothi has been in business for only a little over a year and the taxi drivers at the airport did not know how to find it. Make sure you have their phone number and address with you when you arrive in Udaipur.

9) Kurabar Kothi is about a ten-minute autorickshaw ride (100 rupees) from the City Palace. So don’t stay there if you want to stay in the heart of the action near the City Palace. But we enjoyed being the peace and quiet of being a little further away and were fine with the short autorickshaw ride to get to and from the City Palace.

10) Food in the rooftop restaurant was good, but the portions were modest. Prices were reasonable.

All in all, Kurabar Kothi is a great place to stay if you want an attractive, clean, comfortable place to stay away from the hustle and bustle.

By the way, a taxi between the airport and Kurabar Kothi or other places in central Udaipur is 500 rupees in either direction, but, if getting a taxi from the airport, make sure you go to the prepaid taxi booth outside the airport terminal. If you go to the stand inside the terminal, you will pay almost double for a “luxury” cab.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 101, 102, 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarryOnTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had our own car and GPS so finding and getting to Kurabar Kothi wasn't an issue. The manager and staff are sweet. The view from our room was gorgeous. The room was pleasant, it had a fridge, a good space heater and it's very quiet. The mattress is a bit hard though.
But I have to say that for the rate we paid, I think it would be nice if they invested in a better water-heating system. The bathroom had a small geyser and the hot water finished very quick. And fruits should be included in the breakfast, actually the breakfast has a lot of room for improvement.

Room Tip: Ask for their best room with the best view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EliseDeGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Nice hotel with rooms which are a bit different to the norm, in a kind of tented style on the rooftop. There's great views from up there of the lakes and little glimpse of the lake palace hotel.  It's a bit out of town, something like a 20-30 minute walk, which is pleasant, or c. 70 in an autorickshaw, but this also makes it very peaceful.
relatively to what else you can get in the town centre it's a touch on the expensive side, but then again you pay for the quietness and the view.
Breakfast was good and lots of it, and the staff were nice and eager to please.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frisbeemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

A sense of calm and serene prevails as I collect and un-collect my thoughts, emotions, and expressions enthroned in the quaint epitome of tradition, the Kurabarkothi. Overlooking the embalming ripples of lakes Swaroop Sagar and Pichola and graced by the distant backdrop of the ceremonially lit Udaipur Palace, this place offers a truly unwinding experience. Even to date, the bells of the ‘Sandhya Pooja’ chime in unison with the ‘Magrib Azhaan’ in these quiet corners where every ruin of history stands witness to timelessness. With every breath, I inhale the echoes of a culture lost and a culture preserved and served on a commercial platter. For once silence seems to be the greatest gift endowed upon mankind!!!

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook lake Pichola offer a beautiful sunset view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonicaExpressions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Kurabar Kothi is a kothi turned hotel located in a quiet corner of Udaipur. The lake view rooms offer a quite distant view of the Fateh Sagar lake. My experience was not great, maybe because I had high expectations from the place.
Some facts about the hotel are:
1. Its located about 5-7 km from the station contrary to 2-3 km mentioned on their website.
2. The nearest point is Fateh Sagar Lake, the view of the lake is what the hotel is offering. The view is quite distant and average.
3. The dine in resteraunt is completely and outrageously over priced. I mean I had to shell out Rs. 240 for 8 tiny pieces of Chicken Tikka. 2 boiled eggs cos Rs. 90. I don't know if the chicken that lays the eggs is blessed or what.
4. The service is slack and the waiters don't understand what you're saying. Service is one area where the hotel falls flat on its face. I was disgusted at the service.
5. Rooms are cozy and tastefully done. Thumbs up on that front.
6. The mini bar according to the hotel is an empty fridge. You can order drinks from the reception which you can place in the fridge for cooling. The drinks are sold for quite a steep markup, another testimony to the overpriced menu.

All in all i would rate them as not a professional hotel and I will definitely not stay there again. There are much better options available in Udaipur for the same budget in terms of location and value for money.
When in Udaipur, do visit Shilpgram. Try the food at hotel shilpi adjacent to it. Its great and is truly value for money unlike KK.
Happy Holidaying.

Room Tip: Bargain hard. Try to get the rooms with full lake view. They also offer rooms with "partial&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharemyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.6 km away
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
Rangniwas Palace Hotel
#50 of 165 in Udaipur
295 reviews
0.7 km away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#72 of 165 in Udaipur
502 reviews
5.5 km away
The Byke Riddhi Inn
The Byke Riddhi Inn
#104 of 165 in Udaipur
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Vatika Inn
Vatika Inn
#86 of 165 in Udaipur
96 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Devraj Niwas
Hotel Devraj Niwas
#82 of 165 in Udaipur
36 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurabar Kothi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurabar Kothi

Address: II Ambavgarh | Near Ayurvedic College, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: ₹ 1,553 - ₹ 5,889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kurabar Kothi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, OYO Rooms, ClearTrip, Yatra, Agoda, MakeMyTrip, HostelWorld and TravelGuru so you can book your Kurabar Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurabar Kothi Udaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing