We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Disappointing Evening” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leela Palace Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing Evening”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I must start by saying we did not stay at this hotel- we stayed at the Taj Lake Palace and went for dinner at this hotel and to check it out while we were in Udaipur. The Leela Palace is positioned in the market to compete with Taj and we were excited to have dinner there on our last evening. The restaurant was a massive disappointment. I ordered duck confit and it was not edible. My husband was also disappointed with his entree. The chef came to our table to say hello and I told him about the duck which he could see I did not touch - he told me he would try to do a better job tomorrow. The overall service was cold and careless. We left greatly disappointed and wished we had not held our final evening at the Leela Palace. Taj clearly has the market on property, quality, food and service, hands down.

Room Tip: The property quality, ambiance, service is not near the same quality as Taj Lake Palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CherieFaiella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,439
    141
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
514
680
37
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

An amazing location, with an amazing staff too. I loved the fact that you had to be taken to it by boat, because it is very relaxing. The food there is delicious too, and the rooms are amazing. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that you had to walk through practically a maze to get to and from your room.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fritz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was one of the best hotels we stayed in out of our whole trip in India. The staff are absolutely amazing -- so very hospitable and nice. When they realized that we were upset about the lack of free WiFi, they immediately gave us a free voucher "just for us."

The property itself is simply magical. The boat ride over the lake at sunset is stunning and was one of the best ways we've ever gotten to a hotel! Then, when you arrive, there are porters waiting and an umbrella to shield you from the sun. When you enter the lobby, you're showered with rose petals like a king and a queen. The check-in process is done easily from your room. The only con is that we stayed in the old section of the hotel, so it was quite a maze to get there, but we soon learned the way after asking a few times! :)

The breakfast is delicious and extensive, and the waitstaff is very helpful too. All in all, worth every dime to stay on the lake in the City of Lakes, especially at The Leela, because they will make it more than worthwhile!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler9871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I had the opportunity of staying at this hotel twice in quick succession. The experience right from the jetty to the food in the restaurant was simply top class. Unlike most of the five star deluxe hotels I found the food here to be top class. The rooms were fabulous and were very tastefully done. The views from most of the rooms are lake facing and the beauty by night is amazing. The staff was very hospitable and the service was superb. If you aren't a couple staying in the room and are part of a wedding party sharing the room with a relatively unknown person the bath and the toilets could be a problem as the doors for both are without locks from inside and are of partially etched glass. On the whole it was an amazing experience. The only aspect that bothered me was the alien species of plants planted on the property which has left the property completely devoid of bird life. In my dialog with the horticulturist I did express my concern about the lack of native species on the property.

Room Tip: Don't reach the place by road. Take the boat from the Doodh Talai Jetty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

loved this property.... loved the interiors.. so cozy and inviting yet graceful and certainly a deluxe property.
The days were beautiful, nights here were just amazing!
The outdoors are all lit up, the lakeside is beautiful.
Recommend using the boat to get to this property. It is such a lovely experience.
I love how detailed the rooms are, the little goodies you get each time in the rooms, the salts by the tub, the smart lighting, the plush interiors.
The restaurants could be priced better (they are a tad overpriced for udaipur) but a great experience all in all.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittycat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.4 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 149 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,781 reviews
0.5 km away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 149 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
0.8 km away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 149 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.8 km away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 km away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#19 of 149 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Property: The Leela Palace Udaipur
Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 40,246 - ₹ 55,355
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
The Leela Palace Udaipur Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing