We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fatehgarh - truly a royal retreat”
Review of Hotel Fateh Garh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fateh Garh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel in October 2011 along with my family consisting of my wife and my younger daughter . The hotel perched on a hillock is recreated like a royal palace and it is just awesome . Right from the ambience of the rooms ( we stayed at Heritage Room with an extra bed ) to the ambience of the open poolside restuarent to the helpfulness of the staff - the whole expereince made us feel like royalty The big downturn was on the last day when a huge group landed up and during breakfast the ambience was ruined by the loud interjections as well as half naked kids running around the breakfast tables by the terrace pool . However the behaviour of the staff was truly impeccable they really made us feel like royals . Food is definitely on the expensive side though the view at night time with the tinkling lights in the background made us feel like we were eating in an atmosphere straight out of a fairy tale . We really missed our elder daughter as we would have liked her also to soak in the royal ambience - we would really like to go back with her again to Fatehgarh given the oppurtunity . Overall the expereince was really great and yes taking a cue from the other reviewers since we had driven down from Ahmedabad and I had my own car with my driver Idid not face the problem of transportation from the City Center - otherwise it is imperative that you have to hire a taxi from the hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prasenjit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 549 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

I thought the hotel was very well situated and the service was impeccable. The views were great and i made good use of the spa. The vintage cars, the stone objet d'art and intricately painted frescoes added charm and personality to the hotel. The property's less is more mantra was a welcome change from all the OTT hotels I came across in Rajasthan, which sometimes become caricatures unto themselves. I wish they offered horse riding to the guests, since that would have completed the entire equestrain experience. All in all an 'A' from me.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vishwaveer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Hotel Fateh Garh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for the positive comments. Will look forward to welcoming you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We agree with all of the other points expressed in the positive reviews. The hotel is beautiful, service and food are very good, and the views are extraordinary.

Some complaints have been made about the food. We had Indian dishes and enjoyed them thoroughly. They were some of the best that we've had in the country.

If you want a quiet, peaceful hotel away from the bustle of Udaipur and its traffic, look no further. We have visited a number of similar hotels in other countries, and found this to be one of the best.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philologue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Hotel Fateh Garh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for the positive comments, will share it with our staff...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

First the positive: it is absolutely beautiful, with wonderful views. A real oasis. You will wake up in the morning and be awestruck.
Now the negatives: because it is 15 minutes away from the center of udaipur, you need taxis. Getting taxis back to the hotel can be a challenge and if you rely on the hotel, you pay ridiculous premium.
Also: do Not use the hotel to arrange day trips. We asked them to arrange for a car and driver to take us to kumbalgarh and what we got was a ramshackle vehicle and driver who spoke no English. And for the privilege we paid twice the amount we would have paid had we hired someone off the street or from the tourist office in udaipur.
With a five star hotel, you expect that if they're arranging car and drivers that they are going to be providing a higher level of service than what you could arrange off te street. We found this wasn't the case.
Fnally the restaurant was the most xexpensive place we ate in India. And we went to fine restaurants everywhere. A glass of pedestrian wine was almost 15 dollars.
So come here for a night or two to see the place but I wouldn't recommend longer than that.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Hotel Fateh Garh, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Thank you for writing a positive review for us and for bringing the taxi issue to our notice. Your comments at the time of check-out were – “A very special hotel, very peaceful and everyone was extremely helpful”. Thank you for raising the issue regarding the taxi which if raised during your stay could have been addressed in a much better manner. We have gone through our records to look into the matter and find that our hotel taxi was not available and we had called for a taxi from the city. We have looked into it and have short-listed better suppliers. The only additional cost that one has to bear is the 10% govt tax other than that the rates at par with the taxi providers in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I visited Fateh Garh last month with my parents and I would seriously advise every visitor to at least have a good look at the property and enjoy to sight of the City of Lakes from the top of the hill, if not stay there.
This property is heritage is some aspects while modern in others. Its a perfect blend of both and being a family run property, it tends to give a personal attention to every clients' needs. Besides the comfortably spacious rooms and friendly staff with two very friendly Great Danes, this place has a lot of activities to offer.
It truly felt like heaven on Earth where you are pampered and made to feel like God. They definitely stick to the famous Indian saying 'Atithi devo Bhava' (A Guest is equal to God).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarapatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Hotel Fateh Garh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2011

Thank you Ms. Patel for visiting the property again, glad to know that your experience was a memorable one. Will look forward to welcoming you again....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
3.1 km away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,784 reviews
5.1 km away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
4.1 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 165 in Udaipur
3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#15 of 165 in Udaipur
684 reviews
4.5 km away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#40 of 165 in Udaipur
500 reviews
1.9 km away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fateh Garh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fateh Garh

Address: Sisarma Village, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 222 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range: ₹ 10,521 - ₹ 15,716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fateh Garh 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fateh Garh, a Heritage Renaissance Resort - Sanctuary, perched on the edge of Udaipur city in the Aravalli ranges, with 360° commanding views, welcomes guests with style & traditional fanfare. Fateh Garh, a 50 room property offers travelers a spacious, peaceful and quiet refuge from the noisy and crowded urban India. Conde Nast Hot List 2009:- "Until now the best places to stay in Udaipur have been the princely piles on Lake Pichola's shores or its fairy-tale island palace. Fateh Garh offers something different: "Heritage Renaissance" style. Perched on a hilltop 20 minutes outside the city, this newly constructed 51-room hotel incorporates local stone and antique architectural elements culled from abandoned historic buildings. A confection of bulbous domes, sugar-white pillars, crenellations, and intricate jali screens, it escapes the kitschy through its graceful proportions and airy reception areas, courtyard, and verandas—all of which are graced with antiques and delicate frescoes inspired by the style of Rajput miniatures. Lie by the infinity pool, listening to the sound of splashing fountains mingling with live classical shehnai music. The hotel kitchen does best with local Mewari dishes, which are a welcome change from standard Indian hotel fare". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, TripOnline SA, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Fateh Garh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fateh Garh Udaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing