We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
456
181
42
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
181
42
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool hill top monsoon palace surrounding hills minute drive lake pichola old palace beautiful hotel heritage hotel panoramic view breakfast and dinner indian food rooms are big like royalty amazing place memorable stay city
Filter
Updating list...
605 - 610 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I thought the hotel was very well situated and the service was impeccable. The views were great and i made good use of the spa. The vintage cars, the stone objet d'art and intricately painted frescoes added charm and personality to the hotel. The property's less is more mantra was a welcome change from all the OTT hotels I came across in Rajasthan, which sometimes become caricatures unto themselves. I wish they offered horse riding to the guests, since that would have completed the entire equestrain experience. All in all an 'A' from me.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vishwaveer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Hotel Fateh Garh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for the positive comments. Will look forward to welcoming you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We agree with all of the other points expressed in the positive reviews. The hotel is beautiful, service and food are very good, and the views are extraordinary.

Some complaints have been made about the food. We had Indian dishes and enjoyed them thoroughly. They were some of the best that we've had in the country.

If you want a quiet, peaceful hotel away from the bustle of Udaipur and its traffic, look no further. We have visited a number of similar hotels in other countries, and found this to be one of the best.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philologue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Hotel Fateh Garh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for the positive comments, will share it with our staff...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

First the positive: it is absolutely beautiful, with wonderful views. A real oasis. You will wake up in the morning and be awestruck.
Now the negatives: because it is 15 minutes away from the center of udaipur, you need taxis. Getting taxis back to the hotel can be a challenge and if you rely on the hotel, you pay ridiculous premium.
Also: do Not use the hotel to arrange day trips. We asked them to arrange for a car and driver to take us to kumbalgarh and what we got was a ramshackle vehicle and driver who spoke no English. And for the privilege we paid twice the amount we would have paid had we hired someone off the street or from the tourist office in udaipur.
With a five star hotel, you expect that if they're arranging car and drivers that they are going to be providing a higher level of service than what you could arrange off te street. We found this wasn't the case.
Fnally the restaurant was the most xexpensive place we ate in India. And we went to fine restaurants everywhere. A glass of pedestrian wine was almost 15 dollars.
So come here for a night or two to see the place but I wouldn't recommend longer than that.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Hotel Fateh Garh, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Thank you for writing a positive review for us and for bringing the taxi issue to our notice. Your comments at the time of check-out were – “A very special hotel, very peaceful and everyone was extremely helpful”. Thank you for raising the issue regarding the taxi which if raised during your stay could have been addressed in a much better manner. We have gone through our records to look into the matter and find that our hotel taxi was not available and we had called for a taxi from the city. We have looked into it and have short-listed better suppliers. The only additional cost that one has to bear is the 10% govt tax other than that the rates at par with the taxi providers in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I visited Fateh Garh last month with my parents and I would seriously advise every visitor to at least have a good look at the property and enjoy to sight of the City of Lakes from the top of the hill, if not stay there.
This property is heritage is some aspects while modern in others. Its a perfect blend of both and being a family run property, it tends to give a personal attention to every clients' needs. Besides the comfortably spacious rooms and friendly staff with two very friendly Great Danes, this place has a lot of activities to offer.
It truly felt like heaven on Earth where you are pampered and made to feel like God. They definitely stick to the famous Indian saying 'Atithi devo Bhava' (A Guest is equal to God).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarapatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Hotel Fateh Garh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2011

Thank you Ms. Patel for visiting the property again, glad to know that your experience was a memorable one. Will look forward to welcoming you again....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

It's a beautiful property set atop a hill secluded from the rest of udaipur yet still very much there as it overlooks the city and the night view is breathtakingly pretty. Rooms are comfortably nice and big though there seems to be a slight problem of insects crawling in as the place is surrounded by trees and lush green lawns.(not their fault) I would love to suggest this place to everyone but their food just kills the entire experience.i have had the oppurtunity of staying at this place twice but both times the food was way below average. I really wish they would take note of this serious problem because the place is set far away from the city so traveling out of there becomes a big problem if you dont happen to like their food. i had ordered risotto which tasted stale and dry, after which i called for the chef and asked him to make whatever he could cook the best as i was really hungry and he got me pasta which was plain inedible...i had to go back hungry leaving the entire plate taking just 2 bites.(not to mention i still paid for that food). i would have not written this review had i not met another traveller who had happened to have stayed in the same hotel having the same problem.breakfast has barely any option too...i would hate to see this lovely property losing its charm because of their food quality because whatever said and done...food too makes up a lot for an amazing travel experience!!PLEASE DO TAKE NOTE IF ANYBODY FROM THE HOTEL IS READING THIS!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W_425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatehgarh, Owner at Hotel Fateh Garh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Thank you posting this positive comment. I am happy to note your concern about the property. I remember you having raised this issue with the chef. Having raised this issue, we have had subsequent meeting with the chef and have relpsolved the matter.

Appreciate your concern and thank you for the review...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews