We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raju's the boss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nukkad Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nukkad Guest House
ACT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Raju's the boss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I traveled in India for 6 weeks and visited numerous guest houses and hotels and this was by far my favorite spot. Raju is the dude who owns it and he's awesome, really accommodating, honest and helpful. He works with his family who are just as genuine and they make some seriously good food. The rooms are simple and well looked after but the best part is that in India the Nuukad guest house feels like home and i think that's an important quality especially if you're feeling a little overwhelmed :D
Keep up the good work Raju, (i know you read these)
Love Jeremy and the Australians

Room Tip: The lower rooms get kinda noisy at rush hour or when the dogs start barking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nukkad_Raju, Owner at Nukkad Guest House, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Hello,
Greetings from nukkad guest house
We are very thankful to you for sharing your important feedbacks to other travellers.
Attention towards cleanliness and Indian hospitality is my moto.
The food cooked here is always taken care by the family, be its hygenicness of utensils , be the vegetables brought from the market.
We hope to serve you again in near future and your friends who will visit us.
Thanks and Regards
Raju
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    134
    25
    13
    4
See reviews for
25
176
109
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I chose this guest house because of high ratings on TripAdvisor and central location.
It would be just fine except of couple of things. First of all, there is no hot water - during our 4 night stay I couldn't take a normal shower once, essential thing in a dusty Indian city. They use solar power to heat water in black tanks on the roof - maybe a good idea in summer, but in January it never gets warm enough, even at the warmest time in the afternoon it was lukewarm at the very best if at all. I was freezing to death trying to wash my hair. It was my biggest dissapointment as it was never mentioned in any of the reviews, if I knew of that ahead of time I would never booked the room there. If cold shower doesn't bother you, make sure you bring your own towel as they don't give you one. I recommend a quick-drying type as things took forever to get dry in the room.
Another bad impression with Nukkad was this - on arrival the price of room went up 25% of what was arranged via email. Never mind Raju promised me his best room at certain price - his word was not kept. I accepted price increase as I was very tired (arrived at late hour) and didn't feel like bargaining. After one night I didn't feel like moving so stayed all 4 days, however at the end of stay I realized one can rent a nicer room with hot shower right down the street for 60% of the price. Nukkad was ok, but definitely overpriced for what it is and not at all comfortable (hard pillows were impossible).
There were many ants in the room that crowled through holes in the windows. Good thing I brought a bug spray which really helped to keep them off.
To me it seemed that Nukkad takes advantage of their placement in Lonely planet book, as well as high ratings on TripAdvisor. This is one of very few cases when TripAdvisor was off for me. On the bright side, their central location was very convenient and roof top yoga was nice (if teacher shows up).
My advice - get to Udaipur and find a room on the spot. With the abundance of guest houses around city center you will not stay homeless, but will be able to get a better deal with hot shower. Trust me, you will need one on a chilly winter night to rinse off all the dust from Indian streets.

Room Tip: Better rooms are facing opposite from the street, as it can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ira_and_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This was the cheapest accomodation we booked in India and it was the best. We paid 600 rp for a nice double room that was spotless with a good size bathroom with shower. The place had a nice homey feel and was realtively quiet by Indian standards. The restaurant was good, the staff were very polite and helpful, and the views were nice.
Udaipur is a great little city, which offers a nice respite from some of the chaos in India, and this place is your best bet if you are looking for good value accomodation that is clean, centrally located, and attractive.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nukkad_Raju, Owner at Nukkad Guest House, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Nukkad guest house
Its and extreem honour to be that highly recommended with all presized details in your precious feedback.
We are more than happy to read that you really had a comfortable stay at our place.
We look forward to serve you again in future.
Thanks and Regards
Raju
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had an amazing stay in Udaipur at Nukkad Guest House. Really great value on the rooms. The owner, Raju, was incredibly helpfull in organizing tours, buses, etc., with really honest prices. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Make sure you enrol in kala's cooking class. Also, yoga on the roof is a nice start to the day.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cgolding1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#40 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.2 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bunkyard Hostel
Bunkyard Hostel
#3 of 198 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 km away
Jheel Guest House
Jheel Guest House
#53 of 247 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 km away
Udai Haveli Guest House
Udai Haveli Guest House
#11 of 247 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nukkad Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nukkad Guest House

Property: Nukkad Guest House
Address: 56 Gadiya Devra | Ganesh Ghati, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 651 - ₹ 4,169
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Nukkad Guest House Udaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing