We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“the best place to eat and stay in udaipur” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jheel Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jheel Guest House
Ranked #38 of 237 Udaipur B&B and Inns
agra
1 review
“the best place to eat and stay in udaipur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

My partner and i came to stay in october for part of our honeymoon, we stayed in one of the lakeside rooms with balcony and bath and we loved it.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and available. The room was very clean, the four post bed with comfy mattress was a welcome change. We enjoyed a hot water bath which is otherwise unheard of in India!
The ceiling in the bedroom is worthy of mention. it was hand painted in a lovely design. The view from the lakeside balcony was spectacular. It was a pleasure jus to hang out in the room and have a break from the hustle and bustle on the street,

The roof top restaurant is really awesome with stunning rooftop views of the lake palace and the river. Rupa the manager is a really great certified chef and he can show you all the delightful indian foods.This was the best food we have eaten in india and we regreted any meals we didnt eat at Rupa's restaurant! Any meal you order will be a delight.

This is a realy good value place to stay. Great staf, great room, great food - a good allrounder

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyandmissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    53
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
21
73
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

We stopped here for one night, wanting to experience the magic of a lakeside view in Udaipur. The hotel was a bit tired, and our room overlooking the lake was also in need of a bit of attention. Despite the lack of water in the lake we had a lovely view and the location in the centre of town and right on the waterfront could not have been bettered. A good base for a short stay, just don't expect five star luxury.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

We stayed in a budget room, described as a double room but was extremely small! i dont even think the bed was a double bed but was jammed between two walls and a post. then there was a smace 6foot by 2foot along side the bed and that was it! thw two of us plus two backpacks could hardly fit in the room! under the bed was full of the owners dusty junk, on the bed was a few mouse poos!

the bathroom was extremely small, the shower was more like a trickle of water. there were also cockroaches in the bathroom.

the restaurant was closed the two days we were there so we had to eat out for breakfast lunch and dinner everyday but luckily there are a large amount of nice restaurants within a short walk.

BUT the view was fantastic, the lovely coloured glass window looked out to the lake, which was a little dried up and had a little rubbish but was still very impressive. The staff were also very friendly and allowed us to check in at 7am!

I have heard that the more expensive rooms are extremely nice. but we found more budget rooms two minutes walk away, for the same price, which did not have the impressive view but rooms 3times as big and were clean, so we moved after the second night.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weez0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

I stayed at Jheel guest house for 3 nights in April and really loved it. On the edge of the (quite dry) lake, my room and balcony had great views of Lake Palace, ghats and surrounding activity. Room and communal areas were decorated 'haveli-style' with lots of old furniture and pictures – very atmospheric. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and Ramu the owner was a great source of advice and info on the area (try to persuade him to give you a tour of City Palace where his ancestors were the royal wrestlers!).
As it was low season the roof-top restaurant was only semi-open, but I did spend one evening there and the veg food was delicious.
Back to the rooms – this is a small traditional guest house, with no TV or room service (this is made clear at time of booking). However in a place as charming as Udaipur I can't think of any reason why I would have made use of these anyway. Jheel was one of the nicest places I stayed on my travels.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thun
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

We would like to recommend the Jheel Guesthouse to all people, which like to enjoy friendly and helpful staff and an excellence service. The location provide you a perfect view to the lake and the rooms are comfortable and nice. The roof top restaurant is a lovely place to start or to finish your day. Rupa, the cook, offers you delicious india food, pure vegetarian and every time fresh and healthy. If we visit Udaipur again, for sure we will stay at the Jheel Guesthouse!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4elements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#61 of 147 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.2 km away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#30 of 147 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 147 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#62 of 147 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#4 of 147 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
0.3 km away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#11 of 147 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jheel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jheel Guest House

Property: Jheel Guest House
Address: 52 & 56 Gangor Ghat | Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price range (per night): ₹ 749 - ₹ 2,724
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the old city, on the prime location on the bank of lake. One can enjoy the beautiful view of Lake Pichola, Lake Palace Hotel & Aravali Hills from the rooms & roof top restaurant. One can enjoy breakfast, lunch & dinner with the breathtaking view of lake & of Aravali Hills and can enjoy Espresso, American, Cappuccino made from the freshly ground coffee beans using an Italian coffee machine (Nova Simonalli) on the ground floor with the lake view. All the tourist attractions are in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Stayzilla, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Jheel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jheel Guest House Udaipur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing