We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The rooms were very basic & had an institutional feel.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ranthambhore Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranthambhore Safari Lodge
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The rooms were very basic & had an institutional feel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

Hot water was only available if you make repeated requests to the staff. The food was very sketchy and my partner did end up getting sick from it. We socialized with a family from the US and two people traveling together from Switzerland and Australia. We all agreed that this was a bad choice. After one horrible night, we moved to another hotel down the road, closer to "town".

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    20
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
18
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2009

I thought this hotel wasn't extremely luxurious and expected it to be absolutely terrible reading the reviews on trip advisor. It was OK, but not the best. I wanted to stay at the Oberoi, but I thought it was a bit too much. The food was very good, try the Murg Tandoori! The service was very nice and let us have dinner early because of my children whining. It was pretty empty though, so it was actually very nice for it not be noisy and just have relaxtion in peace.
The safari was absolutely horrid though. My family and I came to see tigers and animals you can't find in New York. Well the guide basically assured us we'd see tigers, leopards, bears etc. All we saw were peacocks, moose, deer, spotted deer, and monkeys. I've already seen all of animals before; they called that park a jungle. There is a nearby park where I live and there are woods there which looks exactly like the so called "jungle".

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdealReviewer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

We stayed here for three nights during our trip to India. We pre-booked the accommodation direct with the hotel's marketing group (Camps of India). Not so straight forward. We had to guarantee payment prior to arrival but they had no secure server to do this. They suggested we make a deposit straight into their bank account via a bacs payment; even if we wanted to (which we didn't) this method was fraught with problems. As a last resort they requested a faxed copy of our credit card (hmm, not keen on this either) but we agreed to do this omitting the last four digits - which we supplied separately. Next we needed to fax them photo id in order to secure places on the jeep rides.

A pre-arranged driver was waiting for us when we arrived at the train station in the early hours of the morning and it was a 10/15 min drive to the hotel.

The main gates were locked and it took our driver several atttempts to rouse reception/security staff without using his horn (now that's a first in India!) Whilst we were being checked in a member of staff was lay flat out sleeping on one of the sofas in reception - there he remained, unperturbed by our presence.

The "Deluxe" room, "luxuriously furnished with beautiful views of the garden and Aravali hills", as promised in their brochure was woefully basic and a tad short of "luxuriously" furnished. The built-in wardrobe was one of the tattiest pieces of furniture we'd ever seen. Yes, it was clean, but the bed linens and towels were very grey and tatty. The large corner bath with shower over was surrounded by mustard coloured tiles with a kitsch Winnie the Pooh border(?) (see photos). A piece of shower curtain was hung at the bathroom window. The toilet was not exactly what I would have described as "clean".

On the plus side, the restaurant staff were very obliging and friendly, however the choice of food and beverage was very, very limited due to the lack of provisions.

Although we didn't require any of the following the list of facilities the hotel boasts is, somewhat, inflated; amongst them: Souvenir shop? No. A bar serving a wide variety of cocktails, wines and beers? The bar wasn't stocked let alone open (they did have a Kingfisher beer in the restaurant). Internet Facility? Hmm, if you promise not to be more than a couple of minutes then the manager might let you use his. Travel Desk? Missed that one too. There was, however, a small swimming pool located between the cottages but the poolside furniture comprised two beds and two chair (photo of condition attached).

Now, as we were the only guests in residence on our last night, and weren't departing until 09.30 the morning, we were a little suprised to be asked if we could settle our account the previous night, "just in case there are any problems"??

Sadly, this hotel was the most disappointing we stayed in during our trip to Indian and from this experience we would avoid all properties within the same group during any furture visits.

However, to end on a positive - we did see tigers!! Yeah!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madabouttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prescottcimo
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in Oct. 2009. We originally booked a standard cottage, but that changed rather quickly upon arrival. The room was dark and dingy and the wooden door had large cracks in it which would allow various insects easy entry. Also, the bathroom was somewhat primitive with a non-enclosed curtain-less shower in the corner which would spray the entire bathroom floor if used. We asked the manager to upgrade to a deluxe cottage for another $10 per night, but were mysteriously informed there were none available, so we were forced into taking a deluxe suite at $20 more per night. However, there were very few guests at the hotel, and we suspected that we were being duped into the higher rate suite. This room was ok although somewhat worn and very basicly furnished. We had one breakfast at the hotel, which was also quite basic -- some white toast and a thin omelette along with some tasteless instant coffee. We didn't think the food was very fresh and opted to dine at another resort across the street thereafter. The brightest point of the stay was that we got to see tigers on both of the jeep safaris we took.

  • Liked — nice grounds
  • Disliked — shabby rooms; poor food
  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank prescottcimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sawai Madhopur hotels

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

We really liked this hotel. It looks very luxourous, they even welcomed us with a drink and a chain of flowers. It's in a beautiful, quiet garden. They have a nice swimmingpool where it's easy to relax. The rooms are nice and clean. The service is excellent, especially the staff at the restaurant is very nice and helpful. The breakfast is very good (don't try the buffet option, order from the menu). Diner is also very good. If you ask in advance they can book a jeep tour in the park for you. If you don't ask in advance they probably have place for you on a canter (we did both, didn't see any tigers sadly enough...). But nevertheless we've really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EliseLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
0.0 km away
Ankur Resort Ranthambhore
Ankur Resort Ranthambhore
#18 of 23 in Sawai Madhopur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 km away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#16 of 23 in Sawai Madhopur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sher Vilas Ranthambhore
Sher Vilas Ranthambhore
#3 of 27 in Sawai Madhopur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.0 km away
Tiger Safari Resort
Tiger Safari Resort
#14 of 23 in Sawai Madhopur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.0 km away
Tiger Machan Resort
Tiger Machan Resort
#6 of 42 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranthambhore Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranthambhore Safari Lodge

Property: Ranthambhore Safari Lodge
Address: Ranthambhore Road | Opp Vanya Vilas, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,466 - ₹ 11,471
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranthambhore Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranthambhore Safari Lodge is a luxurious hotel located adjacent to "Ranthambhore Tiger Reserve" the most successful "Tiger Project" in the country. Ranthambhore Safari Lodge is surrounded by lush green, perfectly maintained lawns and trees. Its peaceful and natural environment works wonders on the body and mind. The multi-cuisine restaurant, created to please every discerning palate, serves a selection of International & Indian specialties with prompt courteous services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ranthambhore Safari Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Ranthambhore Safari Lodge Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing