We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Khem Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khem Villas
Ranked #1 of 48 Sawai Madhopur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This was a fantastic place, we stayed on our journey at the lake palace in udaipur but this was truly to me the most romantic, amazing experience. It was such an incredible treat. The service and staff is incredible. The safaris were amazing, the accomodation (cottage) was superb and romantic, the outdoor bathtub was amazing even in the winter!! under the stars.
My husband and I will definitely return!!
Thank you so much for this amazing experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGZ99983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 527 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed in the beautiful cottages. The tents also looked nice. The staff was attentive. Fresh grown organic food on in garden. But most of all the hotel manage really seemed to care about Ranthambore National Park and the environment. It has a naturalist speaking in the evenings so you can learn about the struggle to maintain the wild space and protect the animals. The hotel has a lovely spa.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We had high expectations and were not disappointed by the accommodations or overall service. The owner/manager was very helpful regarding arrangements both at the resort and for activities. The tents were VERY luxurious with very nice and private attached bathrooms A king sized bed with a hot water bottle provided as part of the turndown service was very welcome. Each tent has a sitting area in front that overlooks grasslands and the mountains in the distance. The property is great for birding with a number of paths. The meals were healthy (vegitarian only) but in my opinion were average on the tastiness scale. The property has a very small plunge pool plus a, what appeared to be, impressive spa facility.

While I loved this property I have to say that nearby Ranthambore Park was a major disappointment - not only did we not see tigers ( we accept that they are rare but thought we would at least have a good chance at this partk) we saw no signs of tigers nor did we run into anyone who had. The government's park service is forcing their non-English speaking rangers in place of the private and trained guides we were supposed to have (and paid for). Apparently the desire for baksheesh (tips) trumps the guest's desire for a quality safari experience. It also appears according to locals that the government is moving tigers out of the park to other parks which do not have tigers.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed in the luxury tents, which were in fact luxurious. The rain shower was magnificent, and especially appreciated after a full day safari. Khem Villas is all-inclusive, and they wake you each morning with tea and cookies to your tent. The Indian dinner was delicious, and they even prepared dinner for our hungry group which arrived late, at 2:30 AM. The grounds are beautiful, and they have a small spa and yoga room. Warning: bring warm clothes (thick jackets, gloves, etc.). We went in January, and the 70*F and sunny forecast was frighteningly opposite.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZuzziTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

This was our "treat stay" in India and it turned out to be exactly what we needed after a dreadful train journey from Delhi. We had a delay of 5 hours and then a slow train journey of 8 hours, when we finally arrived to Khem Villas at 11pm at night. We were collected, made tea, arrived at a nice warm tent and then had an amazing sleep before our tiger safari at 7am. The food here is really good, with lots of fruit and salads, which is something I miss when traveling in India. Even though it is a wee bit expensive (the tents especially, the rooms inside seem to be better value), we ended up staying another night because we loved it so much. Oh....and we were lucky enough to see a tiger!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank runnergirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
3.9 km away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
659 reviews
0.0 km away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#4 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
286 reviews
9.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#6 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
198 reviews
6.5 km away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#16 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
217 reviews
8.9 km away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khem Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khem Villas

Address: VPO Sherpur Khiljipur, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: ₹ 9,730 - ₹ 19,459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khem Villas is a small wilderness camp located on the edge of Ranthambhore National Park created on 25 Acres of reclaimed barren land that offers small lakes, open grassland and thick forest areas. All of which combines to offer an unparalleled wilderness experience that is tranquil with nature trails and sit outs from where visitors can view a wide variety of birds and animals. The camp is run by Dr. Goverdhan and Usha Rathore. Goverdhan is the son of Fateh who is India's leading Tiger experts and he himself is an internationally acclaimed environmental activist providing health care, education, alternate energy projects to the local community. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khem Villas Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Khem Villas Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing