We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place in the heart of Ranthambore”
Review of Khem Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khem Villas
Ranked #1 of 44 Sawai Madhopur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This hotel is simply amazing. They have three different accomodation options. Cottages, tents and inhouse rooms. We had an inhouse room. The room was sumptuous and due to a wonderful alcove very bright. Sitting in the alcove you can enjoy the jungle sounds while having a good cup of indian chai. The food is excellent (vegetarian) but with a good variaty. The hotel also has a wonderful Spa in which you can heavenly relax while getting an Ayurveda massage. Khem Villas is amazing, the staff are perfectly attentive and they also manage to add all the little things that make such a big difference. If I ever go back to Ranthambore, then I'll never want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKartheuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Khem Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 515 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2010

We arrived at beautiful Khem villas in the midst of a media frenzy, as a celebrity couple were getting married at a neighbouring hotel. Despite this, and the fact that many hotel guests were staying at Khem, they seemed completely unruffled. Knowing we were on our honeymoon they upgraded us to a stunning cottage. Set in grassland, with various areas for sitting and lounging around, rocking chairs and a 'back yard' with a huge outdoor bath and shower, the cottage was the nicest place we stayed during our time in India. It was so atmospheric and peaceful. There are walking trails all around Khem, and lakes where you can see crocodiles and other birds. There are also comfy seats and a bar around one lake, where people sit in the evening having drinks and the staff tell you about the various creatures in the park. In the morning, staff wake you up with tea or coffee before your morning game drive. With these, it is worth booking far in advance so you get a jeep. We were in a canter, which is too big to really be as good of an experience - but was still a lot of fun, despite the fact that we saw no tigers! At Khem, all the food is included - and is very good (vegetarian). Additionally the founder of Khem and his family are heaving involved in preserving the park (project Tiger was started by them) and in helping the local community, so much of the money you spend goes into these projects. Also it's extremely romantic, I think the website doesn't do it justice! This is a fantastic place to stay in Ranthambore, and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MINOU8977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Our family stayed at Khem Villas in a luxury tent, and we'll always remember our visit. The staff is superb and welcoming, the tents charming and comfortable, and the setting sublime. It's Indian hospitality at its finest, from your welcome to departure. Our two small boys loved it, especially the baby cobra (not venomous!) the naturalist on staff caught to show them. The food is delicious and so fresh. Sitting under the stars by the fire, listening the forest, and sipping a gin and tonic will be one of my best memories of India!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dipfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Excellent resort hotel. Staff was excellent and welcoming. Personalized attention to all needs. All meals were provided and were cooked excellently (all vegetarian).

Stayed in a tent "room". It was quite the experience. We encountered unseasonable rain, but the pitter patter on the roof of the tent made sleeping easy. Despite one of the safari's being rained out, it was enjoyable to spend the day under the covers in the tent curled up with a book.

Grounds of hotel are beautiful with lots of birds to be seen around the pond and a beautiful backdrop of the hills.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vico101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

There is a choice of accomodation - room, tent or cottage. We stayed in the cottage which is set out like a tent but with A/C, shower and all facilities. Try the enormous stone o/s bath under a starlit sky.
Althought the food is all vegatarian, it is well prepared and they offer a wide selection of choice.
Set in a large area, the owners have planted it with trees, shrubs and flowers thus it is cool and relaxing. All the staff are helpful and they operate a one tip sytem where all the staff receive a share.
The owners have a great sence of community and are trying to put something back to the people whilst at the same time trying to preseve the tigers.
An excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rayperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
0.0 km away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#4 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
282 reviews
3.9 km away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
641 reviews
9.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
3.0 km away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#6 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
183 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#11 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khem Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khem Villas

Address: VPO Sherpur Khiljipur, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: ₹ 9,736 - ₹ 19,472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khem Villas is a small wilderness camp located on the edge of Ranthambhore National Park created on 25 Acres of reclaimed barren land that offers small lakes, open grassland and thick forest areas. All of which combines to offer an unparalleled wilderness experience that is tranquil with nature trails and sit outs from where visitors can view a wide variety of birds and animals. The camp is run by Dr. Goverdhan and Usha Rathore. Goverdhan is the son of Fateh who is India's leading Tiger experts and he himself is an internationally acclaimed environmental activist providing health care, education, alternate energy projects to the local community. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khem Villas Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Khem Villas Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing