We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveller rating
677
112
26
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
677
112
26
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages plunge pool vegetarian food outdoor bath small pond resident crocodile local community hot water bottles national park rocking chairs game drives vegetarian hotel main building before dinner camp fire home grown wake up call
Filter
Updating list...
622 - 627 of 823 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Khem Villas is really well located just a 10 minute drive from the Ranthambhore National Park. The cottages and tents looked charming with their plunge pools but we were pleased to have chosen to stay in one of the, less expensive, standard double rooms in the main building itself.

The stay is organised around the morning and afternoon game drives and guests mingle well at the end of the day.

All meals are provided. Dinner is buffet style Rajesthan food, toned down for western tastes. Breakfast is also buffet style and served after the morning game drive. That meant there was little room for lunch which was a pity as the fusion cuisine was a highlight.

Customer service was exceptional by any standards.

We loved it, nothwithstanding a dodgy electric socket and the quirky toilet.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We had a fabulous two-night stay at Khem Villas and in everything, service was fabulous with a really personal touch offered from all the staff: right down to remembering our email conversation a couple of months before.

Food as many people have commented is vegetarian, so people familiar with Indian food in Europe and the US might be surprised by what is served, but we thought it was very tasty and were very happy with it. Alcohol is expensive, much like everywhere else in India, though not more than average, so drinkers will find that they'll be on the beer rather than wine.

Our villa was superbly placed overlooking a pond and we were offered the choice between a couple of different types of villas depending upon whether we wanted full shade nearer the restaurant or a more open patio. The villa was not overlooked and completely quiet and had the comfort of a bed in a 5-star hotel. The bathroom could be a bit more plush, but was spotless nevertheless.

Safaris are very hit-and-miss and we spotted tigers on only one of three safaris (in the ever popular zone 4) though in that one case, we had a tigress pass within a couple of metres of our jeep. But even when we didn't see tigers, we did get a brief glimpse of a leopard and there was plenty of other wildlife to see.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank masaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

A lovely small hotel in it's own tropical grounds of 25 acres.
The main building is cool, beautifully funished to a high standard.
The bedrooms are very comfortable.
The restaurant serves only vegetarian food sourced from it's own and local farms. It is very tasty and the restaurant is situated in such a way that you feel as if you areeating in the gardens under the stars.
The welcome from the staff is most friendly.
Coming back from the safaris you are greeted with cool towels and a cold drink.
Definitely a liitle gem.

Date of stay: April 2010
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank finian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

After the hustle and bustle in Delhi and Agra, our arrival at Khem Villas was like being in a different world! The service was impeccable from the moment we arrived and the peaceful setting is stunning.
We were in Ranthambore for my friend's big birthday (one with a zero on the end) and it had been a lifelong ambition of hers to see tigers in the wild.
Hostess Usha pulled out all the stops for her - we had a lovely cottage with the great feature of the secluded open-air bath where you can lay and look at the stars (watch out for the mosi's though) and Usha and Dinesh gave her flowers and made a birthday cake for her complete with candle. It made it a very special day.
As for the tigers - we went on two trips in pre-booked jeeps both in Zone 1 and yes - we were lucky and saw a tiger both times. What a birthday present!
Although it is pricey compared with other hotels we stayed in on this trip around around India, it was well worth it for the experience.
Khem Villas is absolutely one of the loveliest places I've ever stayed in the world, not just for the excellent accommodation and food, but also for the warmth and hospitality of Usha and her staff. I honestly couldn't recommend Khem Villas highly enough.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60dragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We loved Khem villas. We stayed in a bungalow and it was gorgeous. It was very expensive but a real treat in our hot and dusty indian adventure.
Would lve to go there again.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews