We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supurb”
Review of Khem Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khem Villas
Ranked #1 of 44 Sawai Madhopur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We recently stayed at Khem Villas with my 2 young children (aged 1 and 3). My brother also stayed with his family that comprised his wife and his 3 children (aged 1,4 and 6).

The staff at Khem Villas went out of their way to make sure our kids all had a great time. They organised an early dinner for us and were just lovely to the children. Nothing was too much trouble. We went for a walk one evening with all the children and they complained they were thirsty. Without being asked, a member of the staff went back to the hotel and returned with bottles of water for the kids.

Our cottages were next door to each other and were just perfect. Even though we had an additional single bed and cot in our room, there was still plenty of room for everyone. The outside bath was a hit! As was the crocdile in the lake.

The food was great and we particulary loved the bar area.

We could not rate this hotel highly enough. Despite the heat we enjoyed every aspect of our stay...there is a pool which is fine for kids to cool off in. We would love to see this area in each season.

We saw 2 tigers although only one on the safari. the other one we saw right near the entrance to the park while we were travelling in an Innova to see thr fort! Only a metre away from out car.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrisbaneEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Khem Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

524 - 528 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2010

Khem Villas is really well located just a 10 minute drive from the Ranthambhore National Park. The cottages and tents looked charming with their plunge pools but we were pleased to have chosen to stay in one of the, less expensive, standard double rooms in the main building itself.

The stay is organised around the morning and afternoon game drives and guests mingle well at the end of the day.

All meals are provided. Dinner is buffet style Rajesthan food, toned down for western tastes. Breakfast is also buffet style and served after the morning game drive. That meant there was little room for lunch which was a pity as the fusion cuisine was a highlight.

Customer service was exceptional by any standards.

We loved it, nothwithstanding a dodgy electric socket and the quirky toilet.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We had a fabulous two-night stay at Khem Villas and in everything, service was fabulous with a really personal touch offered from all the staff: right down to remembering our email conversation a couple of months before.

Food as many people have commented is vegetarian, so people familiar with Indian food in Europe and the US might be surprised by what is served, but we thought it was very tasty and were very happy with it. Alcohol is expensive, much like everywhere else in India, though not more than average, so drinkers will find that they'll be on the beer rather than wine.

Our villa was superbly placed overlooking a pond and we were offered the choice between a couple of different types of villas depending upon whether we wanted full shade nearer the restaurant or a more open patio. The villa was not overlooked and completely quiet and had the comfort of a bed in a 5-star hotel. The bathroom could be a bit more plush, but was spotless nevertheless.

Safaris are very hit-and-miss and we spotted tigers on only one of three safaris (in the ever popular zone 4) though in that one case, we had a tigress pass within a couple of metres of our jeep. But even when we didn't see tigers, we did get a brief glimpse of a leopard and there was plenty of other wildlife to see.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank masaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

A lovely small hotel in it's own tropical grounds of 25 acres.
The main building is cool, beautifully funished to a high standard.
The bedrooms are very comfortable.
The restaurant serves only vegetarian food sourced from it's own and local farms. It is very tasty and the restaurant is situated in such a way that you feel as if you areeating in the gardens under the stars.
The welcome from the staff is most friendly.
Coming back from the safaris you are greeted with cool towels and a cold drink.
Definitely a liitle gem.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank finian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

After the hustle and bustle in Delhi and Agra, our arrival at Khem Villas was like being in a different world! The service was impeccable from the moment we arrived and the peaceful setting is stunning.
We were in Ranthambore for my friend's big birthday (one with a zero on the end) and it had been a lifelong ambition of hers to see tigers in the wild.
Hostess Usha pulled out all the stops for her - we had a lovely cottage with the great feature of the secluded open-air bath where you can lay and look at the stars (watch out for the mosi's though) and Usha and Dinesh gave her flowers and made a birthday cake for her complete with candle. It made it a very special day.
As for the tigers - we went on two trips in pre-booked jeeps both in Zone 1 and yes - we were lucky and saw a tiger both times. What a birthday present!
Although it is pricey compared with other hotels we stayed in on this trip around around India, it was well worth it for the experience.
Khem Villas is absolutely one of the loveliest places I've ever stayed in the world, not just for the excellent accommodation and food, but also for the warmth and hospitality of Usha and her staff. I honestly couldn't recommend Khem Villas highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60dragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
0.0 km away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#4 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
282 reviews
3.9 km away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
641 reviews
9.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
3.0 km away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#6 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
183 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#11 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khem Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khem Villas

Address: VPO Sherpur Khiljipur, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: ₹ 9,736 - ₹ 19,472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khem Villas is a small wilderness camp located on the edge of Ranthambhore National Park created on 25 Acres of reclaimed barren land that offers small lakes, open grassland and thick forest areas. All of which combines to offer an unparalleled wilderness experience that is tranquil with nature trails and sit outs from where visitors can view a wide variety of birds and animals. The camp is run by Dr. Goverdhan and Usha Rathore. Goverdhan is the son of Fateh who is India's leading Tiger experts and he himself is an internationally acclaimed environmental activist providing health care, education, alternate energy projects to the local community. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khem Villas Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Khem Villas Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing