We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful, stay in a cottage!”
Review of Khem Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khem Villas
Ranked #1 of 50 Sawai Madhopur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We requested Khem Villas to our tour company as we found them in Lonely Planet and then researched them. We upgraded ourselves for our 2 night stay from a room to a cottage, and it was incredible. The setting is amazing, very natural surrounded by tiger grass and views out to the waterhole with it's resident freshwater crocodiles.

Sitting on the porch was so relaxing, with lots of native birds (especially if you get coffee delivered as they must know it comes with cookies!) Peacocks, Jungle babblers, Rufous Treepie - and even monkeys on the odd occasion.

The accommodation is immaculately clean, and the staff are accommodating and there when you need them (but not when you don't). It's nice to have the centralised tip jar at reception too, so you're not always thinking "do I have cash on me?" before requesting anything.

The Age Veda Spa was great too (tried the 45min massage), and the (all vegetarian) food was absolutely incredible (as all the other reviews suggest!).

That being said, it's the quiet location and natural setting that really makes this place. I think the cottage at Khem Villas is the best place we've stayed in any of our trips, ever.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alecia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

So sad to leave this place. We stayed in a luxury tent. Floorboards. Shower room and toilet ensuite. In a beautiful setting. Sit around a log fire in the evening before meal. Great facilities with wonderful staff. We actually saw a Tiger on the second day. For 3 seconds only but worth it. There is so much nature to see. The birds alone were worth the incredibly bumpy ride in the jeeps. The ride to and from the reserve is also of great interest if you like people watching. Seek out the naturalist who will point out the crocodiles in the pond and tiger tracks just metres from your tent or lodge. Couldn't recommend it enough. Just don't rely on seeing a Tiger! They are there though.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank gocherish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

An amazing stay! Khem Villas has been set up by wildlife conservationists and it shows in the depth of knowledge of the resident Naturalists, the mini forest that is part of the resort, the wild animals, birds, butterflies and reptiles which are often found inside, the walks... food is fabulous too, though its mostly a buffet. We didn't mind that at all. If wanting to walk early morning/late evening, do request someone to be with you. We saw an extremely shy and elusive Common Palm Civet there itself!

The poolside Bar with bonfire is so good for night star gazing! Request to be shown your favourite stars with their spotting scope!

Room Tip: If you can afford them the cottages are the best, especially the ones facing the small pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheUntourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Beautiful setting, amazing people, v unique. Really special place - couldn't recommend highly enough. The food was delicious (all veg) and the camp has a great social mission too. An really relaxing place.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Fabulous place to stay. We stayed in one of the extremely luxurious tents. Food was all vegetarian and although we are not vegetarians, the home grown food was lovely. Thoroughly enjoyed sitting by fire next to the bar in the evenings and chatting to the rest of the guests. Staff were helpful, knowledgeable and extremely enthusiastic - always wanting to help; we had two guided tours around the grounds and were told all about the local flora and fauna. A privilege to stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
3.8 km away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#4 of 28 in Sawai Madhopur
685 reviews
9.1 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
0.1 km away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#5 of 28 in Sawai Madhopur
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#8 of 28 in Sawai Madhopur
211 reviews
2.5 km away
Abhyaran Ranthambore by 1589 Hotels
Abhyaran Ranthambore by 1589 Hot...
#7 of 28 in Sawai Madhopur
60 reviews
6.4 km away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#17 of 28 in Sawai Madhopur
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khem Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khem Villas

Address: VPO Sherpur Khiljipur, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: ₹ 9,554 - ₹ 19,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khem Villas is a small wilderness camp located on the edge of Ranthambhore National Park created on 25 Acres of reclaimed barren land that offers small lakes, open grassland and thick forest areas. All of which combines to offer an unparalleled wilderness experience that is tranquil with nature trails and sit outs from where visitors can view a wide variety of birds and animals. The camp is run by Dr. Goverdhan and Usha Rathore. Goverdhan is the son of Fateh who is India's leading Tiger experts and he himself is an internationally acclaimed environmental activist providing health care, education, alternate energy projects to the local community. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khem Villas Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Khem Villas Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing