We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm. Lovely food and staff.”
Review of Khem Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khem Villas
Ranked #1 of 50 Sawai Madhopur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2017

We stayed for 2 nights and spent a day looking for a tiger (which we found after 11 hours !).

Khem Villas is a high end "glamping experience". the tents are lovely, with plumbed in bathrooms and quiet secluded balconies looking out over the surrounding countryside. Very nice!

There is an on site naturalist, Mittal, who took us for an early morning walk around the hotels grounds, which are quite extensive. She was amazing - lots of great info and lots of enthusiasm! If you are staying here, be sure to do this guided tour.

Food is cooked from vegetables grown on site and was very tasty.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room overlooking the waterhole, but all are good, both tents and cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017

Staying at Khem Villas was one of the best experiences we have ever had on holiday. We stayed in a 'Luxury Tent', which was really full of character, clean and with a great view out into the greenery around the hotel. You feel like you are really close to nature, and there is an excellent guided walk (free) around the property where you are introduced to some of the wildlife close up. The safaris in the park were organised through a travel agent recommended by the hotel and were very memorable (there tiger sightings out of three!), and in downtime there are lovely spots to sit and take in the sun, take a dip in the plunge pool, and in the evening sit round a campfire with a drink. The food is also excellent and mostly grown within the property itself, and the service was extremely attentive. All in all, we could not have asked for a better and more memorable experience. We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NickDaly1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We were booked in here by Audley Travel (uk) and thank you to them for the recommendation. It was brilliant! We came here for 3 nights for Safaries in the Park and to go birdwatching at Soowal Lake. We stayed in a luxury tent. Right from the welcome we felt at home and soon we were doing a tour of the extensive grounds with the 2 naturalists. Within an hours we observed over 30 species of birds, and then at dusk they took us to see the sandgrouse drinking at the pool. Throughout our visit the naturalists were on hand to help with bird identifications........thank you so much for helping to make our visit so memorable. The accommodation and vegetarian food was superb and the whole experience was so good we were very sad to leave. We spent a lot of time on safaries and our advice is do think of spending some free time here to enjoys the atmosphere and environment that the owners have created. Our visits to the park were successful too. We took 4 safaries in jeeps and saw tigers on two of the outings. Truly fantastic memories. Thanks you so much to Khem Villas and all the staff.

Room Tip: The luxury tents are amazing. We had a veranda and the shower was brilliant. It comes with a king si...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We stayed in a cottage and my sister in law in a tent, both beautiful and would have liked another day there to explore around the hotel grounds. The staff were amazing as was the food, did not miss meat in this vegetarian hotel. It was lovely to sit out around the camp fire for a pre-dinner drink. We stayed 2 nights and did 3 safaris where we were very lucky to see tigers on 2 of our safaris, a mother and year old son and also a female on the other. The hotel shop was very helpful and we found the prices better than in the factory shop in the village.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, The tents are quite dark in the evening and early morning when trying to locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pringl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

'25 Rajasthan Hotels no one's told you about' a link on the Conde Nast Traveller website.
This is where I spotted this little gem of a property and chose to stay here over some other star rated properties, it sure did pay off and how.

The Khem Villas was an experience I will always remember.

The property:

This property is the vision of Fateh Singh the untitled King of Ranthambore. Almost 25 acres of desert land was developed into a forest and now nest 20 - 25 cottages and if I may say so a tiger 'Bijli' has marked her Territory in and around this property too.
The cottages where we stayed were impeccable. Luxurious, countrified and very organic. Surrounded with un manicured nature. Lakes, wheat plantation, vegetable gardens and in numerous fruit trees.

Service and food.

If I could rate it 15 on 10 I would. The staff deserve a special mention, just so polite, helpful and warm. The property serves only vegetarian food mostly made out of produce grown in their own backyard. However we could not get over the deliciousness of the cuisines served, pleading with the chef to share recipes which they so happily did.

Ranthambore :

I consider my self to be traveller, however Ranthambore surprised me in every whatsoever way. It is really a gem, the Aravalli , the forest, the wildlife was all mesmerising.
Besides the Safaris, what is beautiful is the Ganesh Temple surrounded by the Ranthambore fort. If you are a bunch of women like we were you wouldn't want to miss out on 'Dastkar'.

Safari :

We spotted a couple of tigers, the Hunting tigress, pretty much witnessed the hunt. Besides we spotted a family of Jackals and sloth bears. So of course we were elated and what an experience I must say. We were in Zone 3 and Zone 4 on a jeep.

However the only disappointment is the racket behind booking the safaris. This is fully controlled by the government, and if you try and book between Zone2 , 3, 4, 5 online its never available. However at a premium of Rs 10000 per safari per zeep you can easily get it through an agent. This to me seemed like a racket.

On the hole it was such a beautiful experience, we will remember it for a long long time.

Kanupriya Saraf

PS: We were the only Indian group in a full hotel with foreigners, as an urban Indian traveller I felt a little guilty of not being open to experiment before.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanupriya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
0.1 km away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#5 of 29 in Sawai Madhopur
296 reviews
3.8 km away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#4 of 29 in Sawai Madhopur
701 reviews
9.1 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
8.9 km away
Regenta Resort Vanya Mahal
Regenta Resort Vanya Mahal
#2 of 29 in Sawai Madhopur
227 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#12 of 29 in Sawai Madhopur
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khem Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khem Villas

Address: VPO Sherpur Khiljipur, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: ₹ 9,671 - ₹ 19,342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khem Villas is a small wilderness camp located on the edge of Ranthambhore National Park created on 25 Acres of reclaimed barren land that offers small lakes, open grassland and thick forest areas. All of which combines to offer an unparalleled wilderness experience that is tranquil with nature trails and sit outs from where visitors can view a wide variety of birds and animals. The camp is run by Dr. Goverdhan and Usha Rathore. Goverdhan is the son of Fateh who is India's leading Tiger experts and he himself is an internationally acclaimed environmental activist providing health care, education, alternate energy projects to the local community. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khem Villas Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Khem Villas Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing