We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The best place I have ever stayed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khem Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khem Villas
Ranked #1 of 42 Sawai Madhopur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best place I have ever stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

The only reason it has taken me so long to write this review, is that if I tell you how amazing it is it might be full next time I want to go. The tents are sumptuous, the food is excellent (vegetarian), Ranthambore is amazing, the staff are perfectly attentive and they also manage to add all the little things that make such a big difference. If I ever go back to Ranthambore, then I'll never want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m3tg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    99
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
132
396
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

A really lovely place to stay for our tiger spotting experience. All of the staff were great – the owners, the management, the waiters, etc. They were exceptionally helpful and attentive. A very lovely hotel too – well appointed and well looked after.

It’s not cheap in comparison to some of the places we stayed in during our tour of India, but it is well worth it considering that all meals are included and given that the surroundings are so lovely.

We were lucky in that we got to see two tigers too, including the very well known Machali, which made the stay perfect.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

If you don't want to spend too much on Oberoi Vanyavilas or Aman-i-khas, go and try Khem Villas at Ranthambhore. A highly personalized service, great food (veg only), above average material comforts and a great location at the edge of the tiger reserve - all for a fraction of what Oberoi or Aman resorts will charge you. I found Khem Villas to be the best Value-For-Money option in Ranthambhore. The stay here will give you a feel of a home-stay with resort-like comfort with the promoters Usha and her husband taking care of each guest personally. The overall service level at this resort is top-notch, similar to what you can expect from any 5* luxury resort in Asia.
What I liked most about Khem Villas is their approach to wowing guests with service innovations. Like wrapping a hotbag in the blanket for the safari anticipating that it may be chilling in the morning inside the park in winter. Similarly, providing hotbags in the bed for a little added comfort or offering you cold towel and juice after you come back from safari make you feel that they do care for your needs.
This resort has taken some inspirations from south african wildlife lodges in delivering the total wildlife experience - like having a wildlife viewing deck where they serve evening drinks. This is where you get to socialize with other guests and get to know interesting facts and stories about Ranthambhore and its tigers.

I rate Khem Villas among the top three wildlife lodges that I have stayed at any national park in India. Highly recommended !!

  • Liked — Service innovations and overall quality of service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabyasachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

My fiance and I stayed at Khem Villas last week and had a truly woindeful time. After the hustle and bustle of New Delhi

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank Rahulsinghcse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

Stayed for three nights at Khem Villa's in June 2009 (in the middle of summer and just before the monsoon season started). When planning my trip, Usha could not have been more helpful in assisting me and my friends with not only our reservation, but also planning our transportation and game drives.
Upon arrival to Khem Villas you are greeted with a cold lime drink and fresh cold towels. The staff were all amazing and within just a few minutes of settling in, I inquired if a Rathambore fort tour would be possible and we were on our way within a matter of minutes. Dinesh was my guide and he was great. The hotel grounds are beautifully kept and the plunge pool was plenty big and nice for all 6 of us to cool off duing the hot Rajesthan summer.
We decided to splurge a bit and stayed in the bungalows which were amazing. Comfy beds, outdoor showers/bath, beautiful views of the park. Seriously...the room exceeded my rather high expectations.
I'm a pretty serious meat eater so I was a bit worried about the food...I'm happy to say I could not have been more satisfied. The fresh vegie dishes were amazing and all of the meat eaters in my group ended up being very well fed (and as happy as I was with the quality).
Sadly I didn't get to meet Usha as she was off on holiday, but her manager (Mital) was extremely nice and helpful to us all. Usha even called me at one point (while she was on holiday) to make sure we were enjoying ourselves.
This to me is the only place to stay in Rathambore. You get 5 star quality, a great location and you get so many extra personal interactions that it ends up like staying with family and not at a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VivaPamplona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
0.2 km away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#2 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
4.1 km away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
8.3 km away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#16 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Sultan Bagh Resort
Sultan Bagh Resort
#6 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
9.0 km away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
9.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khem Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khem Villas

Property: Khem Villas
Address: VPO Sherpur Khiljipur, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Sawai Madhopur
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,081 - ₹ 20,163
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khem Villas is a small wilderness camp located on the edge of Ranthambhore National Park created on 25 Acres of reclaimed barren land that offers small lakes, open grassland and thick forest areas. All of which combines to offer an unparalleled wilderness experience that is tranquil with nature trails and sit outs from where visitors can view a wide variety of birds and animals. The camp is run by Dr. Goverdhan and Usha Rathore. Goverdhan is the son of Fateh who is India's leading Tiger experts and he himself is an internationally acclaimed environmental activist providing health care, education, alternate energy projects to the local community. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khem Villas Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Khem Villas Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing