We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little oasis with a good purpose”
Review of Khem Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khem Villas
Ranked #1 of 44 Sawai Madhopur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at Khem Villas for two nights in a tent and four safari rides. We were amazed by the beauty of this little oasis and all the good things that the founder did for the conservation of wildlife and the advancement of the local, rural communities. A part of the room rate actually contributes to a foundation with these purposes (which is probably a little comfort when you look at the room rates). They serve an average breakfast, a very good continental/international lunch and a delicious vegetarian Indian dinner. Khem Villas is the last stop of the gipsy/canters, so you get picked-up last and dropped-off first.

Pros:
- Excellent service
- Calm, very beautiful location/property with nice view of Rhantambore hill range, small plunge pool, garden and plenty of opportunities to retreat
- Nice, simple but modern tents with hardwood floor, good bed and clean bath

Cons:
- Wifi was quite unreliable during our stay and only available in the main building
- Pricey

We would definitely stay at Khem Villas again and would recommend it to travelers that are seeking a upmarket, romantic place to stay. Having passed other accommodations in Sawai Madhopur, this definitely one of the best places.

Room Tip: Cottages and rooms have A/C, cottages also an outdoor shower, tents give you more the outdoor experi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Khem Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 421 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

I spent three nights here in the lodge (their cheapest rooms) in February 2012. I traveled with my 10 year old son and we really enjoyed our stay here. As other travelers have commented, it is a beautiful oasis stop in India. We appreciated that it was the last canter/gypsy stop when being picked up for safaris (allowed us to sleep in later) and the first drop off post-safari. We found the food wonderful and enjoyed two and a half lazy days here - we did four safaris. No tigers, but we loved seeing all of the other wildlife. I also walked up one afternoon to the nearby women's cooperative, Daskatar, where I purchased some wonderful items and really appreciated being able to shop in this way. The place was very family friendly and a nice place to stay with my son.

The downsides were that it was really, really expensive and were I to go back, I'm not sure I'd stay here again because of cost. Laundry was super expensive too - twice as much as what we paid at a pricey place in Delhi and almost eight times as much as what we paid in Jaisalmer. A final big downside was the internet connection which was only available in a common room and really spotty even there. We had some train reservations to still deal with and had a somewhat stressful time trying to connect and finalize those travel plans.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We chose to arrive in time to do and afternoon safari, stay one night , then do a morning safari the next day.
We did the trip in a jeep (shared with others only 6 at most) rather than a Cantor (18+) in order to get to smaller places and get a better view.
Saw a different Tiger on each safari including an attempted kill - just amazing as they were only 6 feet away!
Stayed in tents which are lovely, if a bit warm during the day in April.
Lovely grounds, lots of plants and birds and a crocodile in one of the ponds.
I am a carnivore but found the 'veggy food' fine for a couple of days.
Service was excellent.

Room Tip: Villas have A/C I think but the tents make it more fun and they are well appointed.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

It beats me why this place got the peoples choice award, I think they must be just desparate to find something 1/2 decent in India. We had booked into one of the tents & yes it was lovely, but it was a sauna (which you dont really need at the price they charge for them) so we upgraded to a cottage which was absolutely wonderful, but still not what you would call 4 star. However it was very comfortable and we had a great 3 days there. We found the internet was not working and I dont think it ever does for guest ! but if you complain enough they give you a password for another one & yes miraculously it works (hardly 4 star service) The food was embarrassing for them, all the same & no variety, Breakfast had cornflakes & milo flakes as cereal ? The deserts were a joke and we even had pizza once. We have stayed in 4 star accom, in Europe, Africa, Australia & the Middle East & this place is worth about 1/2 of what they charge. However if you turn a blind eye to the price & food, the rooms are great however the wait services at meal time needs to be improved. It is at a very pleasant location with lots of lush gardens that you can walk around in. I think with some specialised input to the restaurant side it could be bought up to standard.

Room Tip: Go the Cottage unless it is in Winter then the tents would be fine !!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Numzani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spent 5 nights at Khem Vilas. It literally is an oasis of cool green in the otherwise brown, dry landscape. Being birders we were delighted with the fabulous bird life and ever present birdsong. The greenery and the sweet fragrance of roses and other flowers as one walked through the gardens was simply delightful! The cottages were comfortable and the outdoor bath is a super treat!
The staff were very polite and courteous. We did miss the personal touch of the hosts that we have experienced in other wildlife resorts though. The vegetarian food was delicious.
It would have been much appreciated if some kid friendly goodies appeared from time to time as we had small kids with us. We did get a fatigued by the same tomato sandwiches that kept appearing in our packed breakfast each morning for 5 days. A little variety would be welcome !
Also, we did not realise that we were the last hotel on the canter list; always getting the leftover last seats, making photography difficult.
A quiet beautiful oasis.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaszmine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
0.0 km away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#4 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
282 reviews
3.9 km away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
641 reviews
9.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
3.0 km away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#6 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
183 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#11 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khem Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khem Villas

Address: VPO Sherpur Khiljipur, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: ₹ 9,767 - ₹ 19,534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khem Villas is a small wilderness camp located on the edge of Ranthambhore National Park created on 25 Acres of reclaimed barren land that offers small lakes, open grassland and thick forest areas. All of which combines to offer an unparalleled wilderness experience that is tranquil with nature trails and sit outs from where visitors can view a wide variety of birds and animals. The camp is run by Dr. Goverdhan and Usha Rathore. Goverdhan is the son of Fateh who is India's leading Tiger experts and he himself is an internationally acclaimed environmental activist providing health care, education, alternate energy projects to the local community. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khem Villas Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Khem Villas Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing