We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
681
113
26
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
113
26
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages plunge pool vegetarian food outdoor bath small pond resident crocodile local community the main house hot water bottles national park rocking chairs game drives vegetarian hotel before dinner camp fire home grown wake up call
Filter
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

It beats me why this place got the peoples choice award, I think they must be just desparate to find something 1/2 decent in India. We had booked into one of the tents & yes it was lovely, but it was a sauna (which you dont really need at the price they charge for them) so we upgraded to a cottage which was absolutely wonderful, but still not what you would call 4 star. However it was very comfortable and we had a great 3 days there. We found the internet was not working and I dont think it ever does for guest ! but if you complain enough they give you a password for another one & yes miraculously it works (hardly 4 star service) The food was embarrassing for them, all the same & no variety, Breakfast had cornflakes & milo flakes as cereal ? The deserts were a joke and we even had pizza once. We have stayed in 4 star accom, in Europe, Africa, Australia & the Middle East & this place is worth about 1/2 of what they charge. However if you turn a blind eye to the price & food, the rooms are great however the wait services at meal time needs to be improved. It is at a very pleasant location with lots of lush gardens that you can walk around in. I think with some specialised input to the restaurant side it could be bought up to standard.

Room tip: Go the Cottage unless it is in Winter then the tents would be fine !!!
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Numzani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spent 5 nights at Khem Vilas. It literally is an oasis of cool green in the otherwise brown, dry landscape. Being birders we were delighted with the fabulous bird life and ever present birdsong. The greenery and the sweet fragrance of roses and other flowers as one walked through the gardens was simply delightful! The cottages were comfortable and the outdoor bath is a super treat!
The staff were very polite and courteous. We did miss the personal touch of the hosts that we have experienced in other wildlife resorts though. The vegetarian food was delicious.
It would have been much appreciated if some kid friendly goodies appeared from time to time as we had small kids with us. We did get a fatigued by the same tomato sandwiches that kept appearing in our packed breakfast each morning for 5 days. A little variety would be welcome !
Also, we did not realise that we were the last hotel on the canter list; always getting the leftover last seats, making photography difficult.
A quiet beautiful oasis.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaszmine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We spent three nights at Khem Villas and did three safaris. We could have done more but we were lucky enough to see a tiger on the first one so had an afternoon relaxing at the resort on our last day.
We stayed in a tent, waking up to exotic birdsong, crickets chirping and peacocks calling. It is an authentic way to experience the surroundings but as there is no air con the tent is incredibly hot in the day but gets quite cool at night. Luckily we were equipped with more than ample blankets to cope!
Getting up for the safari at 6am is hard work but the pain is sweetened by the staff bringing fresh tea to your door. A nice personal touch which was much needed and appreciated along with the provisions of sandwiches and water for the safari as well as the fresh cool towels upon our return.
The resort is set in lovely natural surroundings and is eco friendly and vegetarian. Breakfast and dinner (Indian) is buffet and lunch (European) is served from bowls brought to the tables. Food is home cooked from vegetables and fruit grown on site and very tasty.
Staff are very friendly and sweet.
I really enjoyed our stay, it was relaxing and peaceful.
There were a few things we felt could make it excellent but these are minor and I think we are being picky!
The main thing was that the gypsys (jeeps) for the safaris were booked out on the official website. I think this is largely due to travel agents block booking them.
The reception staff did try to get cancellations on the day but this was not possible. I felt more could have been done to advise or organise this for us as I had contacted them about this from London weeks before arrival.
I felt that the price for the tent although this included meals was quite expensive (approx £200 per night) compared to what we have experienced elsewhere in India.
Whilst I didn't mind the vegetarian option each day my partner being a meat lover would have preferred a choice.
The bar wasn't particularly well stocked and there was no ice for drinks during the first two days and we missed this with our G&Ts!
The plunge pool could have been better maintained and perhaps more secluded.
The wifi/lounging room could be cosier, with more books, games, music, ambient lighting etc.
The outdoor bar area with chairs wasn't really open and felt a little dead. Maybe we were unlucky and came at a time when other guests just weren't using it but in the evenings it felt a little like there wasn't much to do after you finished dinner other than retreat to the room/tent.
However, do not let this put you off. I think it is a lovely resort in very peaceful surroundings. Perfect for families, solo travellers, couples and friends. I would go back but this time making sure we get space in a gypsy!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellabijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We spent 2 fantastic nights at Khem Villas. The tents are very comfortable, with a beautiful bamboo shower stand; the service is attentive and extremely friendly. Vegetarian food, grown in their own organic garden, is excellent. We saw a tiger, a few meters from our jeep, in one of the two safaris we participated in. Ranthambhore park is great anyway, whether you see the tigers or not. The campfire at the end of the day is a nice touch (temperatures get low in March). Strongly recommend.

Room tip: Several tiger sightings in the last week of March.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flarav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We had high expectations and all was fulfilled. My daughter arrived sick and they took us to the hospital founded by the resort owner and she recovered in less than a day. Food was wonderful, staff all very friendly and helpful. Cannot wait to return again, thank you.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews