We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to see Tigers”
Review of Khem Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khem Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Sawai Madhopur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We chose to arrive in time to do and afternoon safari, stay one night , then do a morning safari the next day.
We did the trip in a jeep (shared with others only 6 at most) rather than a Cantor (18+) in order to get to smaller places and get a better view.
Saw a different Tiger on each safari including an attempted kill - just amazing as they were only 6 feet away!
Stayed in tents which are lovely, if a bit warm during the day in April.
Lovely grounds, lots of plants and birds and a crocodile in one of the ponds.
I am a carnivore but found the 'veggy food' fine for a couple of days.
Service was excellent.

Room Tip: Villas have A/C I think but the tents make it more fun and they are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 427 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

It beats me why this place got the peoples choice award, I think they must be just desparate to find something 1/2 decent in India. We had booked into one of the tents & yes it was lovely, but it was a sauna (which you dont really need at the price they charge for them) so we upgraded to a cottage which was absolutely wonderful, but still not what you would call 4 star. However it was very comfortable and we had a great 3 days there. We found the internet was not working and I dont think it ever does for guest ! but if you complain enough they give you a password for another one & yes miraculously it works (hardly 4 star service) The food was embarrassing for them, all the same & no variety, Breakfast had cornflakes & milo flakes as cereal ? The deserts were a joke and we even had pizza once. We have stayed in 4 star accom, in Europe, Africa, Australia & the Middle East & this place is worth about 1/2 of what they charge. However if you turn a blind eye to the price & food, the rooms are great however the wait services at meal time needs to be improved. It is at a very pleasant location with lots of lush gardens that you can walk around in. I think with some specialised input to the restaurant side it could be bought up to standard.

Room Tip: Go the Cottage unless it is in Winter then the tents would be fine !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Numzani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spent 5 nights at Khem Vilas. It literally is an oasis of cool green in the otherwise brown, dry landscape. Being birders we were delighted with the fabulous bird life and ever present birdsong. The greenery and the sweet fragrance of roses and other flowers as one walked through the gardens was simply delightful! The cottages were comfortable and the outdoor bath is a super treat!
The staff were very polite and courteous. We did miss the personal touch of the hosts that we have experienced in other wildlife resorts though. The vegetarian food was delicious.
It would have been much appreciated if some kid friendly goodies appeared from time to time as we had small kids with us. We did get a fatigued by the same tomato sandwiches that kept appearing in our packed breakfast each morning for 5 days. A little variety would be welcome !
Also, we did not realise that we were the last hotel on the canter list; always getting the leftover last seats, making photography difficult.
A quiet beautiful oasis.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaszmine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We spent three nights at Khem Villas and did three safaris. We could have done more but we were lucky enough to see a tiger on the first one so had an afternoon relaxing at the resort on our last day.
We stayed in a tent, waking up to exotic birdsong, crickets chirping and peacocks calling. It is an authentic way to experience the surroundings but as there is no air con the tent is incredibly hot in the day but gets quite cool at night. Luckily we were equipped with more than ample blankets to cope!
Getting up for the safari at 6am is hard work but the pain is sweetened by the staff bringing fresh tea to your door. A nice personal touch which was much needed and appreciated along with the provisions of sandwiches and water for the safari as well as the fresh cool towels upon our return.
The resort is set in lovely natural surroundings and is eco friendly and vegetarian. Breakfast and dinner (Indian) is buffet and lunch (European) is served from bowls brought to the tables. Food is home cooked from vegetables and fruit grown on site and very tasty.
Staff are very friendly and sweet.
I really enjoyed our stay, it was relaxing and peaceful.
There were a few things we felt could make it excellent but these are minor and I think we are being picky!
The main thing was that the gypsys (jeeps) for the safaris were booked out on the official website. I think this is largely due to travel agents block booking them.
The reception staff did try to get cancellations on the day but this was not possible. I felt more could have been done to advise or organise this for us as I had contacted them about this from London weeks before arrival.
I felt that the price for the tent although this included meals was quite expensive (approx £200 per night) compared to what we have experienced elsewhere in India.
Whilst I didn't mind the vegetarian option each day my partner being a meat lover would have preferred a choice.
The bar wasn't particularly well stocked and there was no ice for drinks during the first two days and we missed this with our G&Ts!
The plunge pool could have been better maintained and perhaps more secluded.
The wifi/lounging room could be cosier, with more books, games, music, ambient lighting etc.
The outdoor bar area with chairs wasn't really open and felt a little dead. Maybe we were unlucky and came at a time when other guests just weren't using it but in the evenings it felt a little like there wasn't much to do after you finished dinner other than retreat to the room/tent.
However, do not let this put you off. I think it is a lovely resort in very peaceful surroundings. Perfect for families, solo travellers, couples and friends. I would go back but this time making sure we get space in a gypsy!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellabijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We spent 2 fantastic nights at Khem Villas. The tents are very comfortable, with a beautiful bamboo shower stand; the service is attentive and extremely friendly. Vegetarian food, grown in their own organic garden, is excellent. We saw a tiger, a few meters from our jeep, in one of the two safaris we participated in. Ranthambhore park is great anyway, whether you see the tigers or not. The campfire at the end of the day is a nice touch (temperatures get low in March). Strongly recommend.

Room Tip: Several tiger sightings in the last week of March.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flarav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
0.0 km away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#4 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
282 reviews
3.9 km away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
644 reviews
9.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
3.0 km away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#6 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
188 reviews
6.6 km away
The Oberoi Vanyavilas
The Oberoi Vanyavilas
#1 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khem Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khem Villas

Address: VPO Sherpur Khiljipur, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: ₹ 9,769 - ₹ 19,538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khem Villas is a small wilderness camp located on the edge of Ranthambhore National Park created on 25 Acres of reclaimed barren land that offers small lakes, open grassland and thick forest areas. All of which combines to offer an unparalleled wilderness experience that is tranquil with nature trails and sit outs from where visitors can view a wide variety of birds and animals. The camp is run by Dr. Goverdhan and Usha Rathore. Goverdhan is the son of Fateh who is India's leading Tiger experts and he himself is an internationally acclaimed environmental activist providing health care, education, alternate energy projects to the local community. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khem Villas Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Khem Villas Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing