We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
663
110
26
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
663
110
26
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesplunge poolvegetarian foodoutdoor bathsmall pondresident crocodilelocal communityrocking chairsthe main housenational parkhot water bottlesother guestsgame drivesvegetarian hotelbefore dinnercamp firehome grown
Filter
Updating list...
545 - 550 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Completely lived upto our expectations. An amazingkly tranquil location, with not a TV anywhere to be found... heaven. Great food, exceptional service by the manager Firoz. We thought it might be too quaiet for the kids but they loved it too

Room Tip: Bungalows have a lower probability of an unexpected wildlife encounter!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tesbaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

There is only one word for this hotel: outstanding! From our arrival to departure we were looked after by a very attentive team of staff in excellent accommodation.

Khem Villas is located in what seems to be the middle of the jungle. We stayed in tented accomodaton which includes a nice bathroom with hot shower. Housekeeping called several times a day.

All meals are vegetarian and included and served under a covered area that also has free wifi and sofas. The food was excellent and some of the best I had in India.

The manager is an affable, friendly chat who took time to find us and spend some time telling us about the place. If his employers read this, they should congratulate him on the superb job he is doing.

There is a rather small pool and a bar beside a large lake where drinks can be taken.

The tents, cottages and rooms are linked by low lit paths that add to the feel of being in the jungle itself.

Tips are paid at the end by placing money into a box rather than paying each person individually and is most welcome from the oft extended hand of everybody in India who carries out the smallest task for you.

What can I say? I spend 2.5 weeks in India and this was the best place I stayed. And I commend it to you!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flimflam_Machine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We arrived at dusk after a long bumpy ride from Agra. To our amazement, we were met by about half a dozen people waiting for us. We were warmly greeted by the owner, the manager and staff who presented us cool drinks, dots on our heads and refresher towels. Wow, could it get any better?! After check in we joined Mr & Mrs Rathore around the fireplace for drinks and nibblies and very easy chit chat. This is a beautifully designed and decorated, magnificent eco-friendly, vegetarian resort which is set on the edge of the safari park. You feel as if you've been transported back to the old days of the Colonial British Raj. We are not vegetarians (but we could change) with the wonderful food served at all meals. There's a nice mix of Indian and western food. Service was second to none and the general manager Firoz Khan was extremely attentive. As we were leaving for our first morning safari at 6am, we were awoken at 5am with a nice warm cup of tea. Ready for our safari, we were presented with a breakfast snack of sandwiches and water. It's all the little touches that make this resort a cut above the rest. Sadly we only stayed 2 nights. We came away very happy and felt thoroughly spoilt by the way we were treated.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TL_AusTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The Rathores run this fantastic resort on the outskirts of Ranthambore. This one stands out from the rest by being away from the main road and feels like it is in the forest itself. Yet it manages to provide modern amenities in a rustic setting in very charming and innovative ways. We stayed in the tents which were well-appointed.
Service was impeccable and could not be faulted.
The property is maintained immaculately and appears seamless with the forest reserve. The 'campfire' area is setup for 'sunset' drinks by the edge of a lake. This was our favourite place as one could see the surrounding hills, hear the distant drums of village festivals, watch the moon rise and hear the crocodile in the lake!
The drivers/guides from the resort were a pleasure to have on the trip to Ranthambore fort. My only regret was not having time enough to talk to Mr.Rathore - an active conservationist, to be able to learn about 'Save the Tiger' first-hand and perhaps watch his footage/documentary.

Room Tip: We recommend Tent 6 as it feels cut away from all civilisation, almost as if in the midst of the forest.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex1980_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We had a wonderful time staying there. we had booked the four rooms which had made that entire space like our private villa. Food was very good. they even made special food without spices for my mother who cannot have spices and chillies. we were traveling with two infants and they were kind enough to let my maid enter their kitchen and cook the food separately for them.
They packed us sandwiches very morning when we went for the safaris. Ranthambore was a very beautiful forest at this time of the year. very green after the rains and the topography of each zone is beautiful and different. We were very unlucky with the cats this time even though we went for 7 safaris. every time we came back someone else would show us photos and videos of the tiger they spotted. this is a very rare phenomenon for people visiting ranthambore. there were sightings everyday but unfortunately not in the zone we visited :)
I really want to thank Mrs.Usha Rathod for the wonderful hospitality and for especially helping us out after we left. We accidentally left our camera lens in their car while getting off at the railway station. On our request she was kind enough to send her person all the way to Gurgaon that very day with the lens.

Room Tip: the tents have a wonderful view of the gorgeous mountains but have a slight canvas smell.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pgoenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews