We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place”
Review of Khem Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khem Villas
Ranked #1 of 48 Sawai Madhopur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed at Khem Villas for two nights. On arrival we were greeted by the manager and a welcome drink. He showed us to our cottage and told us about the hotel.All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The cottage had all modern amenities, including an inside and outside bath/shower.It was magical sitting on our veranda and watching the monkeys swing through the trees in our garden. The food was vegetarian with produce grown on their own land. Although we are not vegetarians we thought the food was excellent and did not miss the meat. At night, outside the dining are fires were lit and it was very pleasant sitting atround enjoying a drink before dinner.
The owners also support the local schools, hospitals etc. This hotel is to be recommended if visiting the Ranthanbore area

Room Tip: Better to stay in a cottage or luxury tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sutsuttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 489 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

Completely lived upto our expectations. An amazingkly tranquil location, with not a TV anywhere to be found... heaven. Great food, exceptional service by the manager Firoz. We thought it might be too quaiet for the kids but they loved it too

Room Tip: Bungalows have a lower probability of an unexpected wildlife encounter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tesbaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

There is only one word for this hotel: outstanding! From our arrival to departure we were looked after by a very attentive team of staff in excellent accommodation.

Khem Villas is located in what seems to be the middle of the jungle. We stayed in tented accomodaton which includes a nice bathroom with hot shower. Housekeeping called several times a day.

All meals are vegetarian and included and served under a covered area that also has free wifi and sofas. The food was excellent and some of the best I had in India.

The manager is an affable, friendly chat who took time to find us and spend some time telling us about the place. If his employers read this, they should congratulate him on the superb job he is doing.

There is a rather small pool and a bar beside a large lake where drinks can be taken.

The tents, cottages and rooms are linked by low lit paths that add to the feel of being in the jungle itself.

Tips are paid at the end by placing money into a box rather than paying each person individually and is most welcome from the oft extended hand of everybody in India who carries out the smallest task for you.

What can I say? I spend 2.5 weeks in India and this was the best place I stayed. And I commend it to you!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flimflam_Machine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We arrived at dusk after a long bumpy ride from Agra. To our amazement, we were met by about half a dozen people waiting for us. We were warmly greeted by the owner, the manager and staff who presented us cool drinks, dots on our heads and refresher towels. Wow, could it get any better?! After check in we joined Mr & Mrs Rathore around the fireplace for drinks and nibblies and very easy chit chat. This is a beautifully designed and decorated, magnificent eco-friendly, vegetarian resort which is set on the edge of the safari park. You feel as if you've been transported back to the old days of the Colonial British Raj. We are not vegetarians (but we could change) with the wonderful food served at all meals. There's a nice mix of Indian and western food. Service was second to none and the general manager Firoz Khan was extremely attentive. As we were leaving for our first morning safari at 6am, we were awoken at 5am with a nice warm cup of tea. Ready for our safari, we were presented with a breakfast snack of sandwiches and water. It's all the little touches that make this resort a cut above the rest. Sadly we only stayed 2 nights. We came away very happy and felt thoroughly spoilt by the way we were treated.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TL_AusTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The Rathores run this fantastic resort on the outskirts of Ranthambore. This one stands out from the rest by being away from the main road and feels like it is in the forest itself. Yet it manages to provide modern amenities in a rustic setting in very charming and innovative ways. We stayed in the tents which were well-appointed.
Service was impeccable and could not be faulted.
The property is maintained immaculately and appears seamless with the forest reserve. The 'campfire' area is setup for 'sunset' drinks by the edge of a lake. This was our favourite place as one could see the surrounding hills, hear the distant drums of village festivals, watch the moon rise and hear the crocodile in the lake!
The drivers/guides from the resort were a pleasure to have on the trip to Ranthambore fort. My only regret was not having time enough to talk to Mr.Rathore - an active conservationist, to be able to learn about 'Save the Tiger' first-hand and perhaps watch his footage/documentary.

Room Tip: We recommend Tent 6 as it feels cut away from all civilisation, almost as if in the midst of the for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex1980_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
3.9 km away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
658 reviews
0.0 km away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#4 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
286 reviews
9.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#6 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
196 reviews
6.5 km away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#17 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
217 reviews
8.9 km away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khem Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khem Villas

Address: VPO Sherpur Khiljipur, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: ₹ 9,742 - ₹ 19,483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khem Villas is a small wilderness camp located on the edge of Ranthambhore National Park created on 25 Acres of reclaimed barren land that offers small lakes, open grassland and thick forest areas. All of which combines to offer an unparalleled wilderness experience that is tranquil with nature trails and sit outs from where visitors can view a wide variety of birds and animals. The camp is run by Dr. Goverdhan and Usha Rathore. Goverdhan is the son of Fateh who is India's leading Tiger experts and he himself is an internationally acclaimed environmental activist providing health care, education, alternate energy projects to the local community. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khem Villas Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Khem Villas Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing