We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST resort we've stayed at in India”
Review of Khem Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khem Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Sawai Madhopur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We arrived at dusk after a long bumpy ride from Agra. To our amazement, we were met by about half a dozen people waiting for us. We were warmly greeted by the owner, the manager and staff who presented us cool drinks, dots on our heads and refresher towels. Wow, could it get any better?! After check in we joined Mr & Mrs Rathore around the fireplace for drinks and nibblies and very easy chit chat. This is a beautifully designed and decorated, magnificent eco-friendly, vegetarian resort which is set on the edge of the safari park. You feel as if you've been transported back to the old days of the Colonial British Raj. We are not vegetarians (but we could change) with the wonderful food served at all meals. There's a nice mix of Indian and western food. Service was second to none and the general manager Firoz Khan was extremely attentive. As we were leaving for our first morning safari at 6am, we were awoken at 5am with a nice warm cup of tea. Ready for our safari, we were presented with a breakfast snack of sandwiches and water. It's all the little touches that make this resort a cut above the rest. Sadly we only stayed 2 nights. We came away very happy and felt thoroughly spoilt by the way we were treated.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TL_AusTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 475 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

The Rathores run this fantastic resort on the outskirts of Ranthambore. This one stands out from the rest by being away from the main road and feels like it is in the forest itself. Yet it manages to provide modern amenities in a rustic setting in very charming and innovative ways. We stayed in the tents which were well-appointed.
Service was impeccable and could not be faulted.
The property is maintained immaculately and appears seamless with the forest reserve. The 'campfire' area is setup for 'sunset' drinks by the edge of a lake. This was our favourite place as one could see the surrounding hills, hear the distant drums of village festivals, watch the moon rise and hear the crocodile in the lake!
The drivers/guides from the resort were a pleasure to have on the trip to Ranthambore fort. My only regret was not having time enough to talk to Mr.Rathore - an active conservationist, to be able to learn about 'Save the Tiger' first-hand and perhaps watch his footage/documentary.

Room Tip: We recommend Tent 6 as it feels cut away from all civilisation, almost as if in the midst of the for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex1980_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We had a wonderful time staying there. we had booked the four rooms which had made that entire space like our private villa. Food was very good. they even made special food without spices for my mother who cannot have spices and chillies. we were traveling with two infants and they were kind enough to let my maid enter their kitchen and cook the food separately for them.
They packed us sandwiches very morning when we went for the safaris. Ranthambore was a very beautiful forest at this time of the year. very green after the rains and the topography of each zone is beautiful and different. We were very unlucky with the cats this time even though we went for 7 safaris. every time we came back someone else would show us photos and videos of the tiger they spotted. this is a very rare phenomenon for people visiting ranthambore. there were sightings everyday but unfortunately not in the zone we visited :)
I really want to thank Mrs.Usha Rathod for the wonderful hospitality and for especially helping us out after we left. We accidentally left our camera lens in their car while getting off at the railway station. On our request she was kind enough to send her person all the way to Gurgaon that very day with the lens.

Room Tip: the tents have a wonderful view of the gorgeous mountains but have a slight canvas smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pgoenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Very good resort. There is definitely a perfectionist behind this! The staff are very well trained and the attention to detail was impressive. We had a wonderful stay in a beautiful setting and would love to have stayed for longer. We stayed in a cottage which is very private and had a verandah overlooking unspoilt bush. Perfect for an early morning cup of coffee which arrives discreetly with the wake-up call.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TastingTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

It's been a while we had stayed in KHEM VILLAS but still thinking of it as one of our best holiday ever. We were taken care of by wonderful owner Usha and always very attentive and pleasant staff. We stayed in chalet with veranda overlooking greenery where we enjoyed every evening listening to the sound of nature. Real tiger's roaring as a back round gave us a goose pumps as we knew there were freely roaming in their hunting territory. It sounds like from movie I know but we really felt like in a old times. Our chalet was beautifully furnished and was very cosy. We had inside and outside bathrooms,which was something we really enjoyed. Yes and we've seen two tigers!!! If you see this beautiful huge cat walking in the bush,you just stop breathing and on the top of it you can see peacocks sitting on the trees and parrots flying around. It was exactly like from my fairy tail books. The food in Khem is very delicious and freshly prepared using their own grown vegetable. We found it so delicious then we even ask for traditional Indian food instead European style lunch.And nothing was problem :) If you are looking for right place to stay I would definitely recommend Khem Villas as it's amazing property :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maukyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
0.0 km away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#4 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
282 reviews
3.9 km away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
646 reviews
9.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
3.0 km away
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
Sultan Bagh Jungle Camp
#6 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
188 reviews
6.6 km away
The Oberoi Vanyavilas
The Oberoi Vanyavilas
#1 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khem Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khem Villas

Address: VPO Sherpur Khiljipur, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: ₹ 9,769 - ₹ 19,538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khem Villas is a small wilderness camp located on the edge of Ranthambhore National Park created on 25 Acres of reclaimed barren land that offers small lakes, open grassland and thick forest areas. All of which combines to offer an unparalleled wilderness experience that is tranquil with nature trails and sit outs from where visitors can view a wide variety of birds and animals. The camp is run by Dr. Goverdhan and Usha Rathore. Goverdhan is the son of Fateh who is India's leading Tiger experts and he himself is an internationally acclaimed environmental activist providing health care, education, alternate energy projects to the local community. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khem Villas Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Khem Villas Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing