We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
663
110
26
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
663
110
26
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesplunge poolvegetarian foodoutdoor bathsmall pondresident crocodilelocal communityrocking chairsnational parkhot water bottlesother guestsgame drivesvegetarian hotelmain buildingbefore dinnercamp firehome grown
Filter
Updating list...
548 - 553 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The Rathores run this fantastic resort on the outskirts of Ranthambore. This one stands out from the rest by being away from the main road and feels like it is in the forest itself. Yet it manages to provide modern amenities in a rustic setting in very charming and innovative ways. We stayed in the tents which were well-appointed.
Service was impeccable and could not be faulted.
The property is maintained immaculately and appears seamless with the forest reserve. The 'campfire' area is setup for 'sunset' drinks by the edge of a lake. This was our favourite place as one could see the surrounding hills, hear the distant drums of village festivals, watch the moon rise and hear the crocodile in the lake!
The drivers/guides from the resort were a pleasure to have on the trip to Ranthambore fort. My only regret was not having time enough to talk to Mr.Rathore - an active conservationist, to be able to learn about 'Save the Tiger' first-hand and perhaps watch his footage/documentary.

Room Tip: We recommend Tent 6 as it feels cut away from all civilisation, almost as if in the midst of the forest.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex1980_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We had a wonderful time staying there. we had booked the four rooms which had made that entire space like our private villa. Food was very good. they even made special food without spices for my mother who cannot have spices and chillies. we were traveling with two infants and they were kind enough to let my maid enter their kitchen and cook the food separately for them.
They packed us sandwiches very morning when we went for the safaris. Ranthambore was a very beautiful forest at this time of the year. very green after the rains and the topography of each zone is beautiful and different. We were very unlucky with the cats this time even though we went for 7 safaris. every time we came back someone else would show us photos and videos of the tiger they spotted. this is a very rare phenomenon for people visiting ranthambore. there were sightings everyday but unfortunately not in the zone we visited :)
I really want to thank Mrs.Usha Rathod for the wonderful hospitality and for especially helping us out after we left. We accidentally left our camera lens in their car while getting off at the railway station. On our request she was kind enough to send her person all the way to Gurgaon that very day with the lens.

Room Tip: the tents have a wonderful view of the gorgeous mountains but have a slight canvas smell.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pgoenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Very good resort. There is definitely a perfectionist behind this! The staff are very well trained and the attention to detail was impressive. We had a wonderful stay in a beautiful setting and would love to have stayed for longer. We stayed in a cottage which is very private and had a verandah overlooking unspoilt bush. Perfect for an early morning cup of coffee which arrives discreetly with the wake-up call.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TastingTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

It's been a while we had stayed in KHEM VILLAS but still thinking of it as one of our best holiday ever. We were taken care of by wonderful owner Usha and always very attentive and pleasant staff. We stayed in chalet with veranda overlooking greenery where we enjoyed every evening listening to the sound of nature. Real tiger's roaring as a back round gave us a goose pumps as we knew there were freely roaming in their hunting territory. It sounds like from movie I know but we really felt like in a old times. Our chalet was beautifully furnished and was very cosy. We had inside and outside bathrooms,which was something we really enjoyed. Yes and we've seen two tigers!!! If you see this beautiful huge cat walking in the bush,you just stop breathing and on the top of it you can see peacocks sitting on the trees and parrots flying around. It was exactly like from my fairy tail books. The food in Khem is very delicious and freshly prepared using their own grown vegetable. We found it so delicious then we even ask for traditional Indian food instead European style lunch.And nothing was problem :) If you are looking for right place to stay I would definitely recommend Khem Villas as it's amazing property :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maukyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This place far exceeded our expectations. In India the pattern of high end extremely expensive hotels (such as Vanyas Vilas - which was my initial plan) or very cheap low end B+B's was broken by this place. This is just the perfect place, reasonable but not cheap, high end service, accomodation, food and general experience. It was personal service and we wouldn't change anything. Our cottage (the more expensive option but worth every rupee), over looked the lake and it was stunning, we had an outside bath which was completely secluded and even in winter we used it as the water was piping hot and the candles made it very romatnic. One concern we had going in (though not big) was the veggie food, they promised us we wouldn't notice and they were right - the food was excellent. We stayed 3 nights and we felt so lucky as people came and went each day (usually doing one night only). The night time camp fire topped off very relaxing chilly days - the owners stay and chat and share their stories - we heard amazing noises whilst we sat round the fire and then went to explore the grounds with the guard. The spa was nice, not the most experienced but good value. I mention the Tiger Safaris last as we booked 2 per day for two days after reading that one out of four are likely to se a tiger! No such luck. Because this is government controlled it is a) hard to book (but if you book do the 4-6 person jeep not the big bus) b) the hotel has no control (though they would love it) so they rely on pick ups etc. c) the camp itself is inefficiently run and so there are queues to go in an silly ID procedures d) there is no choice over the route - 3 times in a row we got the same route - very frustraing when there were no tigers to see and e) no tigers! However, I left it to last as even after the disappointment we enjoyed every minute of our trip and would recommend it to those looking for a romantic getaway or a family adventure (if the kids are old enough to sit still and not complain!). We flew in to Delhi over night and then got a car to Delhi train station (NZM) and got the golden temple mail train to Sawai Madhopur - about 5 hours - go for first class sleeper gets you a bed for the journey - again hard to book but try the waitlist - it worked for us - www.cleartrip.com. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get a cottage
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews