We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best luxury camp in Ranthambore!”
Review of Khem Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khem Villas
Ranked #1 of 44 Sawai Madhopur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We just stayed this past week in a cottage and it was a great experience.

Usha was so helpful in booking our train tickets to Jaipur and safaris in advance. I would recommend only going via a jeep and not in one of the 16 seater buses.

Our cottage looked out onto the land preserve witha balcony and large chairs and was perfect for bird watching and just having a chai masala and reading.

Our bed was extremely comfortable with a bathroom and rain shower along with luxury amenities.

We also had an outside bathtub with sun loungers which was lit by candlelight @ night. Very romantic!

We also had a sunlit area with a comfortable place to take a nap.

The hotel has spa services and a small plunge pool. Our only complaint is that it wasn't kept very clean!

The meals were excellent and buffet style. Before dinner we sat at the bar area and enjoyed speaking to other guests re their safaris and enjoyed kingfishers while they served us canapes before dinner.
We ended up seeing two tigers on one safari so we were very lucky.

Of all the options, I would say the property is boutique and you don't get lost at a huge hotel like the Taj.

In my opinion, it is the only way to enjoy Ranthambore.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Khem Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 486 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2011

Stayed 4 days in a bungalow at this Eco-Resort . Was impressed with the management of this hotel by the very humble, genuin and friendly Mrs. Mittal. The management have thought of everything and left nothing to chance. The staff are trained in being service minded. The ambiance created in the rooms and the surrounding is made by perfection. Although the price of bungalow is higher than the other options of tents and ordinary hotel rooms it is most definitely worth the cost since there is AC in the room and a fabulous outdoor bathtub in each bungalow. The food served is strictly vegetarian, but the fabulous taste of each taste certainly add up to the lack of meat. Best of all, there is no TV in the room.

Room Tip: Bungalow instead of tent
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank litamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We cannot fault this place. Lovely gardens, staff, food and accomodation. Good value for the luxury rooms on offer. Our 'Cottage' had a private outside bath and shower and one inside offering a very luxurious feeling. It was nice to be able to chat to other guests and staff around an outside fire by the bar in the evening before eating.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Loved the luxury tents with their rainforest showers and secluded layout.

Great views and very peaceful location but the insects biting and the night time howls of the surrounding wildlife takes some getting used to!

Used the spa at the site for joint massages which was very relaxing.

Limited food selection and didn't realise it was vegetarian menu indian style so struggled a bit with choice.

Staff were very helpful and made sure we were comfortable during our stay.

Would have been a very relaxing stay if a large, very noisy family hadn't spoiled the silence!

Room Tip: Come for the tigers, stay for the service
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willow123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

This magnificent place, 25 minutes from the train station by car is truly worth every dime.
If you are looking for some really “down to earth” luxury, stay here and feel this lovely ambience embrace you.
The room, we actually booked a room, not a tent or separate cottage, was amazing. Great interior, a lot of space, fantastic bed and bathroom. All meals are included, this is only vegetarian, but delicious and tasty.
Go down to the beautiful terrace, build almost in the forest, se the monkeys jumping in the trees, and colorful birds flying close to you while having a drink and some sun.
The living rooms have books and free wi fi.
Staff was great, the manager and the owner, was there to welcome us. They also helped us to arrange a safari, be aware, this must be paid in cash.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sawai Madhopur
0.0 km away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#4 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
282 reviews
3.9 km away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
640 reviews
9.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
6.6 km away
The Oberoi Vanyavilas
The Oberoi Vanyavilas
#1 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
748 reviews
1.0 km away
The Sher Garh Resort
The Sher Garh Resort
#1 of 8 in Ranthambore National Park
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khem Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khem Villas

Address: VPO Sherpur Khiljipur, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: ₹ 9,658 - ₹ 19,316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khem Villas is a small wilderness camp located on the edge of Ranthambhore National Park created on 25 Acres of reclaimed barren land that offers small lakes, open grassland and thick forest areas. All of which combines to offer an unparalleled wilderness experience that is tranquil with nature trails and sit outs from where visitors can view a wide variety of birds and animals. The camp is run by Dr. Goverdhan and Usha Rathore. Goverdhan is the son of Fateh who is India's leading Tiger experts and he himself is an internationally acclaimed environmental activist providing health care, education, alternate energy projects to the local community. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khem Villas Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Khem Villas Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing