We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$743
View deal
Booking.com
$747
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$642
View deal
Priceline$680
Travelocity$743
ZenHotels.com$757
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveller rating
1,111
34
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,111
34
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ratna malhotra the general manager observation tower rose petals jungle drives luxury tents nature walk private garden executive chef each guest blankets and hot water bottles national park whole team game drives hotel grounds in house like royalty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
422 - 427 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Vanya Vilas is elegant luxury personified. Spread in over 20 acres, the "tents" are oases of calm and indulgence. You walk in through the imposing gates with rose petals being showered on you from above, and immediately feel a little royal :) Welcome drink and cool towel later a golf cart takes you to your tent, orienting you about the property on the way.

A low mud wall surrounds your tent, giving a sense of privacy and of being in your home. Its a very large tent - the term tent is used loosely since only the roof is canopied with fabric, the rest of it is built up; floor to ceiling glass on all sides with views of your two verandahs with loungers, chairs and the peacocks that come visiting. A 4-poster bed dominates, with sheers cascading down to cocoon it. The bathroom is as large as the room area, with an inviting free-standing tub, separate enclosed shower & WC, generous luggage space, his-n-hers sinks & ironing station. Bigger than many hotel rooms!
The golf carts appear on call if you are too lazy to walk to the main block.

The planning of the safaris is thoughtfully done. A wake up call later, a light breakfast is laid out for you at 530 am to keep you going for the duration of the game ride. And even if you don't take their own jeep for the safari, you are provided an icebox of beverages and extra cushions to make your ride comfortable and even binoculars. When you return from the morning safari, its not just a lavish breakfast that awaits you - there's also Lakshmi, the resident, much loved, very spoiled and quite hungry elephant waiting to greet you. The staff like proud parents tell us that she's about a 100 pounds overweight, as her mahout gives us apples to feed her - which she doesn't take in her trunk - she opens her moth and you pop them right in, even as she is surreptitiously groping the mahouts pockets for more. A few apples later you can hug her massive trunk as she poses patiently for pictures.

And as for hunger - Chef Gunjeet is just fabulous!! On hearing our penchant for authentic Laal Maas, he specially cooked for us the spiciest, yummiest version I have ever had in my decades of searching for the perfectly cooked one. The Junglee Maas the next night was equally good yet so different. Chef Gunjeet is a genius :)

Theres enough to do after your safaris - attend the video presentation about the park and its famous tigers - its very good. Different artisans come every day to entertain and showcase their skills. Performers in the evening entertain by the outdoor bar under the stars, as the night turns cool. On my husbands birthday we had a lovely surprise - a private setting for breakfast in the lawns...a pathway of flowers led to our beautifully decorates table under an umbrella, while a flutist serenaded us during the leisurely meal. Perfect!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank czaee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas Wildlife Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing The Oberoi Vanyavilas for your stay and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us through such an encouraging review on The Trip Advisor.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests with personalized service delivery and I am delighted that our entire team provided you with an exceptional experience.

We are really happy to know that you did admire our small little touches of welcoming you in an Oberoi traditional way by showering rose petals and providing cold towels and special welcome drinks.

A stay in a luxury tent at The Oberoi Vanyavilas is definitely unique- it brings you close to the nature without compromising on luxury and comfort. I thank you for your positive feedback regarding our accommodation and the setting of the resort.

My team and I thank you for appreciating our efforts of ensuring that our guests have a comfortable safari experience.

Our beloved pet elephant Lakshmi is a very essential part of our team at The Oberoi Vanyavilās, highly pampered, we love her and we thank you for your kind words for her!

Your special feedback about Chef Gunjit for preparing the authentic Laal Maas and Junglee Maas especially for you is highly appreciated I have shared your kind words of appreciation with my kitchen team, naturalist team and the rest of team my members. They are delighted to hear your praise for them.

All of us look forward to meeting you again and in providing another memorable experience.

Thank you and warm regards
Ratna Malhotra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Our stay in the luxury tent, huge with full amenities such as tv and a/c was simply magnificent! The naturalist on staff is terrific. The restaurant went above and beyond catering to our dairy and gluten free needs! Management and staff are extremely competent and courteous. We highly recommend the Oberoi at Ranthambhore.

Room tip: All tents are spacious and luxurious!
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViLana18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas Wildlife Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing The Oberoi Vanyavilās for your stay and for highlighting such an encouraging review on the Trip advisor.

Personalized interaction with guests is our approach to service delivery and appreciation of our efforts in this regard from the guests drives us to do it consistently.

Your special feedback about my kitchen team, service team for preparing gluten free food especially for you, naturalist and the rest of my team members are much appreciated and has been personally shared with them. They will be delighted to hear about your praise for them.

My team and I will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Vanyavilās soon again.

Thank you and Warm regards

Ratna Malhotra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Beautiful tent suites, amazing service and food. Everything; the decor, the restaurant and library bar, the suites and especially the attentive management and staff are top notch. The hotel is right on the border of the park so safari and sightseeing expeditions are easy and quick. The hotel employs a staff of naturalists that can take you around the grounds to explore the floura and fauna and who do very interesting interpretive talks in the evening. A 5+ star luxury retreat to steal away from after a hot day exploring the Indian jungle. Totally worth the visit!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas Wildlife Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017


Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for a most wonderful review and for rating us so highly on the Trip Advisor.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests with personalized service delivery and I am delighted that our entire team provided you an exceptional experience.

A stay in a luxury tent at The Oberoi Vanyavilās is definitely unique - it brings you close to the nature without compromising on luxury and comfort. We are glad that you enjoyed the tented accommodation and the beautiful flora and fauna around.

Your encouraging feedbacks about the Naturalist team for the evening tigers talks and the rest of my team members are much appreciated and have been personally shared with them. They will be very delighted to hear about your praise for them.

My team and I will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Oberoi Vanyavilās soon again.

Thank you and best regards

Ratna Malhotra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

The property and accommodations are luxurious with every amenity provided. The service is beyond expectations. The complimentary yoga class was taught by an outstanding yogi. The evening naturalist programs provided by very knowledgeable naturalist were wonderful and not to be missed. The many spa treatments were the best I have ever experienced. The onsite horticulturist tour of the hotels vegetable/herb gardens and explanation of native plants on the property is highly recommended. The food is truly superb. My five jungle drives provided awe and joy as I saw seven tigers and other abundant wildlife. I have stayed in many other luxury branded hotels around the world and none compare to the Vanyavilas. But what makes the Vanyavilas truly exceptional is Ratna the General Manager and her entire dedicated, highly trained and professional team.

Room tip: All of the luxury tents are privately and beautifully situated and one is no better than the other.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank WanderlustL0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas Wildlife Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at The Oberoi Vanyavilas and for posting such a great review on the Trip Advisor.

Staying in a luxury tent at the resort is definitely unique- it brings you close to the nature without compromising on luxury and comfort. I thank you for sharing your great feedback regarding the accommodation and the setting of the resort.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the yoga session and the horticulture round with our in house horticulturist and the evening talks conducted by the hotel naturalist.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests with genuine and attentive service. I have shared your kind word of appreciation with my entire team and they are truly pleased to receive your gracious praise.

We all are so glad to know that you had an incredible sighting of seven majestic tigers and truly enjoyed the safari drives.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again and in providing another memorable experience.

Thank you and Warm regards

Ratna Malhotra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Being fairly well traveled would say this is one of the best experiences you could find anywhere. We traveled as a family and to say we were pampered would be an understatement.

The property is beautiful, be it the grounds of the resort or the rooms. The grounds of the resort are large and beautifully maintained. One could spend at-least a couple of days exploring just the grounds with its varied flora and fauna with specialist naturalists on hand to guide you through.

The rooms in word - Opulent, be it the luxurious four poster bed, the victorian claw foot bathtub(which our son could not seem to get out off) or the cute bath robe for kids with matching slippers!

But the thing that sets this place apart is the people. Warm friendly and really really attentive. Honestly for the money you pay the service is seriously over the top! You are never lacking for anything. Kids can be expected to be pampered to the point where you get worried that they will become demanding and spoilt. Be it stuffed toys or activities, photos,etc. etc. the list is never-ending.

The high point for our little fella was the elephant interaction with Lakshmi the resident elephant where he was told about elephants and then got to bathe her! Simply fabulous and a must do.

We could go on and on, hats off to Ratna Malhotra and her team who were fabulous hosts.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingAtma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas Wildlife Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for having chosen to stay at The Oberoi Vanyavilas and for posting such a great review on the Trip Advisor.

Staying in a luxury tent at the resort is definitely unique- it brings you close to the nature without compromising on luxury and comfort. I thank you for sharing your great feedback regarding the accommodation and flora and fauna around.

We are so pleased to read that your vacation was filled with many fond memories. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with genuine and attentive service.

Your beautiful comments about my entire team are much appreciated and have been personally shared with them. They are truly pleased to receive your gracious praise.

We are happy to note that your children enjoyed the elephant experience with our pet elephant Lakshmi. She is a very essential part of our team at The Oberoi Vanyavilās and we thank you for your kind words for her.

Your children were very intellectual, we all are missing them. I thank you for appreciating the little touches of placing the bathrobe, slippers, presenting soft toys, photo set and organizing activities for them. We hope that they enjoyed the same.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again and in providing another memorable experience.

Thank you and Warm regards

Ratna Malhotra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews