We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolutely dreadful, barely a 1 star let alone 4” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely dreadful, barely a 1 star let alone 4”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the Abrar Wildlife Resort on the 4th April, to meet by an extremely rude and arrogant receptionist, who glared in the back on our car and then marched off, completely ignoring us. Customary bindi given, plus a warm glass of coke we checked in, had a very average lunch and then started to discover things weren't quite as they seemed. The pool was dirty, there was open electrical wiring everywhere (so not child friendly), there was no menu, the staff were either rude or too down trodden to care, the site had had no management for 3 years, just the owner who is based in Delhi and the reception guy yelling at everyone. A new manager had been installed 11 days prior to our arrival, who we complained bitterly to - rubbish under the stairwells, open wiring (of which we saw a monkey fall on and be electrocuted), rats, mice and cockroaches in the restaurant and running over the utensils to serve food, burners to keep the food warm not in use, same used towels refolded and put out again by the pool each day, stagnant water, pipes leaking, the list goes on and on. We took a substantial number of photos of this mess and would have left earlier, however I took ill 24hrs after arrival and just could not physically leave. We wouldn't recommend to anyone and the resort should be shut down until it can be made safe.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbrarPalace, General Manager at Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret that you had a less than pleasant experience at the resort.

We have noted your feedback and are taking corrective action as required ensuring these issues do not occur again.

Kindly send us your contact details so that we can personally call on you to make amends, and restart the relationship that The Abrar Palace & Jungle Camps share with all their guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort once again sometime soon!

With best regards,

B. S. Pawar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    45
    21
    14
    30
See reviews for
81
60
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

My wife (aged 75 years) and I (aged 77 years) with our 18 year old grandson booked this accommodation 3 months in advance, paying the charges in full. Our date of travel: 6th-8th January 2012.
We stayed for 2 nights and 3 days and were extremely disappointed with the way we were greeted on arrival at this '4 star' resort. While travelling by train, we informed the resort that we required a car to pick us up from Sawai Madhopur Station and asked for the cost. The reception clerk quoted the price of Rs 500 for the short journey to the resort. After some haggling we came to Rs 400.
On our arrival, to our dismay, we were told that the room was not ready and had developed electrical faults. We were requested to move to another 'sister' resort for one night - Ranthambore Wildlife Resort. This resort was excellent and the staff were courteous and helpful.
On the next day, we went to Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort and we were allocated a room which was tidy and comfortable, but had a leaking toilet bowl and sink. During the night, we soon experienced the leaking problem, with the horrendous smell and it was extremely unpleasant to step into the bathroom. We had to call cleaners twice to clean up the toilet and bathroom, and provide us with new towels to step on - it was extremely unhygienic. The staff also took a while to fulfil our request. The restaurant food was also inadequate - they did not provide basic breakfast food - such as cornflakes.
At the time of leaving, we asked the reception clerk to compensate us for the inconvenience caused, and all we managed to get was a reduction of Rs 400 from a total of Rs 17000, and this was only equivalent to the return fare, back to the station.

I will not be visiting this resort in the future, nor will I be recommending this to any of my friends or relatives.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Akhil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbrarPalace, General Manager at Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret that you had a less than pleasant experience at the resort.

We have noted your feedback and are taking corrective action as required ensuring these issues do not occur again.

Kindly send us your contact details so that we can personally call on you to make amends, and restart the relationship that The Abrar Palace & Jungle Camps share with all their guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort once again sometime soon!

With best regards,

B. S. Pawar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This resort is located in the lap of nature and with full of greenery and lavish scenic beauty all around. hotel is worth of money and staff is helpful and polite, i got the chance last month to visit this place and this turned into a memorable stay for me, enjoyed the calmness of nature with luxury, a must visit for the nature lovers

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subahe84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbrarPalace, General Manager at Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest

It gives us immense joy to receive your encouraging feedback through Trip Advisor. Thank you for having spared your valuable time to share your feedback.

The team is our strength and your generous praise for them is very rewarding.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Ranthambhore, in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

B. S. Pawar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Without listing all 100 positive reasons to stay there, I found the staff were outstandingly attentive,
The chef cooked a fabulous dinner and I strongly recommend eating in the hotel restaurant. The staff are well trained and all it takes is a glance to get their attention and they're there ready to take a drinks order.
Brilliant hotel. Don't forget to book the safari ride!
Room: our "tent" (which is actually covered by three layer canvas roof) was incredible, very secluded, surrounded by nature, with a lovely totally private back patio. The room had ample room and was very comfortable. We loved the decor; it felt like what you would imagine a hunting tent from the time of the maharajas would look like.

Food: the food is delicious.
Service: was incredible; it seems each and every effort is made by all of the staff to make you comfortable; from helping with the kids during meals, bringing out a drink to you pool side before you ask, packing snacks for the safaris, addressing you by name, knowing your drink of choice and hot water bottles left under the covers at bedtime (my favorite).



After having stayed at other similar category hotels in India, I have to say, the service at Abrar palace is totally different category altogether.

Loved our stay.
We will be there soooon again.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aryan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbrarPalace, General Manager at Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest

It gives us immense joy to receive your encouraging feedback through Trip Advisor. Thank you for having spared your valuable time to share your feedback.

The team is our strength and your generous praise for them is very rewarding.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Ranthambhore, in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

B. S. Pawar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We are very thankful to Abrar Palace Management for making my stay memorable. We stayed for three nights which seemed like an optimum time giving a reasonable break from the horrible driving in India. We loved the incredibly spacious tents which added a romantic atmosphere to the whole safari experience. These are masterpieces of design.It is a tiny place (9 tents) so you quickly recognise fellow guests which is pleasant.

The tents are amazing! The service is beyond reproach. The food was amazing and they catered to our every request. The tiger safaris were unbelievable! we saw tiger'T-2', scared to see near by our open jeep.Cannot say enough positive things about our stay. Highly highly recommend this location!


I had 2 massages here in the spa, and both were excellent.

I will definitely be returning here someday.


:-))))))))))))

Room Tip: choose tents..... feels like 'a king bed in the middle of jungle.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhupendra304555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbrarPalace, General Manager at Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest

It gives us immense joy to receive your encouraging feedback through Trip Advisor. Thank you for having spared your valuable time to share your feedback.

The team is our strength and your generous praise for them is very rewarding.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Ranthambhore, in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

B. S. Pawar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
10.5 km away
Sultan Bagh Resort
Sultan Bagh Resort
#6 of 23 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.9 km away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
4.3 km away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 23 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#2 of 23 in Sawai Madhopur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
12.9 km away
Ankur Resort Ranthambhore
Ankur Resort Ranthambhore
#18 of 23 in Sawai Madhopur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
7.9 km away
Tiger Machan Resort
Tiger Machan Resort
#7 of 43 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort

Property: Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Address: Ranthambhore Road, Sawai Madhopur 322021, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,116 - ₹ 10,095
Hotel Class:3 star — Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abrar Palace & Jungle Camps is situated within 20 acres of beautiful, rolling parkland deep in the heart of Ranthambhore this imposing 19th-century country house has been meticulously restored to offer guests the opportunity to experience the delightful character of the period. Now you can enjoy the historic aspects of this once family home alongside a wealth of modern comforts and facilities. So whether you’re simply looking for a relaxing break or somewhere to impress an important business client, you’ll find Abrar Palace more than accommodating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing