We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find off the beaten track” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aodhi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aodhi Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kumbhalgarh
Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A great find off the beaten track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

First Do make sure you visit the fort at Kumbhalgargh with it's 37 kilometer (?) circumference walls. It may be off the beaten track and we only found it because of intense research before the trip. We were driving around Rajasthan for the best part of two weeks and were told that many travelers pass it by. The driver we had for almost 2 weeks had never been there though he had driven the Udaipur, Jodhpur, Jaipur, circuit many times

Do stay at the Aodhi Hotel. The rooms are a little funky but many have great views and the general atmosphere is very nice. The staff are very good and we found them friendly not intrusive. The food we found to be amongst the best in India. We did not get offered the buffet but maybe it was a quieter time of year at the end of the Monsoon (great time to go since everything is refreshed and lakes are full with lots of wildlife. One of the most interesting experiences was watching the huge fruit bats fly out to feed in evenings. By the way no matter what they say do not expect the Internet to work (as in even the best hotels in India - sigh). If you go in thinking that then it would be a nice surprise if it worked.

Yes the steps to rooms are many and varied. They are a bit of a pain. Nonetheless we liked the environment, restaurant and walks.

Room Tip: Top right hand side as you look up from the reception area. These have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GE1Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Aodhi Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear GE1Texas,

Greetings from the Aodhi Hotel.

Thank you for your stay at out historic hotel. We are thankful to you for taking out time and appreciating the services and the hotel.
We have also taken a note of your comments. In order to give our guests the best attention and personalized services ala carte breakfast is offered. The hotel does offers 24/7 free internet service to all the guest staying with us but still if you have experienced difficulties, we deeply regret.

We look forward to have you back with us soon and create a beautiful memory for you.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    129
    50
    23
    15
See reviews for
108
96
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

The Aodhi hotel seems to command a special place in Kumhalgarh, at least in the minds of its staff. It clearly occupies a commanding position and there are few facilities close by to offer genuine competition. This does not excuse its tendency for high prices nor staff who turn up their noses at any tips below 100 Rs. They were generally snooty and arrogant all round - being asked why we weren't going to dinner one night then being asked again why we hadn't gone at breakfast the next morning was intrusive and ignorant.

The rooms were perfectly nice with reasonable facilities and a decent bathroom. This faded a little when the hot water in ours failed on Christmas eve followed by a complete failure of the water system due to a boiler malfunction. These things happen but having to change rooms at 8.00pm wasn't in our original scripts (it is worth understanding that this isn't a conventional hotel but one where each accomodation is separate requiring a trek of 50m complete with all luggage etc to the new room.).

The hotel is completely unsuitable for anyone with access difficulties; all rooms entailed at least some steps to gain access - ours was up a total of 76 (we counted them) and even more to access the balcony - not something for the faint-hearted.

For good food there is a perfectly adequate local restaurant opposite (it looks like a shack with some chairs in the field) where a good meal (try the kasu curry) complete with lime sodas can be had for a fraction of the cost in the Aodhi.

If we came to Kumbhalgarh again we wouldn't use the Aodhi.

Room Tip: The best rooms require a long hike (30 - 34)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Aodhi Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Alf,

Greetings from the Aodhi Hotel.

We deeply appreciate you taking out your time and writing about us and regret the experience you have had with us.
Your comments have been duly noted and we will make sure to work better in order to overcome your concerns.

Despite of your comments, we look forward to have you back with us and create a memorable trip.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This hotel is very close to Kumbhalgarh fort which is probably its most redeeming feature as the rest of it was pretty disappointing.
Whilst I'm aware that this is a rural setting with a limited range of accommodation we were expecting better from what our Rough Guide called the best hotel in the area.
The room was large in that it contained an enclosed terrace area and another separate seating area as well as a bedroom but the furniture is dated and the decor cold and soul-less. It wasn't helped by the fact that the first thing we saw on our thatched roof outside was a rat.
The hotel had a few tour groups staying when we visited and we couldn't help but feel that we were very much second class citizens.
Food was OK although we were conned into the dinner buffet which was very expensive for what it was, and it wasn't made clear that the normal dinner menu was also available - something we found out later when other, Indian guests, requested it.
The only saving grace is that we were only staying here one night and the fort probably made it worthwhile.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Aodhi Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear cheryltheperil,

Greetings from the Aodhi Hotel.

We deeply appreciate you taking out your time and writing about us. Your comments have been duly noted and we will make sure to work better in order to overcome your concerns.

Despite of your comments, we look forward to have you back with us and create a memorable trip.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
134 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed at the hotel in October 2011 - I travelled with my wife and younger daughter . We drove down from Ahmedabad and it was five hour drive - Kumbhalgarh is two hours from Udaipur . We stayed here for two nights and it was an extremely satisfying expereince .The rooms are quite spacious and we had a room at the extreme corner of the second floor wherein the view was fabulous . The staff are extremely courteous and when my younger daughter was sick they really went about helping in all the ways possible as also finding out an accomodation for my driver . One should stay at Kumbhalgarh for the fascinating Sound and Light Show at 7.30 in the evening after which the Fort is lighted up for 15 minutes which is an amazing sight . The breakfast buffet is sumptous and the food for lunch and dinner also has enough variations to satisfy your palate . Normally we do not go in for Thai food except at speciality Thai restuarents but here we decided to be adventurous and it was worth it . One suggestion if you are going to have dinner after the fort visit it would be better to order before hand - you might not get what you want in case you come and order later . The swimming pool though small in size is really pretty . Our only regret was that we could not go for the wolf safari as the same had not opened after the rains because of the road condtion in the reserve forest .But overall the Aodhi expereince was a very satisfying one - it certainly qualifies as one of the most friendliest places that we have stayed in .

Room Tip: Suggest the second floor rooms where the views are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasenjit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Aodhi Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear savethetigerkol,

Greetings from the HRH Group of Hotels.

We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed your time at the Aodhi Hotel. Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback.

Your review helps us reassure that we are doing the right things and makes us strive to serve you better every time you stay with us.

Best wishes for you & your family and hope to have you with us once again.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at Aodhi Hotel for one night and were first given room 27, then after that, room 26. Room 26 was only marginally better than 27, and these 2 were our only choices. We saw Room 25 as the occupants of that room were leaving and we had a short discussion with them about the hotel. These 3 rooms are much older and smaller rooms than the other rooms at the hotel, and they should not be let to anyone but desperate backpackers. The rooms were too small to accommodate a chair, desk or table, so there was only a bed, which we sat on for the entire evening. Bathrooms were old, toilet seat broken, and the room had a smell that combined mold with industrial strength disinfectant. I don't believe that the rooms were dirty, but the whole experience was so down at the heels that we were very happy to leave early the next morning. I am sure that the other rooms up the terraced hill are nice - I went by them, longingly, the evening we arrived, and they appeared to have reasonable space, including a patio with table and chairs. We tried to obtain one of those rooms but were told the hotel was fully booked. No matter what the management might say in response to this post, I urge travelers to confirm that they will not receive these rooms prior to booking this hotel. As for the rest of the stay, the food was acceptable, the restaurant manager congenial, and the setting quiet. Prices for food and beverage were, however, substantially higher than comparable hotels and were even higher than what we paid at Taj Palace hotels (for example, $7.50 U.S. for a bottle of sparkling water, $4.00 for a soft drink, etc.). There aren't many other accommodations in the area, so this may be your only reasonable option.

Room Tip: Never accept rooms 25, 26 or 27 - uninhabitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisPeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumbhalgarh
10.9 km away
The Kumbha Bagh
The Kumbha Bagh
#1 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.4 km away
Dera Kumbhalgarh
Dera Kumbhalgarh
#4 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.2 km away
Royal Kumbhalgarh Villas
Royal Kumbhalgarh Villas
#5 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Ghanerao Royal Castle
Ghanerao Royal Castle
#1 of 1 in Ghanerao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
20.6 km away
Rawla Narlai
Rawla Narlai
#1 of 1 in Narlai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.7 km away
Tiger Valley Resort
Tiger Valley Resort
#7 of 8 in Kumbhalgarh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aodhi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aodhi Hotel

Property: Aodhi Hotel
Address: Kumbhalgarh | Dist. Rajsamand, Kumbhalgarh 313325, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Kumbhalgarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kumbhalgarh
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,588 - ₹ 10,668
Hotel Class:3 star — Aodhi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden by trees, besides the hills crowned by the ruggedly majestic Kumbhalgarh Fort, nestles The Aodhi, a sanctuary-resort where the legacy of valorous kings of Mewar and their braves still lives.The deluxe suites and rooms here recreate delightful themes of jungle lore. Discover countless secrets of the centuries past while you explore nature trails, forts and temples. Or simply relax in the privacy of your balcony, gazing into the amazingly blue skies. Let Kumbhalgarh overwhelm you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your Aodhi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aodhi Hotel Kumbhalgarh, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing