We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor location, grubby from outside but nice room and friendly owner.”
Review of Govind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Govind Hotel
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The hotel looks rubbish from outside, on a grubby street. It is located a fair (15 min) walk from the centre of Jodhpur, along very busy, very polluted streets. It is however very close to the train station. The owner is very helpful and very pleasant. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. The A/C worked and it was a hotel with a very safe feel to it. I was met at 5am at the train station, at my carriage and walked back to the hotel. Worth a stay, and overall a decent place (by Indian standards).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logic3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

I know my hotel does not have a good outside look and road facing, but then we are close to the railway station, every thing is handy, very centrally located, good food, best coffees, good view from the roof top, good car takers, above all a very friendly personnel touch. Always you have to overlook the outside view in order to view some good qualities deep inside. Thank you for a good write up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 356 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

I must say that the look from outside was not impressive at all.. But I was in for a total surprise after getting the room at the rooftop what they call as "Golden Hut". A room full of mirrors, neat and clean with vegetarian food that is very decent. The price was more than reasonable. In short, go for it and you will not complain.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pratik_bhaumik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you Sir, these small and beautiful recommendations do help us a lot. I am happy you have mentioned no complains. Thanking you, jaggi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Convenient to the train station. Great welcome from a wonderful sincere host. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skowza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

I like your words " Independent professional operator ". We try at our hotel to make everybody leave with a smiling face. Of course it is not a 5 star, but we work like spirit of the stars. Thanking you for such a great write up, jaggi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We only stayed the one night at the Govind, enroute to Jaisalmer. We sort of regret not staying longer in Jodhpur because we had a wonderful day at the white temple and fort (which was our pick of the Rajastan forts). Our stay at Govind was a highlight of our month long journey through India. Whilst the accommodation is not 5 star, the genuineness of Jaggi, his son and the staff more than make you feel welcome and important. Our meal that evening, over looking the fort was arguably the best of our trip. If you are in Jodhpur, make sure you consider the Govind. Jaggi is a professional independent operator and will make sure your stay is comfortable and pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesandjase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Its something you'll drive past if your not really looking for. Found between two trees ( people trees i think :0) on the second floor, is a bit of a climb, but for the young in heart and health not an issue. You enter to a bit a musty sweaty kinda a smell but after going around jodhpur you return smelling nothing at all. I guess it comes in from the streets. Brightly coloured rooms ( lil too bright for me) & very clean. CLEAN is something that is emphasized here , especially with the food and makes you very comfortable especially on long trips were you do not want to get the runs.
The juice is made with mineral water and the kitchen is really very clean. If your getting a little fed up with the oily food in Rajasthan, you can count on them to make a medium spicy less oily something :)
Dont bother about room view, just be happy with a good nights sleep.
Dont expect to have running hot water in the summer. For some of us who need hot water through out the year, summer or not, a bit uncomfortable.
Good value for Money. Recommended for budget travel. Helpfull owner !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
govindhotel2000, Owner at Govind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you, a very attractive write up. Thank you for coming and staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
5.2 km away
Hotel AR Excellency
Hotel AR Excellency
#23 of 96 in Jodhpur
70 reviews
0.4 km away
The Marwar Hotel & Gardens
0.3 km away
Shanti Bhawan Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Mandore Guest House.
Mandore Guest House.
#8 of 96 in Jodhpur
435 reviews
1.9 km away
Leela Villas Guest House Jodhpur
2.6 km away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#4 of 96 in Jodhpur
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Govind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Govind Hotel

Address: In Front Of Main Gpo, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jodhpur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#9 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#9 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: ₹ 782 - ₹ 1,889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Govind Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ClearTrip, Yatra, Expedia, Agoda, TravelGuru and MakeMyTrip so you can book your Govind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Govind Hotel Jodhpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing