We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Newtons Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newtons Manor
Ranked #52 of 192 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 November 2011

After reading reviews on this hotel, we knew not to accept the ground floor room behind the reception, as it can get quite loud! They first tried to put us in that room, but we asked for a different room and they put us right at the top of the stairs. Our room was large, clean and quiet with an attached bathroom. Beds were comfy! Wifi worked in our room and was pretty quick. The staff were very nice and helpful. The decor was a little different and made you feel like you were stepping back in time. You can book your mealtime in advance and they will prepare you a meal. Our breakfast time overlapped with another group so we all sat at the table together, were able to chat while we ate. It was a bit difficult for our driver to find at first, as the sign out front is quite small. Once you find it though, it is fairly close to the major attractions with a short drive.

Room Tip: Do not take the room behind reception on ground floor as it is quite loud, request a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tata54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

i recommend it. Very nice place. At first it seems a bit old-fashioned and weird (owner has a lot of old items from Victorian age), but rooms are clear as bathrooms are. Breakfast and meals are PERFECT and rates good. Internet is free.
Staff is friendly and helpful, I'd definetely come back. Very nice stay in Jodhpur.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We had the pleasure of spending a night at Newtons Manor during a recent trip to Jodhpur and would highly reccomend this place to anybody seeking a place to stay with a difference. Resembing a homage to all that is Merchant Ivory, the decor is pure Rudyard Kipling Victoriana, harking back to the glorious (for some) days of the Raj! We were made to feel like honoured guests in a large family home rather than paying customers such was the attentive nature of the staff. Fabulous home cooked food was provided at a very reasonable price and served on a lovely antique dining table -( we were offered time slots so that our meal times did not clash with other guests so we had the impression of having the run of the house). The house is pretty central to all that needs to be seen in Jodhpur and is in a quiet street - tuk tuks can be easily hailed from the road infront of the house. There is a pleasant seating area outdoors but no alcohol is served - however there is a stall a few steps away that sells ice cold beers which can be brought back to Newtons Manor. Our room was clean and comfortable and had we not pre-booked accomodation before travelling to Jodhur , we would have gladly stayed here for the remainder of our trip. So don't hesitiate - book right away!

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
Thank kdamannix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We were received by very kind people in a house similar to that of old friends, not a hotel. Automatically we act as by friends: we can have good meals at lunch / dinner time, but we must say it some hours before. At dinner, we are at a table with other people like us, and in minutes we start a conversation about our journey, temples, palaces... Internet available free of charge, if needed. Additionally, we pay a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ligio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Newton's has an old school-British air about its decor. There are some hunting trophies including a tiger and a snooker table as well as general memorabilia. Rooms are clean and relatively quiet. Bathrooms are serviceable and clean. Staff are helpful and home-cooked food is great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianclark78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Niky International
Hotel Niky International
#14 of 96 in Jodhpur
124 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Inn Season
Hotel Inn Season
#33 of 96 in Jodhpur
149 reviews
2.2 km away
Ranbanka Palace
Ranbanka Palace
#10 of 96 in Jodhpur
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#5 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,002 reviews
3.6 km away
Pal Haveli
Pal Haveli
#12 of 96 in Jodhpur
597 reviews
2.7 km away
The Marwar Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newtons Manor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newtons Manor

Address: 86, Jawahar Colony | Central School Road, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: ₹ 1,498 - ₹ 2,410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Newtons Manor 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House offer their guests a great staying experience making you feel as if you are in your own home from the moment you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, OYO Rooms, Agoda and MakeMyTrip so you can book your Newtons Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newtons Manor Jodhpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing